New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: What's the purpose of rule 18.4?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

What's the purpose of rule 18.4?

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6358
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jul 18 at 8:00pm
Originally posted by mozzy

Why does 18.4 not apply to leeward gates though?

At a guess I think it would cause confusion because the ROW boat should be able to choose which side of the gate she goes to, but 18.4 would tend to force her to the L side.
Back to Top
Guests View Drop Down
Guest Group
Guest Group
Post Options Post Options   Quote Guests Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jul 18 at 6:43pm
Yeah, i think we did the best we could with the options open. Maybe try and meet the port boat before the zone, but like I said above, that has it's own risks. 

Why does 18.4 not apply to leeward gates though? 

Not at the weekend but most of the time we have leeward gate, sometime this is modified to just a port mark for last lap, but sometimes not, and never when the course is shortened. So it seems like there are some odd scenario where this option to sail beyond my proper course then gybe would be open to a starboard boat with mark room at a port hand mark. 


Back to Top
PeterG View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 12 Jan 08
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 772
Post Options Post Options   Quote PeterG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jul 18 at 6:08pm
When an inside overlapped right-of-way boat must gybe at a mark to sail her proper course, until she gybes she shall sail no farther from the mark than needed to sail that course

I can't see you have much leeway in there to do that. Unless you could argue your proper course was to delay gybing - and forcing the other boat to gybe doesn't count towards that!
Peter
Ex Cont 707
Ex Laser 189635
DY 59
Back to Top
Guests View Drop Down
Guest Group
Guest Group
Post Options Post Options   Quote Guests Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jul 18 at 3:47pm
Asymmetric boats sailing to final port hand leeward mark before a short reach to the finish. 

Both boats are coming in on their laylines. Starboard is overlapped inside and entitled to mark room. Proper course is to gybe on the mark for tight reach to the finish.

At the weekend I was in starboard position and gybed on the mark. Port boat carried her momentum through to leeward to finish ahead. 

Afterwards we discussed and decided it would have been better to sail a higher course from further out, to meet the port boat before the zone and call starboard on them then, forcing a double gybe, or them to take our transom. The risk with that is that they take your transom and have an inside overlap once you gybe for the mark. 

But could I have instead of carried on on starboard, forcing the port boat to gybe off, before then gybing on to port myself and finish? I.e. force the port boat to double gybe. 

But does 18.4 require me to gybe right on the mark and not continue on starboard to force the other boat to gybe? 
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy