Print Page | Close Window

Proper course after gybe

Printed From: Yachts and Yachting Online
Category: General
Forum Name: Racing Rules
Forum Discription: Discuss the rules and your interpretations here
URL: http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=12652
Printed Date: 26 Jun 25 at 7:43pm
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com


Topic: Proper course after gybe
Posted By: piglet
Subject: Proper course after gybe
Date Posted: 07 Feb 17 at 9:13pm
200 on Stbd downwind, Musto establishes leeward overlap from behind but then slows as he gets dirt from 200.
At a couple of hundred metres out from the leeward mark 200 gybes close behind Musto onto her layline, Musto gybes immediately after and overlap is immediately re-established but again musto is in 200's dirt and cannot get past before the mark, Musto ends upon the outside at the mark.
My question is what happens to 200's right to proper course when she gybes and passes clear astern of the Musto?
After the gybe has Musto now gained the right to sail above her proper course?



Replies:
Posted By: Brass
Date Posted: 07 Feb 17 at 10:22pm
Originally posted by piglet

200 on Stbd downwind, Musto establishes leeward overlap from behind but then slows as he gets dirt from 200.

If Musto became overlapped within 2 of her hull lengths, rule 17 applies and Musto shall not sail above her proper course.

The rules give no entitlement nor limitation on RS200 with respect to her proper course.
  
At a couple of hundred metres out from the leeward mark 200 gybes close behind Musto onto her layline,

Rule 17 ceases to apply when RS200 gets into a position clear astern of Musto.

Musto ceases to have any limitations on sailing above or below her proper course.

Musto gybes immediately after and overlap is immediately re-established but again musto is in 200's dirt and cannot get past before the mark,

Apparently, Musto gybes into the overlap without becoming clear astern of RS200:  rule 17 does not apply.

Musto does not have any limitations on sailing above or below her proper course.

Musto ends upon the outside at the mark.

My question is what happens to 200's right to proper course when she gybes and passes clear astern of the Musto?

RS200 never had any 'right to proper course'.  What does RS200 want to do that you think might be problematic?

After the gybe has Musto now gained the right to sail above her proper course?

Yes.

Musto's obligation to not sail above her proper course ceased when the first overlap on the same tack was broken.

Musto can sail RS200 above the mark if she does it before the zone.


Posted By: piglet
Date Posted: 07 Feb 17 at 10:34pm
Thanks Brass, that makes sense.
200 didn't want to do anything but wasn't sure what the Musto might do or what obligations she had to the Musto.


Posted By: Brass
Date Posted: 08 Feb 17 at 12:08am
Would the tactical solution have been to hot up a little, gain separation and let the Musto go?


Posted By: piglet
Date Posted: 08 Feb 17 at 12:38pm
Both boats were sailing deep to lay the mark, which was the 200's intention, hotting up when have meant 2 extra gybes and there wasn't really enough for the 200 to get planing properly.
I'm sure the Musto would have liked to have been sailing higher but again that would have meant 2 more gybes in a short distance.
With hindsight I'm sure the Musto would have sailed higher to get over the top of the 200 in the 1st instance, but on a busy lake blasting on the rack is a high risk strategy, for everyone!



Print Page | Close Window

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz - http://www.webwizguide.com