Print Page | Close Window

Touching a starting mark then a General Recall

Printed From: Yachts and Yachting Online
Category: General
Forum Name: Racing Rules
Forum Discription: Discuss the rules and your interpretations here
URL: http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=12277
Printed Date: 26 Jun 25 at 9:25am
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com


Topic: Touching a starting mark then a General Recall
Posted By: Brass
Subject: Touching a starting mark then a General Recall
Date Posted: 16 Jan 16 at 10:30pm
Some seconds before the starting signal a boat touches a starting mark, then the starting signal is given, followed by a general recall.  The boat then makes a turn including one tack and one gybe.

An astute competitor validly protests the boat.

What should the protest conclusions and decision be?



Replies:
Posted By: Guests
Date Posted: 16 Jan 16 at 10:53pm
What is the basis of the protest?

Fully aware that I'm walking into a trap here, but if the argument is that the boat didn't do its penalty during the race it commited the offence in (as the race was "abandoned" before the penalty was taken), then I'd be tempted to tell the protester to top wasting the protest committee's time. No one was advantaged or disadvantaged by the incident, unless somehow the act of touching the mark has caused the general recall?

Edit. Always enjoy your rules-based posts for the clarity of thought, so looking forward to the answer!


Posted By: iGRF
Date Posted: 16 Jan 16 at 11:20pm
Stop wasting our time and buy the entire protest committee a round.

-------------
https://www.corekite.co.uk/snow-accessories-11-c.asp" rel="nofollow - Snow Equipment Deals      https://www.corekite.co.uk" rel="nofollow - New Core Kite website


Posted By: andymck
Date Posted: 17 Jan 16 at 1:23am
Rule 36,
so unless there is something we are not being told, such as 30.2 or 30.3, no penalty can be applied


-------------
Andy Mck


Posted By: Brass
Date Posted: 17 Jan 16 at 4:43am
Originally posted by andymck

Rule 36,
so unless there is something we are not being told, such as 30.2 or 30.3, no penalty can be applied

Thank you.

That's the answer I needed and didn't realise was there in rule 36.


Posted By: jeffers
Date Posted: 18 Jan 16 at 9:34am
Had to look that up! For those curious and not wanting to navigate the mess of the new World Sailing Site:

36 RACES RESTARTED OR RESAILED If a race is restarted or resailed, a breach of a rule, other than rule 30.3, in the original race shall not prohibit a boat from competing or, except under rule 30.2, 30.3 or 69, cause her to be penalized. 


-------------
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74



Print Page | Close Window

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz - http://www.webwizguide.com