New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Starboard windward mark port/starboard
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Starboard windward mark port/starboard

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
piglet View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 04 Jan 07
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 459
Post Options Post Options   Quote piglet Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Starboard windward mark port/starboard
    Posted: 26 Apr 18 at 2:45pm
P approaches windward mark on port tack, she must leave the mark to starboard then bear away to a wing mark.
S approaches same mark on starboard tack where she must tack then bear away to the same wing mark.
P is aware of S and has allowed adequate room for S to perform her tack & rounding.
S forces P to tack before tacking herself.

What obligations if any does S have to P, Can S sail P away from the mark?
Back to Top
Presuming Ed View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 26 Feb 05
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 620
Post Options Post Options   Quote Presuming Ed Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Apr 18 at 3:49pm
Assuming not match racing. 
Yes. 18 doesnít apply between boats on opposite tacks on a beat to windward. (18.1.a). Pure P/S. P must keep clear (10). (S is constrained by 16.)

18.4 means that inside RoW boats canít sail outside boats away from leeward/gybe marks. 

18.4Gybing
When an inside overlapped right-of-way boat must gybe at a mark to sail her proper course, until she gybes she shall sail no farther from the mark than needed to sail that course. Rule 18.4 does not apply at a gate mark.



Edited by Presuming Ed - 26 Apr 18 at 3:50pm
Back to Top
jeffers View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 29 Mar 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2724
Post Options Post Options   Quote jeffers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Apr 18 at 4:14pm
Take the mark away in situations like that so it becomes a simple port starboard. In fleet racing it may be beneficial to force a competitor to tack away before you tack for the mark.

S cannot tack directly in front of P either in such a way that P can no long keep clear (16.2 if memory serves, right of way boat changing course).
Paul
---------------------------
D-Zero GBR188
Ex Rooster 8.1 '11'
Ex Laser 167534
Ex Blaze 655
Back to Top
Wiclif View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 04 Oct 05
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 42
Post Options Post Options   Quote Wiclif Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Apr 18 at 5:48pm
So to emphasise Jeffers comment, if you are P in this situation, you should slow down when you see this situation developing so you would nearly clip Sís transom. S canít tack in front of you so you go round first.

This assumes that there are no other boats to complicate the situation.
Back to Top
ClubRacer View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 26 Sep 15
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 75
Post Options Post Options   Quote ClubRacer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Apr 18 at 7:45pm
18 doesn't apply so therefore port starboard which would mean that S can sail P as far off the course as they want as there is no proper course restrictions 

once S passes head to wind though its a different kettle of fish
Back to Top
ClubRacer View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 26 Sep 15
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 75
Post Options Post Options   Quote ClubRacer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Apr 18 at 7:58pm
Like Wiclif said though, you need to anticipate early if you're P. 

If 1 Ducked 2 inside the zone then when they both tacked would 1 have right of way over 2?


https://imgur.com/a/wMDZdRP


Edited by ClubRacer - 26 Apr 18 at 8:00pm
Back to Top
ClubRacer View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 26 Sep 15
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 75
Post Options Post Options   Quote ClubRacer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Apr 18 at 8:04pm
if you enter the zone and mark room rules are off can they ever switch on while you're inside the zone?
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 857
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Apr 18 at 9:17pm
Originally posted by ClubRacer

Like Wiclif said though, you need to anticipate early if you're P. 

If 1 Ducked 2 inside the zone then when they both tacked would 1 have right of way over 2?
Yes.

Which boat is the right of way boat is not affected by being inside or outside the zone.

Originally posted by ClubRacer

if you enter the zone and mark room rules are off can they ever switch on while you're inside the zone?

Yes.

The most common way that mark-room is switched on is under rule 18.2( b ), which depends on a boat being overlapped or clear ahead when the first boat reaches the zone.

Rule 18.2( a ), however does not depend on what happened at the zone boundary, and if rule 18.2 ( b ) (or rule 18.3 ) does not apply rule 18.2 ( a ) will.

Looking at the third diagram above:
  • Initially no mark-room applies because #1 will have to tack at the mark.
  • As #1 luffs into her tack, rule 18 still does not apply, #1 continues to be right of way boat, but is required by rule 16 to give #2 room to keep clear, which she can readily do by herself luffing.
  • The instant #1 passes head to wind, she will be on the same tack as #2, overlapped inside her:
-   #1, while tacking  is required to keep clear of #2 (rule 13), but
-   #2 is required to give @1 mark-room (rule 18.2( a );  and
-  If #1 breaks rule 13 while she is sailing within the mark-room to which she is entitled, that is room to round the mark as necessary to sail the course, she shall be exonerated (rule 21)

It would normally be dumb for #1 to tack inside #2 at this point.  Her better tactic would be to stand on and put #2 about, then tack for the mark while #2 was tacking away.
Back to Top
GML View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 24 Jul 11
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 74
Post Options Post Options   Quote GML Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Apr 18 at 9:28pm
Brass, are you sure that #1 would be exonerated for breaking rule 13 in the situation you describe? Whilst I agree that she is entitled to mark-room, I don't think that includes room to tack in the situation you describe (#1 is inside but to leeward of #2). (Is these a case or call on this?)
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 857
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Apr 18 at 11:46am
Originally posted by GML

Brass, are you sure that #1 would be exonerated for breaking rule 13 in the situation you describe? Whilst I agree that she is entitled to mark-room, I don't think that includes room to tack in the situation you describe (#1 is inside but to leeward of #2). (Is these a case or call on this?)
There has been some debate about this interpretation:  RYA seems to think that in this circumstance B is taking 'room to tackto which she is not entitled (see Definition of mark-room), and does not get exoneration.

I disagree.

I note that the the RYA has not issued an Appeal Case, nor has there been a TR Rapid Response Call, nor a WS Q&Q, so the 'taking room to tack' view doesn't seem to be all that popular among Racing Rules Committees, but bear in mind, as I commented above, the scenario should be uncommon in practice, as #1's best course is to put #2 about before tacking herself.

See the lengthy discussion on racingrulesofsailing here

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy