New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Purchase calculations
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Purchase calculations

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234 6>
Author
Peaky View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 15 Nov 08
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2737
Post Options Post Options   Quote Peaky Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 19 at 1:46pm
This is 6:1 surely? 3:1 on the black line which itself is pulling the 2:1 green cascade.
Back to Top
mozzy View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 16 Feb 12
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 998
Post Options Post Options   Quote mozzy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 19 at 1:58pm
The black line does make up three purchases, but only two of those purchase are pulling on the green line. 

I.e. if you pull 10kg of tension into the black line. You now have 30kg of load pulling the caps on. Two of those 10kg loads also pull on the green line, so that must have a 20kg load. 

So, total load when you pull 10kg on the black line is 50kg (30kg on the black, 20kg on green). 
YouTube Channel
RS800 1144
Back to Top
Peaky View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 15 Nov 08
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2737
Post Options Post Options   Quote Peaky Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 19 at 2:08pm
That would give 20kg on both green lines (40kg total in the orange).
Back to Top
mozzy View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 16 Feb 12
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 998
Post Options Post Options   Quote mozzy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 19 at 2:22pm
Yes, there is 40kg load on orange. Made up of 20kg on either green line exiting the sheave. 20 kg on one green line is going directly to working block, and the other 20kg is being distributed evenly between the two black lines exiting the cascading sheave. You can't double count those 2x10kgs on the black line coming from the cascading block as they are the same 20kg that is on the green line. 

So, you either say for a 10 kg pull on black you get 20kg on green + 20kg on green + 10 on black = 50kg on purple. But that's the same as saying 10kg on black, plus 10kg on black, plus 10kg on black, plus 20kg on green = 50kg. 

But whichever way you add them, it's still 50kg of load that gets pulled on purple, for 10kg of load pulled on black. 





Edited by mozzy - 14 Jan 19 at 2:48pm
YouTube Channel
RS800 1144
Back to Top
Sam.Spoons View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Mar 12
Location: Manchester UK
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2096
Post Options Post Options   Quote Sam.Spoons Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 19 at 2:49pm
Which end is fixed? If the top is fixed the black fall is irrelevant so it's 4:1 if the bottom is fixed the green line is irrelevant and it's 3:1
Spice 346 "Flat Broke"
Blaze 671 "supersonic soap dish"
Back to Top
mozzy View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 16 Feb 12
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 998
Post Options Post Options   Quote mozzy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 19 at 2:52pm
Bottom is fixed to mast, top is cap shrouds (did say in OP). 

I get that the black fall would be irrelevant if the top was fixed (which its' not). That would make it a 2x2 (4:1) cascade)

But why would green be irrelevant if it's the bottom that's fixed (which is the case)?


Edited by mozzy - 14 Jan 19 at 2:54pm
YouTube Channel
RS800 1144
Back to Top
Sam.Spoons View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Mar 12
Location: Manchester UK
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2096
Post Options Post Options   Quote Sam.Spoons Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 19 at 3:04pm
Because it is fixed it can only act as a turning block not as an additional purchase (I think).
Spice 346 "Flat Broke"
Blaze 671 "supersonic soap dish"
Back to Top
jeffers View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 29 Mar 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2886
Post Options Post Options   Quote jeffers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 19 at 3:26pm
Something like this in real life. Yellow rope is fixed to the mast, forged hook is the equivalent of the purple rope. If the cascade was after the 3:1 secondary it would be 6:1 but because it is the other way around it is only 5:1 because you add them together rather than multiply:




Edited by jeffers - 14 Jan 19 at 3:39pm
Paul
---------------------------
D-Zero GBR188
Ex Rooster 8.1 '11'
Ex Laser 167534
Ex Blaze 655
Back to Top
Sam.Spoons View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Mar 12
Location: Manchester UK
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2096
Post Options Post Options   Quote Sam.Spoons Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 19 at 3:32pm

Ok if you said 5:1 you were right (can't quite work out how yet)

edit :- @Jeffers  Thumbs Up got it now




I do like being retired  Big smile



Edited by Sam.Spoons - 14 Jan 19 at 3:54pm
Spice 346 "Flat Broke"
Blaze 671 "supersonic soap dish"
Back to Top
mozzy View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 16 Feb 12
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 998
Post Options Post Options   Quote mozzy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 19 at 3:51pm
Exactly like that Jeffers. 

Sam, yes, it is a fixed block. But it's not the green line rounding the fixed block that is creating purchase. It is the green line rounding the top block that creates purchase. But as this is a cascade, the green line doesn't round the top block itself, but the force that it's carrying does round the top block, via the black line. 

In a simple block and tackle system you can can count moving block and double to get the purchase. But in a cascade you have to follow the forces / /velocities as obviously the lines isn't continuous through the system. 

Case example... moths have huge purchase cascades for Cunningham in the boom or under the deck, with the cascade going around a fixed block at the end of the boom. They do this to get a long enough run on their cascade system to give sufficient range. 


Edited by mozzy - 14 Jan 19 at 3:53pm
YouTube Channel
RS800 1144
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234 6>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy