Slowing by dragging feet in water
Printed From: Yachts and Yachting Online
Category: General
Forum Name: Racing Rules
Forum Discription: Discuss the rules and your interpretations here
URL: http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=5590
Printed Date: 26 Jun 25 at 5:38pm Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com
Topic: Slowing by dragging feet in water
Posted By: redback
Subject: Slowing by dragging feet in water
Date Posted: 07 Jun 09 at 10:30pm
I'm sure this is illegal but can't find a reference to a rule which says so. I'd like to be able to quote an appeal or something as I witnessed it today. An 800 was too early at a start and so the crew stuck one foot in the water to slow the boat. I politely mentioned it when ashore but without being able to quote a reference I could not pursue it.
|
Replies:
Posted By: JohnW
Date Posted: 07 Jun 09 at 10:39pm
There was a discussion on this last year. Hope this helps.
http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=4585&PN=2&TPN=1 - http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=4 585&PN=2&TPN=1
|
Posted By: Smight at BBSC
Date Posted: 08 Jun 09 at 2:24pm
I'm pretty sure we established that it wasn't allowed.
------------- RS600 988
|
Posted By: Lukepiewalker
Date Posted: 08 Jun 09 at 6:06pm
Probably 42.1 covers it.
------------- Ex-Finn GBR533 "Pie Hard"
Ex-National 12 3253 "Seawitch"
Ex-National 12 2961 "Curved Air"
Ex-Mirror 59096 "Voodoo Chile"
|
Posted By: Andymac
Date Posted: 08 Jun 09 at 6:26pm
Originally posted by Smight at BBSC
I'm pretty sure we established that it wasn't allowed. |
Indeed, we did.
Just to test this principle;
i) If boat A clear ahead sailing a steady course, and a faster boat B approached from directly astern 'punted' boat A on the transom. Boat B would be in the wrong, yes?
ii) If boat A clear ahead sailing a steady course, with boat B similar speed very close astern, and boat A accidently dropped mainsheet and slowed suddenly with again a rear end shunt. It would, however unfortunate, still be boat B in the wrong, yes?
iii) Same scenario as ii) except Boat A slowed suddenly by 'deliberately' trailing leg in water. Boat A broke a rule, boat B exonerated?
Would that be correct?
|
Posted By: Lukepiewalker
Date Posted: 08 Jun 09 at 6:31pm
Not necessarily in case ii, as boat A could be charged with failing to avoid a collision if it's slowing action were deliberate. But largely, yes.
------------- Ex-Finn GBR533 "Pie Hard"
Ex-National 12 3253 "Seawitch"
Ex-National 12 2961 "Curved Air"
Ex-Mirror 59096 "Voodoo Chile"
|
Posted By: Andymac
Date Posted: 08 Jun 09 at 9:03pm
Originally posted by Lukepiewalker
Not necessarily in case ii, as boat A could be charged with failing to avoid a collision if it's slowing action were deliberate.
|
I did state an 'accidental' act in case ii, however in what instance would boat A be at fault if it slowed itself suddenly deliberately, but legitimately, resulting in a rear end shunt? Could it fall under rule 14, avoiding contact? If there was minor contact with no damage then Boat A hasn't broken a rule, or has it? and has boat B?
It's the kind of thing that could possibly happen pre-start, or maybe team racing?
Rule 16.1 states; When a right-of-way boat changes course, she shall give the other boat room to keep clear. Note I have underlined changes course, it does not mention slowing down or speeding up!
Or could a deliberate act to slow resulting in a collision by a following boat fall under rule 2; 'sportsmanship and fair play'?
Does anyone know of any cases?
|
Posted By: Garry
Date Posted: 08 Jun 09 at 9:13pm
I don't know of any cases but you are required (as right of way boat) to give the give way boat the opportunity to keep clear, this applies whether you are altering course or stopping by backing a sail.
I thought we'd conclusively established that deliberatly trailing your legs in the water was illegal propulsion (albeit of the negative sort).
Garry
------------- Garry
Lark 2252, Contender 298
www.cuckoos.eclipse.co.uk
|
Posted By: Garry
Date Posted: 08 Jun 09 at 9:16pm
Originally posted by Andymac
Just to test this principle;
i) If boat A clear ahead sailing a steady course, and a faster boat B approached from directly astern 'punted' boat A on the transom. Boat B would be in the wrong, yes? agree
ii) If boat A clear ahead sailing a steady course, with boat B similar speed very close astern, and boat A accidently dropped mainsheet and slowed suddenly with again a rear end shunt. It would, however unfortunate, still be boat B in the wrong, yes? depends did B have opportunity to keep clear
iii) Same scenario as ii) except Boat A slowed suddenly by 'deliberately' trailing leg in water. Boat A broke a rule, boat B exonerated? Depends on damage and if B could have kept clear might disqualify both.
Would that be correct? |
------------- Garry
Lark 2252, Contender 298
www.cuckoos.eclipse.co.uk
|
Posted By: Lukepiewalker
Date Posted: 08 Jun 09 at 10:27pm
Sorry, I misread example ii. If it was an accidental drop of the sheet and the boat merely slowed down then you would reckon the boat astern to have been too close. In case iii, as the leading boat is slowing by breaking 42.1, the boat clear astern isn't expected to allow for the boat clear ahead breaking a rule as in the leg trailing case, but if it were so close that it could not avoid a collision in case of a legal act (ie slowing without backing a sail) they still might be penalised. I suppose ultimately it's an area of many shades of grey where there are many variables that would subtly alter the ramifications in terms of the positioning and behaviour of the two boats.
------------- Ex-Finn GBR533 "Pie Hard"
Ex-National 12 3253 "Seawitch"
Ex-National 12 2961 "Curved Air"
Ex-Mirror 59096 "Voodoo Chile"
|
Posted By: Brass
Date Posted: 09 Jun 09 at 12:47am
Originally posted by Garry
I don't know of any cases but you are required (as right of way boat) to give the give way boat the opportunity to keep clear, this applies whether you are altering course or stopping by backing a sail. |
You haven't got this quite right.
As right of way boat you are required to allow the give way boat room (not 'opportunity') to keep clear in only five situations:
1) initially if you gain right of way through your own actions (rule 15);
2) if you change course (rule 16);
3) if you are obliged to allow the give way boat mark-room under rule 18
4) if you are obliged to allow the give way boat room to pass an obstruction under rule 19;
5) if you are obliged to allow a give way boat room to avoid you under rule 20.
A right of way boat is not generally obliged to allow a give way boat room to keep clear.
A right of way boat which keeps a steady course may change speed so as reduce the room to keep clear available to the give way boat (think of the port/stbd situation near a windward starboard rounding mark, where S may slow down to force P to tack away from the layline). This does not have to be accidental.
A right of way boat, however, is taken to have changed course and becomes subject to rule 16 if she changes from going ahead to going astern (MR Call Ump 35). If she moves astern by backing a sail, that's a whole new ball-game and she becomes the give way boat under rule 21.3.
If a right of way boat reduces the room to keep clear available to the give way boat, she exposes herself to risks under rule 14 if contact with injury or damage occurs.
|
Posted By: Brass
Date Posted: 09 Jun 09 at 1:07am
Originally posted by Garry
Originally posted by Andymac
Just to test this principle;
i) If boat A clear ahead sailing a steady course, and a faster boat B approached from directly astern 'punted' boat A on the transom. Boat B would be in the wrong, yes? agree
ii) If boat A clear ahead sailing a steady course, with boat B similar speed very close astern, and boat A accidently dropped mainsheet and slowed suddenly with again a rear end shunt. It would, however unfortunate, still be boat B in the wrong, yes? depends did B have opportunity to keep clear |
|
Nope. As long as A does not change course or start moving astern B has no entitlement to room to keep clear, although A may have a possible obligation to avoid contact.
The position does not change if A starts sails deliberately intending to slow down.
|
Posted By: redback
Date Posted: 09 Jun 09 at 8:55pm
Hey fellas. I'm not interested in collisions and all that. Simply is it legitimate to slow a boat by dragging a leg in the water? If so where does it say so? It should be in Rule 42.
|
Posted By: gordon
Date Posted: 09 Jun 09 at 11:43pm
Rule 42.1 states "a boat shall compete using only the wind and water to increase, maintain or decrease her speed. Her crew may adjust the trim of sails and hull, and perform other acts of seamanship, but shall not otherwise move their bodies to propel the boat" A dictionary definition of "propel" would be to drive forward, or give onward motion to... Trailing part of the body in the water does not drive forward (or backwards) nor give onward motion to a boat. However it could be interpreted as using the water to decrease the speed of a boat.
Using a part of the body as a brake to decrease the speed of the boat is not a prohibited action under 42.2.
Interestingly, a boat may anchor during a race, or the crew may stand on the bottom to hold the boat.
I am not sure, therfore that there is anything in the rules that prohibits a competitor using part of his body as a passive brake to slow the boat. If for instance a competitor was to deliberately heel their boat to windward so that their torso dragged in the water, thus stopping the boat, would this constitute a prohibited action? I do not think so.
So, after some reflexion, and to my surprise, I conclude that passively trailing part of the body in the water to decrease the speed of the boat is not prohibited, however paddling with hands or feet water would be prohibited as they are intended to propel the boat.
Perhaps someone should contact the RYA rules group!
Gordon
------------- Gordon
|
Posted By: Andymac
Date Posted: 10 Jun 09 at 5:52am
Originally posted by gordon
Rule 42.1 states "a boat shall compete using only the wind and water to increase, maintain or decrease her speed. Her crew may adjust the trim of sails and hull, and perform other acts of seamanship, but shall not otherwise move their bodies to propel the boat" A dictionary definition of "propel" would be to drive forward, or give onward motion to... Trailing part of the body in the water does not drive forward (or backwards) nor give onward motion to a boat. However it could be interpreted as using the water to decrease the speed of a boat.
Using a part of the body as a brake to decrease the speed of the boat is not a prohibited action under 42.2.
Interestingly, a boat may anchor during a race, or the crew may stand on the bottom to hold the boat.
I am not sure, therfore that there is anything in the rules that prohibits a competitor using part of his body as a passive brake to slow the boat. If for instance a competitor was to deliberately heel their boat to windward so that their torso dragged in the water, thus stopping the boat, would this constitute a prohibited action? I do not think so.
So, after some reflexion, and to my surprise, I conclude that passively trailing part of the body in the water to decrease the speed of the boat is not prohibited, however paddling with hands or feet water would be prohibited as they are intended to propel the boat.
Perhaps someone should contact the RYA rules group!
Gordon
|
|
Posted By: Andymac
Date Posted: 10 Jun 09 at 6:01am
Thank you Gordon,
I did wonder about standing on the bottom to hold the boat (therefore maintaining speed @ 0 knots). That could be presented as performing an act of seamanship. Applying the same principle to deliberately (passively) immersing the body to slow down is logical but who would think that it was intended within the rules?
|
Posted By: Brass
Date Posted: 10 Jun 09 at 6:17am
Originally posted by gordon
Rule 42.1 states "a boat shall compete using only the wind and water to increase, maintain or decrease her speed. Her crew may adjust the trim of sails and hull, and perform other acts of seamanship, but shall not otherwise move their bodies to propel the boat" A dictionary definition of "propel" would be to drive forward, or give onward motion to... Trailing part of the body in the water does not drive forward (or backwards) nor give onward motion to a boat. However it could be interpreted as using the water to decrease the speed of a boat.
Using a part of the body as a brake to decrease the speed of the boat is not a prohibited action under 42.2.
Interestingly, a boat may anchor during a race, or the crew may stand on the bottom to hold the boat.
I am not sure, therfore that there is anything in the rules that prohibits a competitor using part of his body as a passive brake to slow the boat. |
I think the first sentence, rather than the last sentence of rule 42.1 rules it out.
'a boat shall compete using only the wind and water to ... decrease her speed'
That forbids a boat to use the water 'AND a hand or foot' to decrease her speed.
I'm not sure about how rule 42 applies to accidentally immersing some body part (or boat's equipment). I think there's a colour of intentionality about rule 42, particularly in things that are NOT pumping, ooching or rocking. A brief, unintentional dunk in the drink that slows the boat down, I don't think breaks rule 42: falling overboard in the first place does not break rule 42: if what you do thereafter is getting back on board, surely that's 'an act of seamanship'?
|
Posted By: gordon
Date Posted: 10 Jun 09 at 7:07am
Brass, I'm not particularily happy about any interpretation that depends upon detecting a "colour of intentionality". Either an action is prohibited or it is not. Which is why in rule 42.3 there is a list of exceptions, which detail circumstances in which otherwise prohibited actions are permitted.
Is there a difference between using the water action on the water by repeatedly moving the helm to slow a boat, or heeling boat so hard that the wings (of a boat with wings) trail in the water (thus using the water to decrease speed) and using the water to increase drag by immersing part of the body?
Would you penalise a boat if a crew dropped overboard to hold the boat only to find that the water was too deep to touch bottom? Or if, in preparation to jumping overboard crew drags feet in water, thus slowing the boat?
My reading is that the rule concerning dragging of the body in the water is similar to the rules applied when anchoring. Anchoring to slow (nothing in the rules states that the anchor must hold!) or halt a boat is permitted, hauling on the anchor line to propel the boat is prohibited. Similarily, using the body to increase drag does not seem to be prohibited, whilst using hands, feet or other parts of the body to actively propel the boat most definitely is prohibited.
Gordon
------------- Gordon
|
Posted By: Phil eltringham
Date Posted: 10 Jun 09 at 8:52am
get a boat with wings, they make great brakes, and because they are part of the hull, its all good! 
------------- FLAT IS FAST!
Shifts Happen
|
Posted By: Rupert
Date Posted: 10 Jun 09 at 2:40pm
Sailing on the Thames in the 70's it was regarded as OK to hold onto the railings to stop yourself going backwards in the current, but obviously pulling yourself along them was against the rules. Would hanging on be the same as jumping out and holding the boat?! Quite why I wanted to race when there was no chance of making it against the current I can't quite remember...
------------- Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
|
Posted By: ColPrice2002
Date Posted: 10 Jun 09 at 3:11pm
When I was sailing on the Thames in the 70's we had a protest regarding holding onto the banks/railings etc.
The definition of anchoring was looked up - didn't include holding onto the railings, sandbags , trees etc - only a proper anchor (or weight) or crew standing in the water (not on the bank/slipway with dry feet).
Protest was upheld and no-one ever did it again...
I recalled the discussion regarding the original rule of "checking way by abnormal means" - Apparently, helm X saw a log jam at the gybe mark (well behind), threw a bucket over the stern (attached to a line), slowed down and then sailed between the logjam and the mark (the whole mass being virtually motionless), and gained loads of places.
I sometimes think that the rules should be re-written without seeing the previous ones - excepting the Port/Starboard & windwar/leeward fundamentals. That would reduce the inheritance of concepts that are ot deined.
Colin
|
Posted By: Lukepiewalker
Date Posted: 10 Jun 09 at 3:47pm
I think the question is what constitutes 'seamanship'.
------------- Ex-Finn GBR533 "Pie Hard"
Ex-National 12 3253 "Seawitch"
Ex-National 12 2961 "Curved Air"
Ex-Mirror 59096 "Voodoo Chile"
|
Posted By: Phil eltringham
Date Posted: 10 Jun 09 at 4:33pm
From the Rule 42 interpretation book ( http://www.sailing.org/tools/documents/42interprets2005book-7233.pdf - http://www.sailing.org/tools/documents/42interprets2005book-[7233].pdf ):
BASIC 2 A kinetic technique not listed in rule 42.2 that propels the boat, and is not one of the permitted actions covered in rule 42.1, is prohibited.
I think that clears it up, not allowed.
------------- FLAT IS FAST!
Shifts Happen
|
Posted By: redback
Date Posted: 10 Jun 09 at 8:12pm
Thanks Phil - I'd love to read that but the link is broken.
I just cannot find a way to navigate to it.
|
Posted By: redback
Date Posted: 10 Jun 09 at 8:42pm
Thanks Phil, I've read it but I don't think that covers it
at all.
|
Posted By: Phil eltringham
Date Posted: 10 Jun 09 at 11:21pm
I think there are three bits:
- what constitutes propulsion
- what constitutes seaman-like action
- what is the spirit of the rules
It comes down to whether by 'propulsion' you mean 'forwards' if so then slowing by way of a leg in the water is OK, if 'propulsion' means a force to change 'velocity' then a leg in the wather is not allowed.
I would not consider a leg in the water a seaman-like action, if nothing else it shows a lack of prowess on the part of the helm in question. If you cannot slow the boat by normal steerage and sail control (backing the main if nothing else) then you need more practice - just my opinion.
I think this is something that ISAF should have cleared up by now myself, but have always assumed that it was not in the spirit of the rule if nothing else.
Guess that does not give you an offical answer but maybe we should start a petition to ISAF to get an example of this put in the case book and some clarification given.
------------- FLAT IS FAST!
Shifts Happen
|
Posted By: Brass
Date Posted: 10 Jun 09 at 11:58pm
Originally posted by gordon
Brass, I'm not particularily happy about any interpretation that depends upon detecting a "colour of intentionality". Either an action is prohibited or it is not. Which is why in rule 42.3 there is a list of exceptions, which detail circumstances in which otherwise prohibited actions are permitted. |
I'm not all that thrilled about it myself. As you are aware, I'm very much in favour of looking at actions and behaviour and not intent
Originally posted by gordon
Is there a difference between using the water action on the water by repeatedly moving the helm to slow a boat, or heeling boat so hard that the wings (of a boat with wings) trail in the water (thus using the water to decrease speed) and using the water to increase drag by immersing part of the body? |
Yes there is. Rule 42.2 points us towards repeated actions (where I think repeated implies intentionality, not that I want to harp on intention). I don't think that a single action, involving hull and equipment in normal position, and not haveing the effect of 'a stroke of a paddle' will break rule 42. Note that at the moment the ISAF interpretation refers to 'a stroke of a paddle', not 'the effect of sticking a paddle in the water without stroking': maybe a future version will.
Originally posted by gordon
Would you penalise a boat if a crew dropped overboard to hold the boat only to find that the water was too deep to touch bottom? |
What, under rule 47.2? I would probably argue against it in a protest committee. I don't know what such a committee might finally decide.
Originally posted by gordon
Or if, in preparation to jumping overboard crew drags feet in water, thus slowing the boat? |
I would argue against that, as an act of seamanship, provided that the boat is eventually stopped by the crew standing on the bottom as permitted by rule 45.
Originally posted by gordon
My reading is that the rule concerning dragging of the body in the water is similar to the rules applied when anchoring. Anchoring to slow (nothing in the rules states that the anchor must hold!) or halt a boat is permitted, hauling on the anchor line to propel the boat is prohibited. Similarily, using the body to increase drag does not seem to be prohibited, whilst using hands, feet or other parts of the body to actively propel the boat most definitely is prohibited. |
In the other thread, Jos argued that propel also means to retard.
I think this is probably done to death at the hypothetical level.
|
Posted By: gordon
Date Posted: 11 Jun 09 at 9:41am
I would agree that propel can also mean to retard.
However, propel and propulsion in my dictionary, at least, are defined as "giving onward motion" and "driving or pushing forward"
to use mixed analogies - to propel is the equivalent of using the throttle on a RIB to accelerate or slow.
Sticking a foot in the water is the equivalent of pressing the brake pedal on your car. This is not giving onward motion, but rather using part of your body as a sea anchor.. There is no "stroke of the paddle" Putting your feet in the water and actively kicking would, of course, be propulsion.
Gordon
PS 42.3e states " a boat may reduce speed by repeatedly moving a helm". An action that is prohibited if it propels the boat forward (or prevents it moving astern) is permitted if it slows the boat!
------------- Gordon
|
Posted By: redback
Date Posted: 11 Jun 09 at 9:53am
It looks to me that it is OK to drag a leg in the water to
slow down.
|
Posted By: Stefan Lloyd
Date Posted: 11 Jun 09 at 2:52pm
"A boat shall compete using only the wind and water to increase, maintain or decrease her speed."
I think it's clear that the rulemakers were considering actions that both increase and decrease speed and Gordon's dictionary reading of "propel" to restrict the application of the rule to speed-increasing actions is not what the rulemakers had in mind.
|
Posted By: gordon
Date Posted: 11 Jun 09 at 6:29pm
Stefan , you have misread my comments. I certainly do not restrict the application of the rules use of propel to speed increasing actions. I do however distinguish between active movements that propel a boat and other passive actions that only brake the boat.
To use the analogy of a RIB - When you kick the engine in to reverse you are using propulsion to slow the boat. If you throw a bucket over the stern (attached by a solid painter) you are not using any form of propulsion to slow the boat.
Holding a body part in the water to act as an improvised sea anchor is an extreme measure - but it is not an act that propels the boat. Paddling with feet or hands to increase of decrease speed would, of course break rule 42.1 as this does propel the boat. A test - if the boat was becalmed any action that would move the boat in any direction is an action that propels the boat.
In my short and in glorious career as a Star crew I seemed to spend as much time in the water as out of it, especially on the beat. My somewhat corpulent body acted as an effective sea anchor - however I was not breaking rule 42. In the same way, a boat that heels to windward and ends up with the crew in the water whilst still sailing slowly does not break rule 42. A boat riding to a sea anchor (rare even in ocean racing) or a dinghy with crew in water holding bow head to wind whilst other crew carries out repairs or adjusts rigging does not break rule 42
As an aside, I should point out however that the rules do allow some active measures (repeated movement of the rudder) if they are used to slow the boat. Gordon
------------- Gordon
|
Posted By: redback
Date Posted: 11 Jun 09 at 9:38pm
Is dragging a leg in the water not the same as "A boat
shall compete using only the wind and water to increase,
maintain or decrease her speed."?
|
Posted By: redback
Date Posted: 11 Jun 09 at 9:48pm
Or are we saying that if you can't use a leg to increase or
maintain the speed of a boat you can't use it to decrease
it? If so how can I put this to the person sailing the 800
who's crew dragged his leg to slow the boat at the start
line.
|
Posted By: gordon
Date Posted: 11 Jun 09 at 10:44pm
The rule says "shall not otherwise move their bodies to propel the boat".
Does a foot held motionless in the boat propel the boat (acknowledging that propulsion may be used to increase or decrease speed). Apply the test - does a foot held motionless in the water move a boat that becalmed. If yes - the action is propelling the boat and is prohibited by 42.1. If not it is not prohibited!
Gordon
------------- Gordon
|
Posted By: bigwavedave
Date Posted: 12 Jun 09 at 7:38am
All I know about this is when I was sailing the Finn we had an open at QM with a jury boat. There was a talk by the jury bods before hand and we were told that deliberately dragging a leg/arm other body part (big lads the Finn boys) to slow the boat was a no no. It was a few years ago now though so things may have changed.
-------------
|
Posted By: Andymac
Date Posted: 12 Jun 09 at 7:58am
Originally posted by gordon
The rule says "shall not otherwise move their bodies to propel the boat".
Does a foot held motionless in the boat propel the boat (acknowledging that propulsion may be used to increase or decrease speed). Apply the test - does a foot held motionless in the water move a boat that becalmed. If yes - the action is propelling the boat and is prohibited by 42.1. If not it is not prohibited!
Gordon
|
I don't think what you do with your body in the boat has any reference to what you may do with your body outside the boat (in the water)...If you wave your hand around in the air, sitting in the boat it wouldn't have an effect, repeat with hand in water and it could be described as paddling
I do see your point about a motionless limb in the water Gordon....But if a boat was moving, and you placed your foot/leg in the water to slow/stop it. The initial action of submersing the limb (before holding it still) is surely moving it. Sorry to be pedantic.
We could pick holes in definitions all day long. At the end of the day I don't think we are going to find an answer here, unless there has been a ruling on it, or the ISAF can give a clarification.
|
Posted By: Stefan Lloyd
Date Posted: 12 Jun 09 at 12:25pm
Originally posted by gordon
The rule says "shall not otherwise move their bodies to propel the boat". |
And sticking a foot out to slow the boat is "moving your body". Ilegal.
