Print Page | Close Window

Water at the windward mark

Printed From: Yachts and Yachting Online
Category: General
Forum Name: Racing Rules
Forum Discription: Discuss the rules and your interpretations here
URL: http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=4543
Printed Date: 26 Jun 25 at 9:15am
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com


Topic: Water at the windward mark
Posted By: Pabs
Subject: Water at the windward mark
Date Posted: 20 Aug 08 at 12:50pm

I am a bit confused with this rule is there such thing as water at the windward mark or is it a case of starbourd boat has right of way and i can luff other boats over the mark??

 

Any advice will do



-------------
Boatless and Clubless



Replies:
Posted By: PeterV
Date Posted: 20 Aug 08 at 6:53pm
It's really quite simple:  If on opposite tacks P keeps clear of S.  If on same tacks W keeps clear of L until about to go round the buoy when inside boat has to be given room to round. 

-------------
PeterV
Finn K197, Finn GBR564, GK29
Warsash


Posted By: Smight at BBSC
Date Posted: 20 Aug 08 at 9:03pm
(Massively wrong, too tired  ) sorry


-------------
RS600 988


Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 20 Aug 08 at 10:22pm
Originally posted by Smight at BBSC

Within two boat lengths of the mark the inside boat has to have room too round, weather they are on port or starboard. 

Suggest you read 18.1.b


Posted By: Scooby_simon
Date Posted: 20 Aug 08 at 10:22pm

Originally posted by JimC

Originally posted by Smight at BBSC

Within two boat lengths of the mark the inside boat has to have room too round, weather they are on port or starboard. 

Suggest you read 18.1.b

I was about to suggest the same thing.



-------------
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..


Posted By: Smight at BBSC
Date Posted: 20 Aug 08 at 10:31pm
Sorry just read what i wrote, mistake, it's been a long day. 

-------------
RS600 988


Posted By: Spyderman
Date Posted: 20 Aug 08 at 10:50pm
Room at the mark (rule 18) only kicks in when boats are on the same tack at the windward mark.Like PeterV stated at the windward mark S has ROW over P.

If both are on the same tack (whether both on P or S) then rule 18 only has an effect when the keep clear boat is also the inside boat.

If the ROW boat is inside boat, rule 18 has no "effect". She stays ROW boat and the other (outside boat) has to keep clear. So the inside boat can continue on close hauled course and take the other to Timboektoe... (there are exceptions under rule 17.1, and rule 18.3, but that is another matter).

If the ROW boat is outside boat, only then the keep clear boat has the protection of rule 18.2(a) and must be given room to round the mark. She may not continue. She must round the mark promptly in a seamanlike way in the prevailing conditions. As soon as both boats have passed the mark rule 18 is off again and she then has to keep clear.



-------------
Are you interested in the Racing Rules of Sailing? Go to: http://rrsstudy.blogspot.com - http://rrsstudy.blogspot.com



Print Page | Close Window

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz - http://www.webwizguide.com