New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Touching a starting mark then a General Recall
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Touching a starting mark then a General Recall

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1032
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Touching a starting mark then a General Recall
    Posted: 16 Jan 16 at 10:30pm
Some seconds before the starting signal a boat touches a starting mark, then the starting signal is given, followed by a general recall.  The boat then makes a turn including one tack and one gybe.

An astute competitor validly protests the boat.

What should the protest conclusions and decision be?
Back to Top
Peaky View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 15 Nov 08
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2771
Post Options Post Options   Quote Peaky Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jan 16 at 10:53pm
What is the basis of the protest?

Fully aware that I'm walking into a trap here, but if the argument is that the boat didn't do its penalty during the race it commited the offence in (as the race was "abandoned" before the penalty was taken), then I'd be tempted to tell the protester to top wasting the protest committee's time. No one was advantaged or disadvantaged by the incident, unless somehow the act of touching the mark has caused the general recall?

Edit. Always enjoy your rules-based posts for the clarity of thought, so looking forward to the answer!

Edited by Peaky - 16 Jan 16 at 10:54pm
Back to Top
iGRF View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 07 Mar 11
Location: Hythe
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5975
Post Options Post Options   Quote iGRF Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jan 16 at 11:20pm
Stop wasting our time and buy the entire protest committee a round.
Back to Top
andymck View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 15 Dec 06
Location: Stamford
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 381
Post Options Post Options   Quote andymck Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jan 16 at 1:23am
Rule 36,
so unless there is something we are not being told, such as 30.2 or 30.3, no penalty can be applied


Edited by andymck - 17 Jan 16 at 1:30am
Andy Mck
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1032
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jan 16 at 4:43am
Originally posted by andymck

Rule 36,
so unless there is something we are not being told, such as 30.2 or 30.3, no penalty can be applied

Thank you.

That's the answer I needed and didn't realise was there in rule 36.
Back to Top
jeffers View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 29 Mar 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3013
Post Options Post Options   Quote jeffers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Jan 16 at 9:34am
Had to look that up! For those curious and not wanting to navigate the mess of the new World Sailing Site:

36 RACES RESTARTED OR RESAILED If a race is restarted or resailed, a breach of a rule, other than rule 30.3, in the original race shall not prohibit a boat from competing or, except under rule 30.2, 30.3 or 69, cause her to be penalized. 
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy