Print Page | Close Window

International 14 Worlds

Printed From: Yachts and Yachting Online
Category: General
Forum Name: Racing Rules
Forum Discription: Discuss the rules and your interpretations here
URL: http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=467
Printed Date: 24 Jun 25 at 5:44pm
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com


Topic: International 14 Worlds
Posted By: Ralph T
Subject: International 14 Worlds
Date Posted: 20 Feb 05 at 10:58am

Anyone know what rule the Protest Committee used to give redress to the Ausies against Alistair & Ian?

Whilst no-one likes the use of 'Team/Match Racing' tactics in fleet racing, it does happen & obviously won Ben the Gold in Sydney.

The implications of this decision (even though it is only one event) could be extremely significant




Replies:
Posted By: Contender443
Date Posted: 20 Feb 05 at 11:16am

I would think this is different to what Ben did in Sydney - he used match racing tactics.

This looks like team racing tactics, this is not on in fleet racing. Getting a friend or friends to hamper another competitor is not sportman like. If this is what happened then they deserve what they get. After all this is what the rules say is it not.

On the other hand it must have been a very difficult thing to prove and I would not like to have been on the protest committee for that one. 



-------------
Bonnie Lass Contender 1764


Posted By: Phil eltringham
Date Posted: 20 Feb 05 at 12:30pm
I agree, the problem is that you will have to prove that it was a team effort, and given that there is no rule saying you have to sail at your fastest then it is quite easy for the aussies to say that it was one boat "doing a ben" (for want of a better term) just for themselves.  Iwould love to see the race and the transcripts from the protest, if nothing else to see what the official line was on the matter

-------------
FLAT IS FAST!
Shifts Happen


Posted By: Harry44981!
Date Posted: 20 Feb 05 at 1:07pm

The 'team racing' protest by aussies http://www.takapunaboating.org.nz/SMLogo/PROTEST.doc - http://www.takapunaboating.org.nz/SMLogo/PROTEST.doc

The redress http://www.takapunaboating.org.nz/SMLogo/PROTEST%20No%203.doc - http://www.takapunaboating.org.nz/SMLogo/PROTEST%20No%203.do c



Posted By: Ralph T
Date Posted: 20 Feb 05 at 1:34pm

Can't believe that anyone could disagree with the Protest Committee. Pretty obvious what was happeneing when Alistair 'sailed back' from 150 mtres ahead

Thought it might have been rule 2 & good to see that it is being implemented

Thanks for the info Harry



Posted By: Scooby_simon
Date Posted: 20 Feb 05 at 3:09pm

was the series 7 races, discard 2 ? (or discard 1)

If discard only one then does this not apply :

As AUS631 is discarding a 27, if they could be sailed down to 29th they would need to count it and then be down the pan ?

 

And if so was not GBR1516 valid in trying this (all-be-it too late as it was probably (rightly?) seen as an attempt to help GBR1513).

Any one know how many discards were available ?  

Sure I am missing something here ?



-------------
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..


Posted By: Phil eltringham
Date Posted: 20 Feb 05 at 3:12pm
By the looks of it i think the RMW boys could have been a bit more subtle about it.  Simply follow the aussies round the whole course slowing them a little at a time instead of doing it all in one hit at the end, where their influence could easilly be quantified.  Harder to do, but 'safer' from their point of view. 

-------------
FLAT IS FAST!
Shifts Happen


Posted By: Stefan Lloyd
Date Posted: 20 Feb 05 at 3:45pm

Originally posted by Scooby_simon

was the series 7 races, discard 2 ? (or discard 1)

Discard 1 by the look of it. The way I read it, that is implicit in the protest committee's report. Also the NOR http://www.takapunaboating.org.nz/SMLogo/Int%2014%20NoR.doc - http://www.takapunaboating.org.nz/SMLogo/Int%2014%20NoR.doc  doesn't say anything special about discard, and the default arrangement in RRS Appendix A is one discard. The SIs don't seem to be on the website.

Personally I think GBR1516 was lucky to avoid a rule 69 protest. 



Posted By: Ralph T
Date Posted: 20 Feb 05 at 4:23pm

If you have not read the links please do, the reports are so enlightening!

What price the RYA Charter when the pressures of performance to gain sponsorship and RYA funding require our top sailors to resort to such depths



Posted By: Stefan Lloyd
Date Posted: 20 Feb 05 at 4:55pm

Originally posted by Ralph T

What price the RYA Charter when the pressures of performance to gain sponsorship and RYA funding require our top sailors to resort to such depths

It does seem as though something like the "professional foul" has come to a major sailing event, and that if the need to show a return on their sponsor's money hadn't been involved,  the incident may not have happened.



Posted By: Scooby_simon
Date Posted: 20 Feb 05 at 8:01pm

So if only one discard, could it be seen that GBR1516 could have gone up the leader board if they had forced AUS631 bleow 28th ?

I have a feeling this one will run and run till we can get some first hand accounts......



-------------
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..


Posted By: Blobby
Date Posted: 21 Feb 05 at 12:14am

In which case are you saying they are guilty of nothing but failing to sail the aussies far enough down the fleet to be of benefit to themselves??

Either way it appears clear that they tried to operate as a team and the rules have been successfully applied to demonstrate that this behaviour is unacceptable.  End of Story.



Posted By: Stefan Lloyd
Date Posted: 21 Feb 05 at 8:29am

There is an interesting story on this on The Daily Sail with long quotes from both Barker and Bell, the chairman of the jury. Since it is a subscription site, I suppose I had better not quote verbatim. 

Bell says Barker needed to push Irwin/Perry down to 26th to benefit and would have needed to slow them by 8 minutes to do so. Their tactics slowed them by 3 minutes and there was no chance they could have slowed them by 8. Therefore it was team racing.

Barker says they pushed Irwin/Perry to the left hand of the course, which along with most of the fleet they expected to be non-favoured. As it turned out, it was the way to go. If the shift had not favoured the left hand side, they say they might have got them to 26th and gained 2nd place in the series for themselves.

I think Barker makes a more plausible case that is was not team racing than the protest report gives them credit for. However if team racing tactics became common in fleet racing, it would ruin the sport. Therefore I think that given that GBR1516's tactics were, at best, open to question, the jury did the right thing.

 



Posted By: Guest
Date Posted: 21 Feb 05 at 11:09am

There are two threads running on this see the other ...

http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=466&PN=1 - http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=4 66&PN=1

Perhaps we could get these threads merged ... moderator please ...



-------------


Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 21 Feb 05 at 12:45pm
Originally posted by Ralph T

Anyone know what rule the Protest Committee used to give redress to the Ausies against Alistair & Ian?



There was a rule 2 protest found against the covering boat. Rule 62.1 reads in part:-

62.1 A request for redress or a protest committee’s decision to consider redress shall be based on a claim or possibility that a boat’s score in a race or series has, through no fault of her own, been made significantly worse by [snip]
(d) a boat against which a penalty has been imposed under rule 2[snip]

Given the rule 2 finding the redress follows uncontroversially.


Posted By: Scooby_simon
Date Posted: 21 Feb 05 at 1:25pm

Bell says Barker needed to push Irwin/Perry down to 26th to benefit and would have needed to slow them by 8 minutes to do so. Their tactics slowed them by 3 minutes and there was no chance they could have slowed them by 8. Therefore it was team racing.

But by placing the (initial) claose cover they would be pressing for a mistake from Irwin/Perry, one capsize could have lost the extra 5 minutes. 

If they were tring to push them down the fleet FOR THEIR OWN ends, they sohuld have kept the vover on the whole way up the beat.  Thus making they (supposed) intions clear.  By breaking off once the other boat was ina  position to wind was at best silly, and at worst identified what thery were really trying to do.

I would actually like to keep these two threads seperate as (I hope) we are talking about the rules here, the other thread is starting to talk about the people and what happened. 

 

 

 



-------------
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..


Posted By: sargethesailor
Date Posted: 21 Feb 05 at 6:33pm

Copy of my post on the other thread.  I think the Rule 2 bit is highly significant - more on the facts found when I reaccess them.

Is it? They are a protest committee, not a court of law. Protest decisions are made on the balance of probabilities all the time. "Reasonable doubt" is a defence in law but not in front of a protest committee. It is only a sailboat race albeit, in this case, quite an important one. 

[/QUOTE]

However Rule 2 binds the PC/IJ somewhat more than the normal standard of proof with the phrase "A boat may only be penalized under this rule if it is clearly established that these principles have been violated".  When I read the facts found I see some fairly hefty jumps of logic, which have been previously discussed.  They do not,to me, add up to "clearly established".

I would suggest that there was an imperative to give redress in the interests of a "fair" result.  As already commented PCs/IJs write facts found to support their conclusions.  To do so required a Rule 2 DNE. 

One can not know the reaction of Steve Morrison at this remove, but in all honesty the result is probably fair - from what I read it seems the Aussies would have closed the gap enough to win.  If Ian Barker and Co genuinely did not team race then they can feel extremely aggrieved at what is a signifcant slur.  If they did then fair enough - but my own feeling is that the IJ's facts found don't sufficiently support their conclusion in the context of standards of proof for Rule 2, and the other issues which go with that for the protestee.



Posted By: Chris 249
Date Posted: 21 Feb 05 at 9:51pm
Re "They are a protest committee, not a court of law. Protest decisions are made on the balance of probabilities all the time. "Reasonable doubt" is a defence in law but not in front of a protest committee."

Umm, actually "reasonable doubt" is NOT a concept that is used in civil legal actions, which this is comparable to. The requirement to prove beyond reasonable doubt is for criminal matters.

The balance of probabilities is the test for all civil matters (with one or two minute exceptions where onus has been switched by legislation). So many, many cases, including contract cases and anti-competitive cases involving vast sums (like the Microsoft cases AFAIK), are decided on the balance of probabilities. Inferring motives from the evidence is  frequently a vital part of these cases. It's very well trodden ground.

Stefan says that the DS article makes Barker's case sound more reasonable than the jury's decision does (although there seem to be some major leaps of logic in Barker's case IMHO). Surely that's not surprising, nor should it be used as evidence that the jury may have been wrong - Barker is an interested party therefore he is (consciously or sub-consciously) trying to present his case in the best possible light.  The head of the jury is trying to sound neutral.

So we've heard from one side and we've heard from the umpire; we have not heard Irwin and Perry's side of the matter. No wonder such one-sided info sounds convincing!

However, the jury got to hear BOTH sides, and from a RC member and from a Brit coach, and they did not believe Barker. They are in a better position than we are in to judge the matter.

Scooby, for the past 50 years you've been able to get a 14 up in a minute or less. Hell, even an 18 can come up in a minute or less.


Posted By: Stefan Lloyd
Date Posted: 22 Feb 05 at 9:45am

Originally posted by Chris 249

   The head of the jury is trying to sound neutral.

Depends on what you mean by neutral. The IJ has made a controversial decision and Bell (chair) now has to stand by and justify that decision. Therefore the evidence he brings forward is the evidence that supports him. The protest document contains very little of what Barker said on the TheDailySail to justify himself. Maybe he didn't say those things during the protest - we don't know.

Thinking about this decision some more, what makes it really unusual as a protest case is that it is all about GBR1516's motivation rather than their behaviour. Normally a protest case is about....this was the geometry of the boats on the water (facts found) and here are the rules that apply. This case is about GBR1516's motivation. They could do exactly the same thing, and depending on why they did it, rule 2 was or was not broken. I don't think protest committees or IJs were really designed to make that kind of decision.

I think the balance of probabilities is that GBR1516 were team racing but I don't see the evidence as conclusive. Barker makes case that had the wind not shifted to favour the left, he may have been able to drive the AUS boat down to 28th. Can the IJ really be sure that he couldn't have. A very good point has been made on the other thread that the evidence standards for a rule 2 violation are higher than for other rules.  "A boat may only be penalized under this rule if it is clearly established (my italics) that these principles have been violated". 

So did the IJ clearly establish that if the wind had not shifted to favour the left, GBR1516 would still have had no chance to drive the AUS boat down to 28th. I'm not certain they did. The protest findings don't really address the question: they look at the finishing timings with the wind shift as it happened. Almost nobody expected the shift. The fleet went right and GBR1516 drove the AUS boat left precisely because it was expected not to be favoured.

The IJ had a very difficult case and I don't envy them. But the more I think about it, the less convinced I am they made the right decision. If the bigger picture, though, is the need to ensure that team tactics stay out of fleet racing, maybe they did the right thing. Tough for the two GBR boats though.

 

 



Posted By: Chris 249
Date Posted: 22 Feb 05 at 1:59pm
Stefan, I meant Bell was trying not to sound biased; of course you are right, he was also defending the decision in the course of explaining it. You are also right on the requirements for something to be "clearly established", but as you imply, the jury felt it was established and as you said, they seem to have made the right decision.

As you said "The protest document contains very little of what Barker said on the TheDailySail to justify himself", but the document also contains very little of what 631 said, AND 631 didn't get quoted on the Daily Sail. That 631 were not (apparently) interviewed by DS is itself not great journalism in a controversial case (unless they declined to comment which is normally noted).

Some people have said that 1516 drove 631 out to the side that turned out to  be favoured, but the PC ruling said ""On the final leg of race 7 AUS 631 went to the port side of the course." BEFORE 1516 turned back, and I think the DS report said so too.It's only a minor point, but 1516 didn't drive 631 out to the side of the course that turned out to be favoured....631 had already gone out there (possibly knowing the tide was turning, as it was in fact) that underlines that without the hindrance, 631 would almost certainly have made up to few places they needed. Some people have said or implied that it was only 1516's interference that piushed 631 out to the correct side.

I've done a bit of teams racing fairly succesfully and including sailing against the team that was 3rd in the team racing worlds. AFAIK it would be hard to drive  someone back through the fleet to boats that are 8 m behind, and most sailors would have looked back to see how far the high 20s...about a mile or so in this case.



Posted By: Scooby_simon
Date Posted: 22 Feb 05 at 2:09pm

Scooby, for the past 50 years you've been able to get a 14 up in a minute or less. Hell, even an 18 can come up in a minute or less.

Yup, but if you are trying to forve them down the fleet.  I minute to get the boat back up.  how long to sort out and then start sailing again.  All with another boat waiting for you to get sorted out so they can continue the fight...



-------------
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..


Posted By: Stefan Lloyd
Date Posted: 22 Feb 05 at 2:49pm

Originally posted by Chris 249

Some people have said that 1516 drove 631 out to the side that turned out to  be favoured, but the PC ruling said ""On the final leg of race 7 AUS 631 went to the port side of the course." BEFORE 1516 turned back, and I think the DS report said so too.

In the DS report Barker does say they deliberately drove AUS 631 left. Unfortunately I don't think I ought to quote verbatim here from a subscription site. I agree the DS report isn't particularly satisfactory but it is the only place I've seen when Barker gets his say. 



Posted By: Scooby_simon
Date Posted: 22 Feb 05 at 3:30pm
I have now read the DS report and (not wishing to quote) but Barker says that the boat in front was 100m away and so they felt they would not catch them (and so improve their placing in that way), so the only option was to go and attack the boat behind to improve their position.
 
Now just consider this :
 
Last race.
 
1, One boat in front of you who you have to catch and pass to improve your chances in a regatta. 
2, One boat behind you that if you push back even more can improve your position
 
Which boat do you attack ?
 
1, you have to catch, do you have a boat speed advantage ? (probaly not), have you tactical options (limited, last beat and about 100m in front, enough distance ahead for a close cover from above to make it difficult to catch up)
 
2, Boat behind you can go back to and guarantee you can do something. 
 
 
I would take option 2.
 
(Bell chair of the PC) says that if they had started their actions ealier the (PC) may have made a different judgment, however, it is also stated that GBR had to decide if they could catch the boat in front or not, they decided sometime up the last beat that they would not catch the boat infront and so went back to attack AUS.  It sounds to me like the IJ/PC ended up using a bit of 20/20 hindsite. 
 
Also, others have made comments about the facts found being more about the state of mind / perceptions of actions.  IMO this is an invalid statement within the facts found, this is an opinion.  Fact found should only contain facts. 
 
going back to my comments above re slowing them down.
 
I think somewere above says that there was approx 9 minutes of the race left to run.  The AUS boat was slowed by 3 minutes in 9.   Add a capsize or 2, a collision/foul and a couple of turns and surely you can find another 5 minutes.  How long did Ben slow Robert at the olly's trying to do ONE tack.....
 
Now people may think I am taking the GBR side, but I am not, I find this part of sailing very interesting as we do so little of it sailing cats.
 
The more I read about this the more I think Barker has been badly done by.
 


-------------
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..


Posted By: Chris 249
Date Posted: 23 Feb 05 at 12:44pm
"I have now read the DS report and (not wishing to quote) but Barker says that the boat in front was 100m away and so they felt they would not catch them (and so improve their placing in that way), so the only option was to go and attack the boat behind to improve their position."

But is that right? I thought that even after slowing down Irwin etc, they still ended up gaining on the fleet. So they had other options to perform well.
 
Re "Now just consider this :
Last race.
1, One boat in front of you who you have to catch and pass to improve your chances in a regatta. 
2, One boat behind you that if you push back even more can improve your position
Which boat do you attack ?
1, you have to catch, do you have a boat speed advantage ? (probaly not), have you tactical options (limited, last beat and about 100m in front, enough distance ahead for a close cover from above to make it difficult to catch up)"

For a start, Simon, your facts are wrong. According to DS and the jury Barker did NOT have to catch one boat...he merely had to stop it improving from 12th to 9th.

So he had options. You can go left (tide is changing and will help that side), get past them and slam on them; that puts them one boat further back for a start even before you drive them back.

If they don't cover you to the left, you may well pass them (perhaps they may have done so here if they hadn''t spent their time slowing Irwin). If they DO cover you, great. Time your tacks so that if they cover you, they  have to tack in someone else's bad wind. Time your tacks so that they have to tack when they are in lulls. Remember their skipper has already been in hospital this regatta and if you tack and tack and tack, you may exhaust him. Because you are not trying to get past....you're just trying to slow him down so he does not gain 3 places.

And are you saying that you CANNOT get past a boat 100 yards ahead? Of course you can, it's done all the time in match racing and that's when the boat ahead has fewer obstacles. I know Laser champs who have lost races when the guy 100m  behind (who went on to win the Soling match racing worlds) got them to tack at the wrong time when they close covered. Hell, I think the technique is  detailed in Elvstrom, and Connor. There are plenty of examples of boats 100 yards ahead being caught up the last beat - much less people who have helped reduce the chances of a boat gaining 3 places.
 
Re "2, Boat behind you can go back to and guarantee you can do something."

Something, yes...guarantees no, sometimes a good sailor in fast boats can sneak out of cover quickly. And if they don;t get out, can you sail them back 8m or so, so boats about a mile back up the course catch up in 9m of sailing? Can you tell me of another time when a boat has slowed another down to that extent? I've suffered the attentions of the world's 3rd best match racing team almost all to myself (I was the only reasonable boat in a scratch team) and they did not slow me down that much, and I'm nowhere near as good as Irwin and Perry.

"T
hey decided sometime up the last beat that they would not catch the boat infront and so went back to attack AUS.  It sounds to me like the IJ/PC ended up using a bit of 20/20 hindsite."

Soooo...what you're saying is that the Poms did NOT decide up the last beat that they could not catch the boat in front, so they went back. But isn't that exactly what Barker said they actually did do, in the Daily Sail?

In the DS interview, Barker AGREES that "s
ometime up the last beat that they would not catch the boat infront and so went back to attack AUS. ". That's what HE said he did.....but when the jury say the same thing, you say they are using hindsight. Is that logical?

Have you seen the transcripts from the protest? How do you know that Barker didn't tell the committee that's what happened? He told Daily Sail that's what happened!

" IMO this is an invalid statement within the facts found, this is an opinion.  Fact found should only contain facts. "

Well, in that case  tell ISAF, the juries, the rulemakers, everyone else that they are wrong. And don't protest anyone on port/starboard. The state of mind of the port tacker is, under the current rules, a vital matter in such cases. Don't try to protest the guy who rams someone at full speed before the prep gun and sinks them when all the sunken boat needed was to finish....maybe the sinkee really did just make a mistake. ...Don't disqualify the Formula 40 skipper (Grundfos Pumps was the boat IIRC) who rammed a competitor and then hopped into his rubber ducky and used it to ram the competitor after the race....hey, maybe he was going over to congratulate them in the first instance and going over to apologise in the second, and he got it wrong both times. It sounds highly unlikely, but if you cannot look at his state of mind then you shouldn't penalise him.

Even in murder trials (as in basically all criminal matters) state of mind is vital.

Re "I think somewere above says that there was approx 9 minutes of the race left to run.  The AUS boat was slowed by 3 minutes in 9.   Add a capsize or 2, a collision/foul and a couple of turns and surely you can find another 5 minutes.  How long did Ben slow Robert at the olly's trying to do ONE tack....."

I was watching Ben and Robert, live. I've raced against them and been coverd by Blackburn who was 3rd in that event so is no slouch....Ben didn't slow Robert down anywhere NEAR 9 minutes IIRC and it was over much, much more than one tack. He took the entire beat. It was great sailing, no-one ever hassled Ben, none of us watching (I was in a group including a 2 time Olympian and the dad of another competitor) ever had anything bad to say about Ben - because it was obvious that he was only doing what he did to help HIMSELF.

What you say about capsizing does not sound correct to me, there is very little clearing up and recovery to be done in such a situation. And how stooppid do you think these world-class 14ers are? They are not going to capsize one or two times and foul someone in such a situation. And as far as "cleaning up"...see this description from the 14's history....
During the Trials to determine the best combination of buoyancy and automatic bailing, Golden Spray (658) was fitted with two experimental transom scuppers of about 7sq.in. With full permitted buoyancy and two suction bailers, the boat could be capsized, pulled upright, and planing again in a little over a minute — the Committee of that time thought this was a little bit too swift, but today 14's are completely self draining, draining while planing has reached its logical conclusion.

That was capsizing and "planing again in a little over a minute" and it was in 1955. Look at the 14s and see how much they've improved and changed in that 50 years, and then try to say it would normally take twice as long to recover.

Maybe we should just change the rules....to something like this.

1) Follow the rules and abide by the jury decision and show good sportsmanship in doing so.

2) If the jury disqualifies a British boat, rule 1 does not apply.

Hell, the bias in this matter is obvious; not in NZ, but in Y & Y where the creator of the first thread called the result a 'stitch up" before many facts were
in. The absence of many facts didn't prevent minds being made up.

The reaction to the jury's decision is about as unsporting as.......as Shane Warne's antics, and you can't get much lower than that.

Stefan, re "In the DS report Barker does say they deliberately drove AUS 631 left."

OK, on the one hand we have a competitor, on the other hand a jury. Why is a competitor's explanation of why he should not have been disqualified thought to be more trustworthy than the jury's report??

" I agree the DS report isn't particularly satisfactory but it is the only place I've seen when Barker gets his say."

Barker got his say in the protest room. So did any witnesses he wanted, and other witnesses. The jury found against him.

Irwin and Perry have had NO place to be seen to have their say, outside of the protest room.

How can you balance Barker's case against Irwins, when you have not heard Irwin's??

We've only heard a one-sided story from Barker - why should it get more credence than the decision of those who have heard both sides (the jury)? Why should it get more credence than the (so far untold) story of Irwin?

One story has been found believable, the other has not. Why not go with the one that has been believed by an impartial body?








Posted By: Scooby_simon
Date Posted: 23 Feb 05 at 1:20pm

I was trying not to get personal.  I belive there may have been foul play.  I wanted to discuss the rules.  You are having a go at me for exploring what had happend and why it may have happened.  I have not posted on the other thread becasue I want to talk about the rules.  Most of what you say above has already been discussed before. 

When I was talking about the time, I was hoping to indicate that it may have been possible to delay AUS by enough time.  THe fact that the wind shifted and so improved their positions was mentionned, this may have influenced people (hence my comments about 20/20 hindsite).

All I was trying to say is that it could be possible that Barker was not team racing.  I did not say I disagreed with the decision, I did not say AUS should not have won. 

So are you suggesting that all competitors in a regatta MUST eat alone, not talk to anyone else, or share sponsors for the whole championship so thay cannot be accused of cheating - I hope not.

I want to talk about the rules.

Returning to the rules.

Do people think (as the chair of the PC said) that if barker had attacked at the last mark or even ealier the decision would have been different ?

 

 



-------------
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..


Posted By: Stefan Lloyd
Date Posted: 23 Feb 05 at 1:24pm
Originally posted by Chris 249

Have you seen the transcripts from the protest? How do you know that Barker didn't tell the committee that's what happened? He told Daily Sail that's what happened!
 
If Barker had anything to say in his defence, it is missing from the IJ's report. None of us were in the protest room but the IJ's report appears to me to show only the evidence the IJ believed backed up the conclusion they came to. Their findings might have been less open to question had they dealt with Barker's defence as stated to the DS. Possibly he didn't make that defence in the protest but for such an experienced competitor, that seem unlikely.
 
I think reading both threads here, your attempt to tar those questioning the IJ's decision as motivated by nationalistic considerations is misplaced. There seems to me to have been almost no playing of the jingoistic card. Speaking personally, I couldn't care less what nationality the sailors or the jurors have. I'm interested in the decision and the process, that is all.
 
Courts run by professional judges frequently make mistakes. The idea that because an IJ comes to a decision, that makes it unquestionably correct, seems more than a little naive to me. I wouldn't want a witch hunt against the IJ and there hasn't been one here, but scrutiny of their decision seems entirely fair. Generally, the members of an IJ have their expenses paid (at least) to spend a regatta in some pleasant spot, with nothing to do most of the day. When I helped run a class association we were asked to pay for an IJ for a championship and I have some idea of the financial arrangements. It is not a bad life being an IJ juror (and good luck to them - they have put in plenty of unpaid hours in the past to get there). However they are not simply volunteers and there is no reason why their decisions should not be subject to polite questioning.
 


Posted By: Scooby_simon
Date Posted: 23 Feb 05 at 3:10pm

I think reading both threads here, your attempt to tar those questioning the IJ's decision as motivated by nationalistic considerations is misplaced. There seems to me to have been almost no playing of the jingoistic card. Speaking personally, I couldn't care less what nationality the sailors or the jurors have. I'm interested in the decision and the process, that is all.

This is what I was trying to say.  Stefan has put it much better.

 



-------------
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..


Posted By: Contender443
Date Posted: 24 Feb 05 at 4:31pm
I see Paul Brotherton has joined this forum - any comments on this Paul as you were one of the witnesses to this?

-------------
Bonnie Lass Contender 1764


Posted By: Guest
Date Posted: 24 Feb 05 at 6:32pm
Originally posted by Chris 249

Hell, the bias in this matter is obvious; not in NZ, but in Y & Y where the creator of the first thread called the result a 'stitch up" before many facts were in. The absence of many facts didn't prevent minds being made up.

 
I started this thread to create debate, my first posting dosn't say who I think was stiched up, it could have been the Aus boat. I was looking to start debate and it seems to have worked!!!
 
I had read both the protest docs on the NZ site and the statement by Barker - I am aware of no new media reports since that point so I was as fully informed as I could have been. But hey I wasn't sailing so what do I know. As I said - the only ones who will ever know the truth is Barker and Richardson.
 
That said I think the calling into the mix facts like sponsorship deals and dinners is not relevant to the issue unless you think it's pre-arranged tactics in which case it should have been a rule 69 job.
 
Either the IJ thought they were cheating or not, if the answer was yes then they should have thrown the book at them.
 
Seems the IJ gave the event to the Aus boat as that looked the "fairest" result with least agro - then bottled it.
 
If they thought this was team orders/collusion what ever you want to call it then they should have seen the whole thing through.
 
That said I think they got it wrong and that Morrison was robbed.
 
What about when Percy lost Silver at the Star worlds because he was sailed down by Loof - Loof really nailed him more than necessary to win the worlds so was Loof team racing in favour of the eventual silver winner (Rohart I think)?
 
This decision has big issues as I assume IJ calls establish cases.
 
regards,
 
Rick


-------------


Posted By: Scooby_simon
Date Posted: 24 Feb 05 at 8:35pm

This decision has big issues as I assume IJ calls establish cases.

Yup, that is why I am interested in this debate.



-------------
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..


Posted By: Kiwi Spy
Date Posted: 25 Feb 05 at 2:28am
Originally posted by Scooby_simon

This decision has big issues as I assume IJ calls establish cases.

Yup, that is why I am interested in this debate.



If you want to understand the applicaion of RRS 2 in this situation you need to look at Case 78 which says in effect that any covering tactic must be to the benefit of the covering boats series score.

Case 78 gives a situation where a boat (A) had to beat (B) by three places in the final race in order for A to beat B in the final score. In the instance cited, A achieves her goal and is stated not to have infringed RRS 2, provided she also satisfied a number of other tests set out in the summary - must be on the same leg and lap of the course; and that she does not intentionally break a rule.

What if A fails and only sails B down 2 places instead of 3 - does she infringe RRS2? No

What if A has to sail B down 15 places in the fleet  but only achieves 5. Does A infringe RRS2? Probably - but you would think that B would only protest/claim redress if her (B's) position in the series score was worsened.

Looking at it another way, there seems to be a sliding scale  of transgression which starts  at one side with  A sailing the competitor B down the requisite number of places, or more, and satisfies  the tests (implied and stated) in case 78.

At the other end of the scale you have a situation where A's tactics and objectives were clearly impossible to achieve from the outset, were wildly ambitious during the course of the race but were pursued nevertheless causing boat B to drop several places in her overall score, and A's series score did not improve? Is that Fair Sailing?

Look at the situation if A adopts the tactics but infringes a part of Section 2 of the RRS . In that situation  B can protest, win her case and then apply for Redress. What Case 78 does is to say that there are circumstances under which even though there is no contact or Part 2 rules are not infringed, then A still has some obligations to B, an that A does not have an unfettered right of attack against B.

In the end RRS2 is a shield in the hands of B against attack by A, not a sword.

Case 34 also has some relevance in that it recognises that an illegally covered boat B  has some rights of redress if  in making that cover  A has infringed RRS2.

There are really no black and whites in this situation merely varying shades of gray. However sailors need to recognise that if they try to "take out" a competitor then they need to have sound reasons for doing so - in terms of improving their overall score and that if they do not/fail then they may be liable to protest, if upheld they may be disqualified (DNE) for an infringement of RRS2, and their competitor may get redress as a result.

A case of look before you leap, I think.

KS


Posted By: Ralph T
Date Posted: 25 Feb 05 at 10:14am

Thanks KS

This is EXACTLY what I was looking for when I posted my original question.

Reading the speculation as to what did/may/should have happened has been entertaining but perhaps it should now continue on the other thread.



Posted By: Scooby_simon
Date Posted: 25 Feb 05 at 10:18am
Originally posted by Ralph T

Reading the speculation as to what did/may/should have happened has been entertaining but perhaps it should now continue on the other thread.

Yes please

I will read this in detail later



-------------
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..


Posted By: Chris 249
Date Posted: 26 Feb 05 at 12:06pm

Stefan, re 
"Courts run by professional judges frequently make mistakes. The idea that because an IJ comes to a decision, that makes it unquestionably correct, seems more than a little naive to me."

I'm all too aware that the courts often make the wrong decision; I'm not naive, it's my profession and I think they stuff it up all too often.

However, I also know that press reports of court decisions very, very, very rarely contain all the correct information and therefore second-guessing decisions based on a very brief jury statement and press reports and  (which in this case have only included info from one side to the protest) is not a good game. We do NOT have all the info that went to the jury, we have NOT heard from one side in the press, so IMHO we don't have the necessary information to analyse, dissect and attack the reasoning of the jury as to the facts.

When we want to attack a court's decision, it is normally done with full study of all relevant precedents; if we want to attack their findings as to evidence it normally demands at least a full study of all transcripts, statements, documents etc. Without that (which we don't have here) we're second-guessing without full  evidence. It's one thing to attack a decision when we have the evidence, it's another to attack a decision when we have less evidence than the jury did.

Re Jingoism -

I think the British have the best dinghy sailors around (I've said so in Y & Y forums) and one of the best dinghy scenes and many/most of the British sailors I;ve met are great guys. But surely, a British sailor must look inwards for unconscious bias when examining a question like this - just as an Aussie, a Kiwi, a Frenchman, an American must do.

The first post in these threads was from Rick, who says "I started this thread to create debate, my first posting dosn't say who I think was stiched up, it could have been the Aus boat."

But that post called the decision "funny". We can safely assume it didn't mean it was "funny ha ha"; no-one was laughing; which in normal vernacular leaves only "funny/peculiar", implying that it was incorrect.
 
Rick's second post call the decision "well fishy" and 'convenient for the Aussies" and assumed they had "followed" Barker (when it later transpired that was not the case).

This, and other examples of the widespread desire to attack the decision with the insufficient info available,  lead me to think that there was some bias underlying some posts; just as we all would have perceived bias in posts of Australian sailors if Irwin/Perry had lost the protest. There's plenty of research to indicate that humans have a very biased view towards their "team".

Maybe; perhaps probably; I came to the decision that nationalism was involved without knowing all the facts. But that seems fitting in a way; in this case none of us know all the facts but that hasn''t stopped lots of criticism of the jury.....



Posted By: Stefan Lloyd
Date Posted: 26 Feb 05 at 3:48pm

The two GBR boats are not "my team". I've never met the guys, it is unlikely I ever will, and their being British is of zero interest to me. We are not talking an Olympic "Team GBR" here. With a couple of exceptions, I think this discussion has been extremely balanced and I think you are being hyper-sensitive to conclude otherwise.

I'm sure we'd all like to know exactly what happened in the protest room. I find it hard to believe the report we have says it all. So yes it would be nice to have more information to inform this discussion, but we are not going to get it. Your argument seems to be that we should therefore not discuss it. I don't agree. It was, by any standards, a very significant decision for sailing, and it is a legitimate topic for discussion. It is unfortunate that the IJ did not foresee that and make their protest findings document a little more comprehensive.

I don't see the discussion here as an attack on the IJ. It is discussion and questioning. That is not the same thing. It was clearly a difficult case to decide.

 

 



Posted By: Guest
Date Posted: 26 Feb 05 at 7:51pm

CHris,

We are all entitled to our opinions and unlike many I put my name to mine. This forum is here to share views - just because we don't have all the facts dosn't mean we can discuss what is in the open. The IJ didn't have all the facts either just what they established. The only ones who really know the truth ar the sailors.

I think this decsion was wrong and that's not because it resulted in a Aussie boat winning but in that it drew conclusions with the benefit of hindsight and implied pre arranged cheating and I don't believe that happened knowing some of the people involved.

Yes we all no doubt have national bias but based on what I have seen I think this is "fishy" and was a nice "get out of jail" option for the winners. Of all the postings (including the ones that were only on the forum for a short time before they were removed for foul language) I would say that most national bias has been demonstrated by people from the southern hemi-sphere but hey - I am biased of course - as are you ...

Also, if you knew me you'd also know that I enjoy a good argument and often take to baiting people to get the ball rolling - it seems to have worked ...

regards

Rick

 



-------------


Posted By: sargethesailor
Date Posted: 27 Feb 05 at 12:51pm

I justy hope ISAF don't ake this for Case Law.  Cases 78 and 34 established B's rights to be sailed back fairly - and A's responsibility to act only in accordance with rules of part 2 and on the same lap and leg.  34 creates special circumstances where B could get redress without there having been damage.  Case Law derived from this decision would have a very different effect.

What if A has to sail B down 15 places in the fleet  but only achieves 5. Does A infringe RRS2? Probably - but you would think that B would only protest/claim redress if her (B's) position in the series score was worsened.

My view is probably not - as long as the conditions are fulfilled - Surely A only has to think he can do it - because as is pointed out B has no need to alledge the infringement of RRS2 unless A has achieved his aim and therefore there can be no offence! 

At the other end of the scale you have a situation where A's tactics and objectives were clearly impossible to achieve from the outset, were wildly ambitious during the course of the race but were pursued nevertheless causing boat B to drop several places in her overall score, and A's series score did not improve? Is that Fair Sailing?

Yes but thi requires a fairly bizarra set of circumstances!

In the end RRS2 is a shield in the hands of B against attack by A, not a sword.

Agreed

There are really no black and whites in this situation merely varying shades of gray. However sailors need to recognise that if they try to "take out" a competitor then they need to have sound reasons for doing so - in terms of improving their overall score and that if they do not/fail then they may be liable to protest, if upheld they may be disqualified (DNE) for an infringement of RRS2, and their competitor may get redress as a result.

I think that this decision does not introduce grey into the normal boat on boat sail back.  But it has serious implications if there is the chance of another competitor benefitting - as here.  In such a situation (and someone has cited Loof v Percy in Stars  when Percy lost Silver he was sailed back so far) a competitor would have to be very wary of adopting sailback tactics, the right to which are enshrined in the rules - and which I believe should remain so - when putting themselves in jeopardy of a "team-racing RRS2 protest.



Posted By: sargethesailor
Date Posted: 27 Feb 05 at 12:55pm

On the subject of rule 69 surely there could be no action due to a lack of evidence with a high enough standard of proof:

It would need something like a witness saying:
"I saw them counting boats that had finished - afetr a short discussion hey tacked and broke the cover at teh finish thay sailed across to their team mate and said - got him for you mate!"

Clearly unlikely - but surely closer to the conclusive evidence required of RRS 2 - and the even higher standards of proof for 69.

 



Posted By: Kiwi Spy
Date Posted: 27 Feb 05 at 8:15pm
Originally posted by sargethesailor

I justy hope ISAF don't ake this for Case Law.  Cases 78 and 34 established B's rights to be sailed back fairly - and A's responsibility to act only in accordance with rules of part 2 and on the same lap and leg.  34 creates special circumstances where B could get redress without there having been damage.  Case Law derived from this decision would have a very different effect.

The case law as it stands is fine. The point is that A can only sail back B "provided it is intended to improve her (A's) series score". Once that situation ceases to exist then by implication from Case 78 the holding back tactics must cease, or A becomes liable to successful protest by B.



What if A has to sail B down 15 places in the fleet  but only achieves 5. Does A infringe RRS2? Probably - but you would think that B would only protest/claim redress if her (B's) position in the series score was worsened.

My view is probably not - as long as the conditions are fulfilled - Surely A only has to think he can do it - because as is pointed out B has no need to alledge the infringement of RRS2 unless A has achieved his aim and therefore there can be no offence! 

Again you need to look at the Case 78, the point is that B has some rights in this regard as well as A, and the trigger point for the transition of these rights are defined in Case 78.

But it has serious implications if there is the chance of another competitor benefitting - as here.  In such a situation (and someone has cited Loof v Percy in Stars  when Percy lost Silver he was sailed back so far) a competitor would have to be very wary of adopting sailback tactics, the right to which are enshrined in the rules - and which I believe should remain so - when putting themselves in jeopardy of a "team-racing RRS2 protest.

I agree a competitor has to be very careful about adopting a sail back tactic, and must be certain of their situation on the poinscore and must desist at the point were the tactic is no longer benefitting her points score. While she might complain that she is the victim of hindsight judgement, the other boat only has to come in and say that they were perfectly aware of the points situation and hailed protest at the time. Don't forget the infringed competitor has to go through the correct procedure on the water - this is not a situation they can get into on the beach and then decide to have a crack (unless they have an exceptional reason as to why they could not comply with RRS61.1.)

Which Star regatta are you refering to on Loof vs Percy?

KS



Posted By: sargethesailor
Date Posted: 27 Feb 05 at 9:20pm

Think it was a Worlds but not sure - someone else mentioned on the other thread that Percy had been sailed out of second when Loof took him further back than required to improve his own score.  There was no allegation of team-racing but the reading of case 78 above implies that there might have been a case to answer nevertheless!

My point is that only A actually knows whether it is intended to improve A's score - or someone elses, when circumstances are as they are in the Barker case.  So if this IJ decision was taken as case law we would have a game change if A's actions could also improve C's positions.  Effectively the tactic would be v high risk if more than one boat's position could be improved and especially if any connection between A and C could be construed or implied, whether supported by evidence of dinners to discuss tactics or not.

Also interesting - surely A should have the right to put some extra places in the bag?  Especially as nothing is ever certain on a last beat.

But we are in agreement here - the current case law is fine.  What we may or may not disagree over is the use it has been put to by this IJ who effectively made a decision based on circumstantial evidence and a subjective assessmant of the situation made with hindsight to say that Barker and Co, the boat A in this situation, were not attempting to improve their own position , and were not in a position to do so.

I also find it interesting because I have been in the boat A situation with a great deal to achieve in a sailback situation if I wanted to take second in a Nats.  I gave it my best shot and failed by 3 places - had another boat benefitted from my actions I could presumably have been protested if this IJ's decision is used as a guide.  But had I been successful I would by performance have proved my case.  That is no way for the case law to lead us.

 



Posted By: Kiwi Spy
Date Posted: 28 Feb 05 at 2:53am

Think it was a Worlds but not sure - someone else mentioned on the other thread that Percy had been sailed out of second when Loof took him further back than required to improve his own score.  There was no allegation of team-racing but the reading of case 78 above implies that there might have been a case to answer nevertheless!

I looked at both the Olympics and 2005 Worlds - there was no mention of it in the Y&Y report on the Olympics - which included an interview with Percy, where he blames his performance in the last race on poor cimmunication between him and his crew. He won the last two races in the Star worlds - so can't really blame another boat for that!

My point is that only A actually knows whether it is intended to improve A's score - or someone elses, when circumstances are as they are in the Barker case.  So if this IJ decision was taken as case law we would have a game change if A's actions could also improve C's positions.  Effectively the tactic would be v high risk if more than one boat's position could be improved and especially if any connection between A and C could be construed or implied, whether supported by evidence of dinners to discuss tactics or not.

While Case 78 does talk about "intent" ("provided that this tactic is intended to benefit her own series result") it follows that this "intention" must have some rational basis, and that once there is  no rational basis for continuing the  tactic (ie that  the boats have reached such a position in the race that A's series result cannot be benefited) then  A becomes increasingly at risk of a protest from  B  - and then it becomes a  matter for the Jury or Protest Committee to decide. If this were not the case, then A could come into the protest room with any old story about her tactics, saying this was her intent and the PC/Jury have to accept this because it was her intent, and that is all that is required. However if this is the case then ISAF should be amending the rules and cases so that it is clear that it is permissible to take out a boat within a fleet race, and leave everyone to do what they will. Imagine the outcry in the last race of the Olympics when a boat with a good shot at a gold medal got sailed off the course by some back marker, just for the hell of it. If you think this is OK then you need to look at Case 34 (the old Silvestri case) where it says in the summary that "hindering another boat may be a breach of RRS2".

Also interesting - surely A should have the right to put some extra places in the bag?  Especially as nothing is ever certain on a last beat.

But we are in agreement here - the current case law is fine.  What we may or may not disagree over is the use it has been put to by this IJ who effectively made a decision based on circumstantial evidence and a subjective assessmant of the situation made with hindsight to say that Barker and Co, the boat A in this situation, were not attempting to improve their own position , and were not in a position to do so.

Unfortunately PC's and Juries sometimes have to make decisions based on wildly differing evidence. All they can do in this situation is deduce the facts on the balance of probabilities and then make a decison based on the application of the rules to that situation - which maybe to dismiss or disqualify.

If one party thinks the Jury has got wrong - even an International "no appeals" Jury they have the right within a certain time-frame to request a re-opening. So there is some protection against a "wrong decision".  I think you'll find that in instances where the Jury has made a mistake, they will be only too ready to amend their original decision and correct the situation, if that is the appropriate action, and there is new evidence.

I also find it interesting because I have been in the boat A situation with a great deal to achieve in a sailback situation if I wanted to take second in a Nats.  I gave it my best shot and failed by 3 places - had another boat benefitted from my actions I could presumably have been protested if this IJ's decision is used as a guide.  But had I been successful I would by performance have proved my case.  That is no way for the case law to lead us.

It would depend on when you started your tactics and other factors, but when you start the sail-back, you are always at risk of a protest if you get beyond the point of no return - when your tactic was clearly futile but you continued and disadvantaged the other boat in terms of  its series score.

We have all seen match races for fleet championships - but these normally start at the beginning of the race, between the top two boats, which will generally be close to the back of the fleet at the first mark and then start racing through to catch up as many boats as possible and at the same time get as many boats as possible between them and their opponent.

 

KS



Posted By: Guest
Date Posted: 28 Feb 05 at 1:58pm

It was me who posted about Percy.

It was the Star worlds in 2003 - Loof nailed Percy who was pretty unhappy at the situation as Loof "overdid it" but he took it on the chin.

Loof only needed to sail Percy to 8th but in the end they finished 27th & 28th which was pretty hard as it let through another boat into silver.

Here is a quote;

“We are a bit disappointed as we didn’t think Freddie [Loof] needed to do as much damage as he did, we both went from first and second to 31st and 32nd.

See

http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/default2.asp?section=11&article=12826 - http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/default2.asp?section=11& ;article=12826

Seems to me the situation is very similar.

Rick



-------------


Posted By: Contender443
Date Posted: 28 Feb 05 at 9:31pm
Originally posted by Guest#260

Seems to me the situation is very similar.

Sorry Rick but I have to disagree. This situation is clearly a one on one, more of a match race. This is acceptable to most sailors

The incident at the I14 Worlds is more about team racing in a fleet race which is not acceptable.



-------------
Bonnie Lass Contender 1764


Posted By: Kiwi Spy
Date Posted: 28 Feb 05 at 9:37pm
There are some similarities in the two boats relative points scores (2004 Star Worlds vs 2005 I-14 Worlds). Loof had a low discard before the final race, Percy had a high discard.

But there are some significant differences in that all Loof had to do was sail him down to 8th or worse to win. In the 1-14's  it was more severe  - at least 27th  to 34th. Loof started on the first leg, the I-14's didn't start until half way up the last. Loof actually got Percy back to 50th and when they broke off thjen the rapid recovery started. Between both boats (Stars and I-14's)  there was only one place difference at the finish which says that if you are going to do the sail down then it is not that realistic to say that you are going to get XX down to 35th place and then finish 15th yourself. In both cases, the reality is that once the tactic is ceased then both boats will recover very rapidly and you can't really get any meat into the sandwich to built the points differential you require. Your best hope is to sail a competitor down to a place worse than his discard and hold him there, taking your foot off his throat and saying that "I'll leave him where he is and jump 10 places myself" seems to be rather fanciful.

Percy could have protested, but didn't. Loof was in second place before the final race and won the gold medal - arguably through this tactic. Certainly his intent was clear and achievable and successful.

There was also a similar situation at the 2002 Int Contender Worlds in Melbourne when Brett (AUS) was in third place overall behind Bonezzi (ITA) going into the last race. The two match raced from the outset, were dead last and second to last around the first mark and then recovered to finish 39th and 36th respectively.  (Again there was no meat in the sandwich once the tactic ceased), however it was successful from Bretts viewpoint in that he won the worlds and Bonezzi finished 3rd. Looking at the similarities again Bonezzi had a 10th as a worst place at Race 6, Brett had a 3rd. So Brett could finish anywhere in the fleet but had to get Bonezzi past 10th - which in a 64 boat fleet and attacking from the start was not that big an ask.

