Print Page | Close Window

Sounds simple but is it.....

Printed From: Yachts and Yachting Online
Category: General
Forum Name: Racing Rules
Forum Discription: Discuss the rules and your interpretations here
URL: http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=4305
Printed Date: 27 Jun 25 at 4:30pm
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com


Topic: Sounds simple but is it.....
Posted By: jeffers
Subject: Sounds simple but is it.....
Date Posted: 17 Jun 08 at 1:16pm
Ok guys and gals here is one for you...

2 boats both going upwind.

No marks or obstructions (or other boats) that are affecting the courses of either boat.

The port boat is going to easily clear across the bow on the starboard boat (thus keeping clear).

There is a windshift when the boats are approximately 2 boat lengths apart. The port boat holds course despite being headed. The starboard boat heads up calls for the boat on port to do turns despite that fact that had they held their course they would have passed behind the port boat.

My question here...should the port boat have done turns?

My view..

The boat on port was clearing, had the wind not shifted there would have been no issue.

I believe that the boat on starboard was bound by rule 16 (right of way boat changing course must give a non right of way boat room to keep clear).

The boat on starboard line is that they were on starboard and the port boat should not even have been there.

I am sure everyone can guess which boat I was in this case!

I would value other opinions on this one..

Paul


-------------
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74



Replies:
Posted By: gordon
Date Posted: 17 Jun 08 at 2:42pm

Port boat was keeping clear until Starboard changed course (the wind shift is irrelevant)

Port did her best to kept clear - if she had tacked she would probably have been sailing into a possible collision.

Starboard, having changed course, then allowed Port room to keep clear. According to your description Starboard, after initially changing course did not have to alter course to avoid Port.

 

No rule was infringed. No boat need take a penalty.

 

Gordon

 



-------------
Gordon


Posted By: sten
Date Posted: 17 Jun 08 at 3:50pm

2 boat lengths with your sails flapping in a laser?

sounds like you should have tacked at 2 boat lengths when you could no longer cross, 1 boat length is plenty to tack a laser and avoid the starboard boat, with 2 lengths you could also duck, if you were closer together or in boats that are slower to tack I would agree with gordon.

when its close its best to ask the starboard boat if you can cross, then if you hit a bad wave and don't make it he will let you off.



Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 17 Jun 08 at 3:50pm
I think it depends on the facts found. On your description port is safe. If starboard's description of events persuaded the PC the distance was greater and the heading up for the windshift would still have left port adequate room to tack or duck then port is in trouble... Starboard is not required to hold their course from somewhere over the horizon.


Posted By: tack'ho
Date Posted: 17 Jun 08 at 3:59pm

Again it never ceases to amaze me.

Next time Stbd boat is in that situation and gets a lift when a boat is crossing, the crossing boat will remember what he is like and tack into a lee bow forcing him off the lift and handing a place to the port boat.

If he lets the port boat cross, uses the lift to gain speed which he translates into height as soon as he passes the stern of the Port boat and stays on the lift, next time he crosses......guess what?

 



-------------
I might be sailing it, but it's still sh**e!


Posted By: sten
Date Posted: 17 Jun 08 at 5:30pm

its a wind bend



Posted By: gordon
Date Posted: 17 Jun 08 at 5:39pm

Wind bend, shift or a mega fart from that guy on the safety boat... it doesn't modify the rules situation.

If a right of way boat changes course she must give all keep clear boats room to keep clear. The reason for the course change is irrelevant.

 

Gordon



-------------
Gordon


Posted By: kanga
Date Posted: 18 Jun 08 at 9:19am
the starboard boat is change of course boat and therefore has to give opportunity for port to keep clear. again - no rule infringed and therefore no penalty to be taken.


Posted By: sten
Date Posted: 18 Jun 08 at 10:44am
makes a difference to if you want to duck or make him tack, you don't want to go downwind of the mega fart


Posted By: sargesail
Date Posted: 26 Jun 08 at 9:34am

Seen this all too often recently and indeed been DSQ (wrongly) in my opinion when tacking off a port biased line to clear a starboard tack boat which made a signifciant change of course after I was tack complete and prevented me from keeping clear.

Also had starboard tack boats luff to a (just) collision course within 1 -1.5 boat lengths and enforce their rights.

And leeward marks....

The restrictions on the RoW boat are not well understood.




Print Page | Close Window

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz - http://www.webwizguide.com