Print Page | Close Window

Class rules in handicap races

Printed From: Yachts and Yachting Online
Category: General
Forum Name: Racing Rules
Forum Discription: Discuss the rules and your interpretations here
URL: http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=6095
Printed Date: 27 Jun 25 at 8:24pm
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com


Topic: Class rules in handicap races
Posted By: Strangler
Subject: Class rules in handicap races
Date Posted: 03 Nov 09 at 6:14pm

Class rules can change certain RRS. For example the Flying Dutchman Class Rules [and other classes no doubt] allow 3 pumps per....  I presume in a handicap race this will still be the case and therefore some classes will be sailing to the 1 pump and some to the 3 pumps per...  rule.

Do you agree with this interpretation?

Any other class rule v handicap anomilies?




Replies:
Posted By: alstorer
Date Posted: 03 Nov 09 at 6:33pm
Is it in the actual class rules, or in the standard sailing instructions for the class?

-------------
-_
Al


Posted By: bert
Date Posted: 03 Nov 09 at 6:34pm

surley the sailing instructions should take prestance over the class rules for any event other then a class event,IE the RS classes are allowed to touch the marks but only in RS events.

Otherwise I would protest you under rule 42 



-------------
Phantom 1181
AC-227 IC 304
blaze / halo 586




Posted By: Garry
Date Posted: 03 Nov 09 at 8:07pm

These are the 2001-04 rules as the only ones I could lay my hands on quickly

The prescriptions of a national authority, class rules or SI may change a racing rule only as permitted by rule 86 which says a...,b..., c) class rules may only change racing rules 42, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53 & 54.

So my interpretation unless - unless SIs say class rules doesn't change the RRS you can pump 3 times per wave in a handicap race if sailing an FD.  Unless, of course the class rules say only at... events

Garry



-------------
Garry

Lark 2252, Contender 298

www.cuckoos.eclipse.co.uk


Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 03 Nov 09 at 9:47pm
You're sailing in a handicap class race not a Flying Dutchman class race. So the extra pumps are banned. Just like the RS mark banging.


Posted By: alstorer
Date Posted: 04 Nov 09 at 7:02am
Jim: this does actually seem to be different. The three pumps are, after checking, in the class rules, whereas RS mark-barging is an SI thing. Class Rules can modify Rule 42, as said. The FD modifies 42.3

Some of the measurement/design rules (same document) for the FD also modify restrictions in the RRS. If handicap racing, it is usually accepted that you've got comply with class rules. Surely it is dodgy ground if you start saying that you've got to comply with some class rules but not others?

Of course, whether ISAF should have allowed this is another point- surely, as SIs can modify 42, this would have been better handled in standard SIs? It seems foolish to me that Class Rules can modify rules with regard to the conduct of a race, as it inevitably would lead to these situations.

-------------
-_
Al


Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 04 Nov 09 at 7:34am
Originally posted by alstorer

Jim: this does actually seem to be different. The three pumps are, after checking, in the class rules, whereas RS mark-barging is an SI thing. Class Rules can modify Rule 42, as said. The FD modifies 42.3

Doesn't matter. Nowhere in any handicap NOR I have seen does it mention class rules. You are sailing in a handicap event not a class event..

This extract from the Queen Mary SIs is typical...

1.     RULES
1.1     The regatta will be governed by the rules as defined in The Racing Rules of Sailing
1.2     The bye-laws of Queen Mary Sailing Club will apply.
1.3     Racing rules 26, 29.1, 29.2, 33, 35, 40, 63.1 and Race Signals will be changed. The changes will appear in full in the sailing instructions.


So the classes bit is basically just a convenience to handicappers. You should be able to sail a boat out of class if you wanted provided that you notified the Race organisers so they could set an appropriate revised handicap... Of course its rumoured that some weight equalised classes have a habit of sailing in an out of class config without notifying the race organisers which is, to say the least, naughty.


Posted By: FreshScum
Date Posted: 04 Nov 09 at 7:52am
I was always fairly sure that a PY Handicap was given to a boat sailing to its class rules. So if its in the rules, you can pump 3 times.


Posted By: alstorer
Date Posted: 04 Nov 09 at 8:37am
Originally posted by RYA Portsmouth Scheme guide

3.10 Base Rig
is the physical configuration of rig upon which a boat’s
Portsmouth Number is assessed.
The configuration is either:
a) a boat rigged to its full performance potential and carrying on
board all sails permitted by its Class Rules where such Rules exist
(Class Rules must necessarily be those Rules applying during the
year in which the Returns are made. Any change subsequent to the
Return date may need to be reflected in the allocation of a Trial
Number at the beginning of the following season);

http://www.rya.org.uk/infoadvice/racing/Pages/portsmouthyardstick.aspx - (from here, Part 1)

would make Jim appear to be correct.


-------------
-_
Al


Posted By: Scooby_simon
Date Posted: 04 Nov 09 at 8:42am

Originally posted by alstorer

Originally posted by RYA Portsmouth Scheme guide

3.10 Base Rig
is the physical configuration of rig upon which a boat’s
Portsmouth Number is assessed.
The configuration is either:
a) a boat rigged to its full performance potential and carrying on
board all sails permitted by its Class Rules where such Rules exist
(Class Rules must necessarily be those Rules applying during the
year in which the Returns are made. Any change subsequent to the
Return date may need to be reflected in the allocation of a Trial
Number at the beginning of the following season);

http://www.rya.org.uk/infoadvice/racing/Pages/portsmouthyardstick.aspx - (from here, Part 1)

would make Jim appear to be correct.

 

Yep; the boat must conform to class rules when MEASURED, so all up weight  and any equalisation systems etc; but you usually use the unmodified RRS for Hcap events.

 



-------------
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..


Posted By: Rupert
Date Posted: 04 Nov 09 at 10:59am
Hmmm, initially I was of the thought that it would be one pump, but if the handicap is set to class rules where 3 pumps are allowed, theoretically this could mean the handicap is lower than it would be using standard RRS. So, if only allowing 1 pump, should the handicap be altered?!

-------------
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686


Posted By: Garry
Date Posted: 04 Nov 09 at 4:55pm

This would be a good one for someone from the RYA technical committe to give a view on.  (or a para in roll tacks... Andy talked to the RYA about...).  Another idea for the magazine... what about a reader passionate about a topic doing some research and an article, Radio 4 does this very successfully from time to time, giving a member of the public a tape recorder and then putting together a programme.

Does Jim's interpretation mean a sailboard competing in a handicap race with dinghies is barred from pumping? 



-------------
Garry

Lark 2252, Contender 298

www.cuckoos.eclipse.co.uk


Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 05 Nov 09 at 12:50am
Originally posted by Garry

Does Jim's interpretation mean a sailboard competing in a handicap race with dinghies is barred from pumping?

Appendix C is part of the main racing rules of sailing, not a class rule.

Apart from anything else consider the practicalities... We are supposed to be a self policing sport where if a rule is broken you protest. Can that rationally operate if boat a is allowed to pump three times per wave, boat b once, boat c is permitted unlimited pumping above n knots, and boat d is allowed to hit marks without penalty?


Posted By: Brass
Date Posted: 05 Nov 09 at 4:33am

Originally posted by FreshScum

I was always fairly sure that a PY Handicap was given to a boat sailing to its class rules. So if its in the rules, you can pump 3 times.

Originally posted by Garry

This would be a good one for someone from the RYA technical committe to give a view on. ...

Does Jim's interpretation mean a sailboard competing in a handicap race with dinghies is barred from pumping? 

Yup, Stewart Cresswell or some other yardstick guru.

I think this is a matter of practicality, not 'pure' rules.

Rule 86.1 says MNA prescriptions and SI may NOT change rule 42, but that Class Rules (CR) MAY.

Rule 87 says SI may change a CR ONLY if permitted to do so by the CR or Class Association.

Rule J1.1(4) requires the NOR to include 'the classes to race'.