KS


Posted By: sargethesailor
Date Posted: 28 Feb 05 at 10:53pm

Kiwi Spy I have to disagree having been both boat A and boat B in this situation - it is not at all easy to get back!

But in both the Loof and I14 situation both boats were racing against a discard - not looking to achieve a result.

I do not believe Percy could have protested - Loof had proved by performance as you point out,that he was benefitting himself.  There was no allegation of team-racing - so no breach of RRS2 so no chance of redress.

Turn that onit's head and say the right was favoured in the I14 case - they finish say 21st.  Are they team racing?  The IJs logic is weak because they ignore the what if factor, and the fact that the Aussies were in 18th at the leeward mark.

Will be interesting to see how this develops.  I hope we haven't heard the last of it.



Posted By: Kiwi Spy
Date Posted: 28 Feb 05 at 11:33pm
The point aboit Percy protesting is that he can lodge a protest - the IJ may not uphold it. However I am assuming that he did not protest and therefore accepted the situation as being within the rules. If you apply the tests extrapolated from the ISAF Cases, then Loof did improve his series score, and this was his intention.

This is not about team racing, it is about the rights (and curtailment of rights) of a boat to continue to hinder another boat who she has no actual or realistic chance of  beating on series points.

There are two situations, if the hindering boat breaks a rule of Part 2 (and maybe damages the other boat) - then it is clear that the other boat is entitled to redress. However if the hindering boat keeps clear but continues to hinder the other boat, beyond the point where her series score is not or cannot be improved, the Case 78 comes into play as does 34. The hindered boat may protest, the IJ/PC may uphold that protest or may dismiss. If the protest is upheld the hindered boat may be entitled to redress, which the IJ/PC may award, or may decide that there were other factors involved in her placing and leave the scores to stand, or grant an amount of redress which does not have the effect of altering the hindered boats placing in the regatta, but which may improve her score.

Look at another situation - in an Olympic qualifier. Boat A has qualified, her rival B has not yet qualified and has to finish in say the top ten of the final race to do so. Is A entitled to sail B off he course using tactics that will not improve A's series score, but will be highly detrimental to B, and under her countries grant system will mean that she will not get funding that year, and is effectively out of the Olympics and this is to A's advantage as B is expected to be close rival of A's in the Olympic regatta proper. My interpretaion of the ISAF Cases and RRS is that B is entitled to some protection against this form of tactic, is entitled to protest and if the IJ agreed with her could be entitled to redress.

KS


Posted By: Stefan Lloyd
Date Posted: 01 Mar 05 at 8:14am

Originally posted by Kiwi Spy


This is not about team racing, it is about the rights (and curtailment of rights) of a boat to continue to hinder another boat who she has no actual or realistic chance of  beating on series points.

Yes and why might you want to sail down a boat you cannot beat? Answer: team racing.



Posted By: Kiwi Spy
Date Posted: 01 Mar 05 at 9:35am
Originally posted by Stefan Lloyd

Yes and why might you want to sail down a boat you cannot beat? Answer: team racing.

I can assure you that there are heaps of reasons why a boat might try and sail another down the fleet other than "Teams Racing" - which is really "Works Teams Racing" and which doesn't really exist outside of UK.

Most of the time it is the reverse situation where two competitors will fight each other hammer and tong in some regatta because unknown to the rest of the fleet it is an Olympic selection regatta for that country.

KS



Posted By: Guest
Date Posted: 01 Mar 05 at 12:51pm

If boat A nails boat B then almost certainly some 3rd party (C) will benefit.

This is what happened to Percy and the Aussies.

The question is when does the actions of A to B constitute team racing in favour of C.

If A can argue that their actions were to their own benefit then all is OK.

Seems to me in this case as A failed to achieve their own objectives so the IJ assumed then their actions were for the benefit of C. This was based on the outcome and not on what could have been considered a resonable tactic at the time. Also they threw in some rubbish about dinners and team orders to really dirty the names of those involved.

Had the right paid and the Aussies finished >26th Then they would have justified their actions and the results been very different.

I don't like the fact that the IJ used the outcome to build their position rather than assessing the actions based on the positions at the time the covering started.

Rick



-------------


Posted By: Stefan Lloyd
Date Posted: 01 Mar 05 at 12:59pm

Originally posted by Kiwi Spy

I can assure you that there are heaps of reasons why a boat might try and sail another down the fleet other than "Teams Racing" - which is really "Works Teams Racing" and which doesn't really exist outside of UK.

Granted, but the allegation in the case we are talking about was "Works Teams Racing" and the IJ concluded (rightly or not) that it happened. Originally both GBR boats were protested. I am therefore puzzled why you are saying this case is not about team racing.



Posted By: Guest
Date Posted: 13 Mar 05 at 8:33pm
Originally posted by Contender443

Originally posted by Guest#260

Seems to me the situation is very similar.

Sorry Rick but I have to disagree. This situation is clearly a one on one, more of a match race. This is acceptable to most sailors

The incident at the I14 Worlds is more about team racing in a fleet race which is not acceptable.

Was it? wasn't it just Richardson/Barker match racing the Aussies down - where is the proof that it was anything more than that?

Rick



-------------


Posted By: Contender443
Date Posted: 13 Mar 05 at 9:09pm

Rick the international jury thought there was enough evidence to say it was team racing. That is why they got penalised.

From what has been said on this forum they were guilty of team racing and they have no appeal - end of story.



-------------
Bonnie Lass Contender 1764


Posted By: Guest
Date Posted: 14 Mar 05 at 10:57am
Originally posted by Contender443

Rick the international jury thought there was enough evidence to say it was team racing. That is why they got penalised.

From what has been said on this forum they were guilty of team racing and they have no appeal - end of story.

Yep - well that is the opinion of the IJ & you but perhaps there are others that think this was a bit of a "stretch".

If it was team racing which is of couse banned why wern't Morrison/Rhodes peanalised for their role - the word team states that there was more than one party involved in this transgression?

Rick

 



-------------


Posted By: Scooby_simon
Date Posted: 14 Mar 05 at 12:16pm
Originally posted by Guest#260

Originally posted by Contender443

Rick the international jury thought there was enough evidence to say it was team racing. That is why they got penalised.

From what has been said on this forum they were guilty of team racing and they have no appeal - end of story.

Yep - well that is the opinion of the IJ & you but perhaps there are others that think this was a bit of a "stretch".

If it was team racing which is of couse banned why wern't Morrison/Rhodes peanalised for their role - the word team states that there was more than one party involved in this transgression?

Rick

 

 

Very good point...

 

I wonder if anyone has pointed this out ?



-------------
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..



Print Page | Close Window

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz - http://www.webwizguide.com