New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Scoring
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Scoring

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
fab100 View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 15 Mar 11
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 889
Post Options Post Options   Quote fab100 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Scoring
    Posted: 18 Sep 14 at 6:47am
Originally posted by Ian29937

But imagine the 4th was as a result of an inexperienced sailor taking him out at the start resulting in a capsize.  Try as hard as he could, he only managed to recover to 4th despite sailing much faster than anyone else in the fleet.  Is it fair that the overall result should be impacted by this race result in any way?  Isnít it fairer that sailors are able to completely discard a defined number of results to ensure that chance events donít decide which sailor wins?


Indeed. But not just the inexperienced. Stuff happens.

At a laser open earlier this year, I was looking good for first or second at the first mark when the boat the leeward capsizes to windward and lays his mast across my foredeck. By the time we sort things out, we are pretty much last - 20 plus places lost. Without a discard, happenings like that will result in protests intended only to obtain redress and average points. Meantime, everyone is hanging about waiting for the prize-giving, or they just go home, neither of which is desirable.
Back to Top
Do Different View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 26 Jan 12
Location: North
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1084
Post Options Post Options   Quote Do Different Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Sep 14 at 5:33pm
Like Rupert, I can't see anything to get all twisted up about. 

I would happily accept the situation whichever party's place I found myself in.


Back to Top
Rupert View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 11 Aug 04
Location: Whitefriars sc
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 8673
Post Options Post Options   Quote Rupert Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Sep 14 at 5:17pm
So long as everyone knows the system before racing kicks off, I'm not sure it matters that much. You could probably find more results for those 2 helms where the opposite has happened, and that would apply to most of us, I'd think. I know I got lucky at the Lightning Nats being able to discard a 13th!
Firefly 2324, Lightning 130, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446
Back to Top
Ian29937 View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 25 May 05
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 409
Post Options Post Options   Quote Ian29937 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Sep 14 at 9:41am

But imagine the 4th was as a result of an inexperienced sailor taking him out at the start resulting in a capsize.  Try as hard as he could, he only managed to recover to 4th despite sailing much faster than anyone else in the fleet.  Is it fair that the overall result should be impacted by this race result in any way?  Isnít it fairer that sailors are able to completely discard a defined number of results to ensure that chance events donít decide which sailor wins?

Back to Top
Andy K View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03 Jun 14
Location: C I
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5
Post Options Post Options   Quote Andy K Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Sep 14 at 8:57am
As I understand it, a competition should be won by the skipper with the best scores.
I don't really care about the current SI's
The guy with the best scores didn't win.
OK, all skippers knew the regs.regarding the race, but someone, somewhere, in time gone past, has tweaked these regs. And now it is as though it they set in stone.
They are not, and I still think that the wrong skipper won!!!!
Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Sep 14 at 9:04pm
Some events don't have discards - the Dragon Gold Cup never has, for instance.
Gordon
Back to Top
Ian29937 View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 25 May 05
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 409
Post Options Post Options   Quote Ian29937 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Sep 14 at 5:38pm
Why do we have discards in the first place? - My understanding was that it allowed for exceptional circumstances not to spoil someones event as a DNF/DNS can have a significant effect on a series result
e.g. If someone has an unexpected boat breakage or a delay in arriving at an event due to breakdown, accident etc or for longer series, personal reasons for not attending a number of races.
If you accept that these are reasonable exclusions, it seems logical that everyone should be able to discard the same number of races and that these should not be included in any count backs etc
Ian
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6339
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Sep 14 at 4:33pm
Yep. the current fashion in scoring systems is that an excluded race is completely excluded and isn't used as a tiebreak. You can make arguments both ways. In this case it made for a more exciting last race I think.
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1034
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Sep 14 at 2:59pm
Originally posted by jeffers

I seem to recall that you can modify how you do countback from the 'standard' most 1sts, most 2nds, Last race both boats sailed.

The problem here (such as it is) is not with the tie-breaker rules in Appendix A but with the 'number of races required for a drop' setting in the SI.

But 4 completed races for a drop in a 6 or 7 race series is pretty conventional.
Back to Top
jeffers View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 29 Mar 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3013
Post Options Post Options   Quote jeffers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Sep 14 at 2:19pm
Originally posted by Ian29937

This was scored as per standard.  The 4th was an excluded score so isn't included in the countback.
 
They tied on results
They had the same scores on countback (1,1,2)
The boat which won the last race won.
 

You are correct indeed correct!
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy