Print Page | Close Window

two boats at windward mark

Printed From: Yachts and Yachting Online
Category: General
Forum Name: Racing Rules
Forum Discription: Discuss the rules and your interpretations here
URL: http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=7074
Printed Date: 28 Jun 25 at 8:36pm
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com


Topic: two boats at windward mark
Posted By: djdhi
Subject: two boats at windward mark
Date Posted: 27 Aug 10 at 5:21pm
Two boats on starboard approaching windward mark to round to port. Boat A clear ahead when entering the zone,and to windward of B. The wind is shifty, and close to the mark, after pinching a bit, boat A decides to tack on to port in order to make the rounding.  B protests A .  Who is right?



Replies:
Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 27 Aug 10 at 5:55pm
B


Posted By: Neptune
Date Posted: 27 Aug 10 at 9:50pm
A was clear ahead and to windward and couldn't lay the
mark...B was wrong for protesting when no rules had been
broken


Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 27 Aug 10 at 10:17pm
Originally posted by Neptune

A was clear ahead and to windward and couldn't lay the
mark...B was wrong for protesting when no rules had been
broken

I made the assumption that B had to alter course when A tacked: otherwise why ask the question!


Posted By: Andymac
Date Posted: 28 Aug 10 at 9:03am

Originally posted by Neptune

A was clear ahead and to windward and couldn't lay the
mark...B was wrong for protesting when no rules had been
broken

Ditto.

On what basis did B protest?  How did boat A infringe boat B?



Posted By: Contender443
Date Posted: 28 Aug 10 at 10:47am

If A is to windward of B and they have to make the mark then surely B has to tack as well. It would only be a matter of seconds before B tacks.

I think the question is does A have the right to tack or can B take A past the mark?



Posted By: djdhi
Date Posted: 28 Aug 10 at 11:20am
ishould have said boat A to  leeward of B.  I'll go away and hide......


Posted By: Andymac
Date Posted: 28 Aug 10 at 5:19pm

Originally posted by djdhi

ishould have said boat A to  leeward of B.  I'll go away and hide......

In which case, A would be at fault if it had caused B to take avoiding action.



Posted By: Brass
Date Posted: 30 Aug 10 at 1:11am
Originally posted by Contender443

If A is to windward of B and they have to make the mark then surely B has to tack as well. It would only be a matter of seconds before B tacks.

Yes, but so what?

Originally posted by Contender443

I think the question is does A have the right to tack or can B take A past the mark?

Note this is still the A to Windward scenario. 

As long as A is to windward, A can tack at any time, subject only to B not having become overlapped to leeward and being hooked up so tight on her leeward quarter that A cannot change course without B needing to take avoiding action as A's stern swings.  If B does need to take avoiding action, A simply breaks rule 11.  Mark-room does not help A, because although A is entitled to mark-room up until she passes head to wind, her mark-room does NOT include room to tack, because she is the windward OUTSIDE boat, not the windward INSIDE boat (Definition mark-room).  Yes, B can take A outside the mark if B is good enough, but remember that B's lee quarter hook-up, going upwind, is about as slow a tactical position, relative to A, as it is possible to find, and it won't last long.

If, in the shifty conditions, A has sagged down to clear ahead right on B's line or to leeward of B, then A's mark-room still does not give her room to tack, because if she is clear ahead straight ahead of B, she is is neither windward nor leeward, nor inside nor outside, and if she is to leeward, she is not the windward boat.  From anywhere in the clear ahead or leeward berths, A may begin to tack, changing course towards the wind, but subject to rule 16, but once she passes head to wind, rule 18 ceases to apply and rule 13, then rule 10 apply so that A must keep clear of B, thus, once A has passed head to wind, if it is necessary for B to take avoiding action, then A has broken rule 13 or rule 10 (depending on whether A has reached a close hauled course or not).




Print Page | Close Window

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz - http://www.webwizguide.com