Print Page | Close Window

Collision at windward mark

Printed From: Yachts and Yachting Online
Category: General
Forum Name: Racing Rules
Forum Discription: Discuss the rules and your interpretations here
URL: http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=12378
Printed Date: 25 Jun 25 at 9:13pm
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com


Topic: Collision at windward mark
Posted By: Henmch
Subject: Collision at windward mark
Date Posted: 02 May 16 at 4:44pm
three solos are approaching a windward mark to be left to port.
A is on port tack
B is on starboard as is C. Boat C is level to boat B and to windward by half a boat length. The overall existed well before the zone.
Within the zone boat A ( the one on port!) tacks. Boat B has to take swift avoiding action and has to luff above close hauled so obviously boat A has infringed the rules. 
In taking avoiding action boat B luffa swiftly and a collision occurs with the windward boat C.
So my question is who should take a penalty out of the boats B and C? 
Everything happened quite quickly. The outside starboard boat argued that the inner boat B didn't give adequate time to avoid collision but the inner boat argued that they had to act very quickly to avoid the tacking boat A!






Replies:
Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 02 May 16 at 5:42pm
I'd say neither.

RRS 64.1a reads
when as a consequence of breaking a rule a boat has compelled another boat to break a rule, the other boat shall be exonerated.

B failed to give C room to keep clear, but B was compelled to break the rule by A, so therefore B is exonerated.

[Later] As was stated in the OP A is already established as having broken a rule so would be penalised.



Posted By: Rupert
Date Posted: 02 May 16 at 6:38pm
Are we assuming A is taking a penalty already? Sounds like B took the action that would cause least damage.

-------------
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686


Posted By: Brass
Date Posted: 02 May 16 at 11:27pm
Originally posted by Rupert

Are we assuming A is taking a penalty already? 

OP's question was "who should take a penalty out of the boats B and C?".

Why is it relevant whether A is taking a penalty?

 
Originally posted by Rupert

 Sounds like B took the action that would cause least damage.

Why is that relevant at all?



Print Page | Close Window

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz - http://www.webwizguide.com