Originally posted by sargesail
I get your point Jim. And I'd completely that this was the case in the scenario described by flaming, and had been so since 2005 at least! So I guess I'm stupid! But I still think it's got a crazy consequence at an off-wind mark. The scenarios where this happens are the sort of mess up described by flaming plus capsized or one other I'll come back to.
So what that means is that the boat that has left the mark on the wrong side has to 'rejoin' the traffic from a position where in any normal circumstance it would have mark room because he's on the inside. But it doesn't! Bailing out from that position is doubly dodgy because you generally have to heat it up increasing the pace that you are coming together at.
Now the wise boat coming in from clear astern probably gives wary room and goes round the outside....but they don't have to!
And here's the real rub: the other reason this happens is the boat that is forced the wrong side of the mark in order to avoid a collision when actually it had had mark room. It's then tacking to come back but has lost the mark room on the next not coming through and has the same problems as above.
It absolutely makes sense upwind...and the relevant case law refers to that (I've searched for the case law referred to in the Study version but I can't find it). |
I'm not grasping the problem you seem to foresee.
Does this show the scenario you have in mind?
You say
... the boat that has left the mark on the wrong side has to 'rejoin' the traffic from a position where in any normal circumstance it would have mark room because he's on the inside. But it doesn't!
That's not quite right.
As long as the boat that tacked is overlapped inside, she is entitled to mark-room (rule 18.2( a )).
The approaching boats gain no unusual 'rights' unless and until they become overlapped inside.
The only 'right' Y loses is her right to exoneration if she doesn't keep clear of B when obliged to do so.
@2, Y is right of way, leeward boat (rule 11). @3, Y is right of way, clear ahead boat (rule 12) @4, Y is right of way starboard tack boat (rule 10).
@4 + delta, B will become overlapped inside, and gain mark-room and exoneration if she fails to keep clear of Y.
If B comes steaming in and Y can't get her stern out of the way, starting no earlier than when the overlap began, then Y, now outside, will have been unable to give mark-room from the time the overlap began and is not required to give it (rule 18.2( f )).
Certainly, once B gets overlapped inside and entitled to mark-room, Y may not be able to come up to course as quickly as she would like, but that's just the disadvantage she earned by muffing her mark rounding in the first place.
|