Slowing the boat by whacking into a wave while hiking is not "moving your body". Legal.
|
Posted By: redback
Date Posted: 14 Jun 09 at 12:48am
Ah but this is not propelling the boat - quite the
opposite.
|
Posted By: bigwavedave
Date Posted: 14 Jun 09 at 7:05am
7.5 general at top of page 5
http://www.regras.com.br/cms/images/stories/pdf/06_IJManual_ rule42_07_3927.pdf - http://www.regras.com.br/cms/images/stories/pdf/06_IJManual_ rule42_07_3927.pdf
EDIT: I know this relates to the 2008 rules but I doubt very much that things have changed that much relating to on the water judging and I can't be bothered to search any further.
-------------
|
Posted By: redback
Date Posted: 14 Jun 09 at 10:21pm
Thanks Dave but I don't see what you are referring to.
|
Posted By: Lukepiewalker
Date Posted: 14 Jun 09 at 11:11pm
'General Judges must remember to police all rule 42 infringements, even those not mentioned above, such as propelling a boat by fending off others and decreasing speed by dragging feet or the body in the water.'
From the International Judges Manual
------------- Ex-Finn GBR533 "Pie Hard"
Ex-National 12 3253 "Seawitch"
Ex-National 12 2961 "Curved Air"
Ex-Mirror 59096 "Voodoo Chile"
|
Posted By: Andymac
Date Posted: 15 Jun 09 at 7:51am
Originally posted by redback
Thanks Dave but I don't see what you are referring to. |
Likewise, very informative but still doesn't address the specific question.
|
Posted By: Andymac
Date Posted: 15 Jun 09 at 7:56am
Originally posted by Lukepiewalker
'General Judges must remember to police all rule 42 infringements, even those not mentioned above, such as propelling a boat by fending off others and decreasing speed by dragging feet or the body in the water.'
From the International Judges Manual
|
Thanks Luke, now that may be the answer we are looking for...
Does anyone have a link for the 'International Judges Manual'?
|
Posted By: Lukepiewalker
Date Posted: 15 Jun 09 at 12:03pm
http://www.sailing.org/officialsmanuals.php
------------- Ex-Finn GBR533 "Pie Hard"
Ex-National 12 3253 "Seawitch"
Ex-National 12 2961 "Curved Air"
Ex-Mirror 59096 "Voodoo Chile"
|
Posted By: Stefan Lloyd
Date Posted: 15 Jun 09 at 12:33pm
Page 44 has the words quoted by Luke. I've tried posting a direct link to the document but this board software infuriatingly adds a blank to the url! Anyway, I think that's pretty definitive: dragging a foot to decrease speed violates RRS 42.
|
Posted By: redback
Date Posted: 15 Jun 09 at 4:40pm
Fantastic - I think we may have it.
|
Posted By: Andymac
Date Posted: 15 Jun 09 at 6:25pm
ILLEGAL
Case closed
|
Posted By: mike ellis
Date Posted: 15 Jun 09 at 7:54pm
OK, so what if, in standing on the windward rack of my 600 pre start to stick the rack in as a brake, my foot goes in the water up to knee depth with the rack, I've put a limb in the water, but I'm using it to control the boat, now what?
------------- 600 732, will call it Sticks and Stones when i get round to it.
Also International 14, 1318
|
Posted By: Rupert
Date Posted: 15 Jun 09 at 7:59pm
If you are on the boat you are in a proper sailing position, and there are no rules about not using wings to slow the boat, so you should be fine.
------------- Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
|
Posted By: jeffers
Date Posted: 15 Jun 09 at 8:48pm
Originally posted by Rupert
If you are on the boat you are in a proper sailing position, and there are no rules about not using wings to slow the boat, so you should be fine. |
Agreed, with some winged boats it is very dificult to keep the wings out of the water, especially when they are unstable at slow speed 
------------- Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74
|
Posted By: mike ellis
Date Posted: 15 Jun 09 at 9:36pm
ok so my standard parking on the startline technique is fine, happy days.
------------- 600 732, will call it Sticks and Stones when i get round to it.
Also International 14, 1318
|
|