Doesn't matter which hand the leeward mark is, because mark-room is irrelevant.
It would be up to the protest committee to decide: key issue would be whether M needed room to gybe away from W be given by L.
General
Firstly, no matter whether this is in the zone or not, when
W gybes onto starboard, she gains right of way over both M and L (rule 10). M, to windward, must also give way to L, to
leeward (rule 11), but M, sandwiched between two boats, each of which has right
of way, is entitled to room to get
out of the sandwich under rule 19.2(b).
When W gybes onto starboard she becomes an obstruction to
both M and L (definition of obstruction).
If M and L are overlapped, L must give L room between her and the obstruction
(rule 19.2(b). If M and L are not overlapped, there is no entitlement
to room under rule 19.2.
L advanced on M
If L is clear ahead of M, rule 19.2(b) does not apply, but
in that case, M does not need L to give room because M can keep clear of W by
gybing astern of L.
If L is well advanced on M, but still overlapped, rule
19.2(b) will apply, but it will be a question for the protest committee to
decide whether M, to keep clear of W, needed room to be given by L, or whether
there was room for M to gybe and keep clear of W, without L doing
anything. If it is necessary for L to
give room and she did not do so, L breaks rule 19.2(b) and should be penalised.
Neither L nor M significantly advanced on the other
If neither L nor M is significantly advanced on the other,
as long as they are not massively separated, M will need room from L to keep
clear of W and if L does not give room she breaks rule 19.2(b) and should be penalised.
M advanced on L
If M is clear ahead of L, rule 19.2(b) does not apply, but M
does not need L to give room to gybe away from W, because M is initially right
of way (rule 12), then after gybing remains right of way (rule 10), and is not
even required to give L room to keep clear under rule 15 because she has not
acquired right of way by the gybe.
If M is well advanced on L, but still overlapped, once again
the protest committee would need to decide whether there was room for M to gybe
away from W without L doing anything, or whether L needed to take some action to
give M the room she was entitled to. If
it was necessary for L to take action to give M room and she did not do so she
breaks rule 19.2(b) and should be penalised.
Effect of mark-room
Whether boats had reached the zone or not is
irrelevant. Although one or other of L
or M would have gained an entitlement to mark-room, this would not affect L’s
obligation, if any, to give M room to keep clear of W under rule 19.2(b) (Case
114: room includes room to keep clear or
give room).