Print Page | Close Window

Stuck n the middle

Printed From: Yachts and Yachting Online
Category: General
Forum Name: Racing Rules
Forum Discription: Discuss the rules and your interpretations here
URL: http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=12389
Printed Date: 25 Jun 25 at 9:15pm
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com


Topic: Stuck n the middle
Posted By: Henmch
Subject: Stuck n the middle
Date Posted: 13 May 16 at 3:49pm
two dinghies ( they happen to be Solos) are sailing down a broad reach in a force three. They initially started a long way apart ( say 6 boat lengths) but as the reach progresses they have converged to 2 boat lengths apart. Neither is certain as to who got the overlap but they are now happily sailing on parallel courses. A is windward B is leward.
A third Solo ( C) sailing faster from behind comes in between them. There is adequate room of 2 boat lengths.
As they get nearer to the mark but well outside the zone the windward boat A alters course for the mark slightly by bearing off. A states that he wants to sail his proper course and that C hasn't luffing rights.
The gap between A and B is now about 1boatlength 
The leward boat B shouts at the interloper C to keep clear as C is the windward boat.
C is now a sausage in a sandwich so who is in the right and who is wrong



Replies:
Posted By: iGRF
Date Posted: 13 May 16 at 4:14pm
They are all wrong, why would anyone in their right mind sail a Solo.

-------------
https://www.corekite.co.uk/snow-accessories-11-c.asp" rel="nofollow - Snow Equipment Deals      https://www.corekite.co.uk" rel="nofollow - New Core Kite website


Posted By: Tom J
Date Posted: 13 May 16 at 4:21pm
A is about to be wrong... A's proper course doesn't matter as long as C is sailing hers i.e. the course she would sail if A wasn't there. A is windward boat and should keep clear.


Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 13 May 16 at 4:51pm
Basics.

Section A
A is windward of C. C is windward of B. section A rules, in this case RRS 11 defines right of way.

Section B rules limit section A ROW.
C established her overlap from behind, so in spite of having ROW may not sail above *her* proper course. RRS17. A's proper course is not relevant *to this rule*. However B is under no such restriction and may sail as she pleases, and C must respond, and so must A, because C's proper course relative to A includes keeping clear of B.

Section C Rules further limit ROW actions at marks and obstructions.
As soon as one boat gets in the 3BL Zone RRS switches on.
A is entitled to mark room from C, and C is entitled to mark room from B.

So basically A can't bear off until one boat touches the zone and mark room immediately applies. I rather suspect A was working to an understanding of how the rules used to be.


Posted By: davidyacht
Date Posted: 13 May 16 at 6:00pm
A should call mast-a-beam Smile

-------------
Happily living in the past


Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 13 May 16 at 6:39pm
For the avoidance of confusion, mast abeam was a concept that was dropped from the rules in 1997. For some reason the hail still gets dusted off by those who have failed to keep up at the back of the class, even though there must be few sailors younger than their 30s who can remember it.

It placed a restriction on the right of a leeward boat to luff, which was otherwise less constrained than it is now. The rules are significantly different to how they were then, and for whtever my opinion is worth greatly improved too.


Posted By: PeterG
Date Posted: 13 May 16 at 9:03pm
even though there must be few sailors younger than their 30s who can remember it. 

Sadly I hardly ever race against sailors younger than 30 Cry


-------------
Peter
Ex Cont 707
Ex Laser 189635
DY 59



Print Page | Close Window

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz - http://www.webwizguide.com