Definition 'rules' includes CR (for a boat racing under a handicap or rating system the rules fo the at system are 'class rules'), but there is nothing to stop the CR of a Class Association and a handicap system rules operating at the same time.

Where this gets us is that if the NOR/SI provides for, for example FD, to race as a Class, then the CR will apply and within that Class, three pumps will be OK, but, of course they won't be racing on yardstick against boats of other classes.

On the other hand where the NOR/SI provide for boats belonging to a class to race in a race under a handicap system, but do not provide a distinct Class, then the CR, as a whole, will not apply, even if the NOR/SI incorporate some parts of the CR, such as by providing that 'boats shall comply with the measurement requirements of their CR'.  In this case, there is nothing to modify or turn rule 42 off, and no pumping is allowed.

I think the PY position would be that PY data cannot be collected from boats racing in one design classes, therefore all PY data would/should be relevant to boats of a class racing in handicap fleets with no pumping, therefore FD's PY is for 'no pumping'.

I see it differently for sailboards:  as I understand it, sailboards always pump:  wherever sailboards sail so as to generate PY data, they will have been pumping, so their PY yardsticks will be based on pumping, and they should be excused rule 42.

Given that PY racing is 'all chums together', I don't see any real problem with this differential approach based on practicalities.



Posted By: alstorer
Date Posted: 05 Nov 09 at 6:58am
Sailboards only "always pump" when they're racing under the appropriate Appendix.

-------------
-_
Al


Posted By: Brass
Date Posted: 05 Nov 09 at 8:54pm

Originally posted by alstorer

Sailboards only "always pump" when they're racing under the appropriate Appendix.

As I understand it, because the boardsailor holds directly onto the boom, every balancing action the boardsailor takes is technically a rock-pump, to that, in effect it is impossible to determine whether a boardsailor is rocking/pumping contrary to rule 42 or not.

I would be happy to defer to anyone with more on-water judging experience than I have.



Posted By: Andymac
Date Posted: 06 Nov 09 at 8:50am
Originally posted by Brass

I would be happy to defer to anyone with more on-water judging experience than I have.

Gordon.....Your view?



Posted By: gordon
Date Posted: 06 Nov 09 at 9:36am
I believe the whole problem can be solved by proper drafting of the SIs. These should make clear that boats are entering a handicap race run under the PY system. In which case the class rules are the PY system rules.

Boats that wish to sail using a predfined yardstick number must demonstrate that the hull, equipment and crew are inconformity with the measurement rules of the class to which that number has been attributed. If they cannot demonstrate this the race committee can decide on a yardstick number (the problem will inevitably arise with SMOD classes not using approved sails!).

The SIs should make very clear that any changes to the racing rules made by class rules do not apply. As a handicap race is not, by definition, governed by any class rules other than the handicap rules, individual class rules do not apply unless the SIs say they do. Should they apply, this is not a change to individual class rules but a change to the handicap rules. Rule 87 does not apply except insofar as any modification of handicap rules may require MNA permission.

If sailboards and boats are racing together the SIs must make it very clear whether Appendix B applies or not. If it applies it should apply to all boats and boards.

If, in a handicap event, prizes are to be awarded to boats in a particular category (for instance first Laser Standard) then the SIs should make clear that this category of boats is not racing as a class, but this is merely a supplementary prize within the overall handicap event.

If you have no-one in your club who can write suotable SIs to cover all of this then contact the RYA who will point you in the direction of your local rules expert.

As for Brass's point, in Appendix B rule 42 is re-written and the whole of the standard RRS rule 42 (including 42.1, 42.2 and 42.3) is replaced by the new text. Therefore, for board racing, there is no such thing as pumping,rocking,ooching etc - these are all "unassisted actions of the competitor."

Gordon


-------------
Gordon


Posted By: Strangler
Date Posted: 06 Nov 09 at 6:12pm
Thanks Gordon for that answer that seems definitive.

-------------



Print Page | Close Window

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz - http://www.webwizguide.com