New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Hitting the finish mark
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Hitting the finish mark

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
charlie1019 View Drop Down
Posting king
Posting king


Joined: 28 Nov 05
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 173
Post Options Post Options   Quote charlie1019 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Hitting the finish mark
    Posted: 16 May 14 at 12:41pm
If you hit a finish mark, under the latest set of rules how do you take your penalty?

Rule 44.2 states:

After getting well clear of other boats as soon after the incident as possible, a boat takes a One-Turn or Two-Turns Penalty by promptly making the required number of turns in the same direction, each turn including one tack and one gybe. When a boat takes the penalty at or near the finishing line, she shall sail completely to the course side of the line before finishing


Does this mean that you can re-round the mark and re-finish in the process - in which case the boat will have been fully on the couse side of the finish, or do you have to sail back through the finish line to the course side and then undertake a 360 on the course side of the start line before re-finishing?

Are there any case studies covering this? I couldn't see any. 

Back to Top
jeffers View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 29 Mar 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3013
Post Options Post Options   Quote jeffers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 14 at 12:47pm
I believe you are deemed to have not finished and so need to take your penalty and then re-finish (unless you are exonorated because of another boats actions (subject to protest).
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74
Back to Top
charlie1019 View Drop Down
Posting king
Posting king


Joined: 28 Nov 05
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 173
Post Options Post Options   Quote charlie1019 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 14 at 12:52pm
Originally posted by jeffers

I believe you are deemed to have not finished and so need to take your penalty and then re-finish (unless you are exonorated because of another boats actions (subject to protest).

Yes I accept that you haven't truly finished until you have cleared the finish line so need to take a 360 and re-finish if you hit one of the finish marks, even if it is after the finish gun. 

But, does that mean you can loop round the finish mark to re-finish (effectively taking your 360 and passing to the course side) or do you have to sail course side, take a 360, and then re-finish?
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6339
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 14 at 1:15pm
I don't see anything in the rules that says that manoveres to turn back shouldn't be part of the penalty, but you do need to ensure that a tack and a gybe are both completed. Gybing round and recrossing on the opposite tack isn't good enough. Reckon case 108 is relevant.
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1032
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 14 at 1:56pm
CASE 108
When taking a penalty after touching a mark, a boat need not complete a full 360 turn, and she may take her penalty while simultaneously rounding the mark. Her turn to round the mark will serve as her penalty if it includes a tack and a gybe, if it is carried out promptly after she is no longer touching the mark and is well clear of other boats, and when no question of advantage arises.
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1032
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 14 at 3:10pm
Originally posted by JimC

I don't see anything in the rules that says that manoveres to turn back shouldn't be part of the penalty, but you do need to ensure that a tack and a gybe are both completed. Gybing round and recrossing on the opposite tack isn't good enough. Reckon case 108 is relevant.

Yup.

CASE 108
When taking a penalty after touching a mark, a boat need not complete a full 360 turn, and she may take her penalty while simultaneously rounding the mark. Her turn to round the mark will serve as her penalty if it includes a tack and a gybe, if it is carried out promptly after she is no longer touching the mark and is well clear of other boats, and when no question of advantage arises.

The Case 108 diagrams are worth a look.

Originally posted by charlie1019

Originally posted by jeffers

I believe you are deemed to have not finished and so need to take your penalty and then re-finish (unless you are exonorated because of another boats actions (subject to protest).

Yes I accept that you haven't truly finished until you have cleared the finish line

Not right.

Having cleared the finishing line is about whether you are racing or not.

Racing A boat is racing from her preparatory signal until she finishes and clears the finishing line and marks or retires, or until the race committee signals a general recall, postponement or abandonment.

You have finished, really, truly finished, when you have complied with the definition of finish

Finish A boat finishes when any part of her hull, or crew or equipment in 
normal position, crosses the finishing line from the course side. However, she 
has not finished if after crossing the finishing line she
(a) takes a penalty under rule 44.2,
(b) corrects an error under rule 28.2 made at the line, or
(c) continues to sail the course.

so need to take a 360 and re-finish if you hit one of the finish marks, even if it is after the finish gun. 

Yes you do, but it's a One Turn Penalty:  you don't have to go through 360 degrees.

But, does that mean you can loop round the finish mark to re-finish (effectively taking your 360 and passing to the course side) or do you have to sail course side, take a 360, and then re-finish?

Yes you can.

There's absolutely nothing in the rules about where you can take a turns penalty:  it's all about when  you can take it.

You can take a turns penalty wholly on the non-course side of a finishing line, then return and cross the finishing line from the course side to constitute your finish.
Back to Top
charlie1019 View Drop Down
Posting king
Posting king


Joined: 28 Nov 05
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 173
Post Options Post Options   Quote charlie1019 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 14 at 3:17pm
Thanks guys
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy