Print Page | Close Window

Overtaking boat?

Printed From: Yachts and Yachting Online
Category: General
Forum Name: Racing Rules
Forum Discription: Discuss the rules and your interpretations here
URL: http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=1221
Printed Date: 24 Jun 25 at 7:50pm
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com


Topic: Overtaking boat?
Posted By: Far away
Subject: Overtaking boat?
Date Posted: 21 Nov 05 at 7:31pm

Hi, this is my first post here.

My query is at what point does the overtaking boat rule become over ridden by the windward/leeward boat rule?

For example, take a situation before the start where a boat is overtaking to leeward but sails into the windward boat's boom. Let's say that in this scenario the windward boat has at no point altered course or adjusted its boom.

Who does the turns?




Replies:
Posted By: Jon Emmett
Date Posted: 21 Nov 05 at 8:18pm

There is NO OVERTAKING BOAT KEEPS CLEAR RULE!

When a boat is clear astern it must keep clear.

As soon as there is an overlap the rule becomes port/starboard or windward/leeward (if both on the same tack).

However when a boat gains rights it must give the give way boat room to keep clear, as soon as overlap is established the windward boat must start to keep clear, if it cannot it was obviously not given room!

Jon



-------------
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Be-Your-Own-Tactics-Coach/dp/0470973218/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1312565831&sr=8-1 -


Posted By: HannahJ
Date Posted: 21 Nov 05 at 9:11pm
Oh brilliant, thanks Jon, I've been done loads of times by overtaking boat. ha. now i'll fix em....

-------------
MIRROR 64799 "Dolphin"
The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist hopes it will change; the realist adjusts the sail


Posted By: Far away
Date Posted: 22 Nov 05 at 12:53pm

Thanks for the replies.

So, if I've already overtaken a boat to leeward prior to the start and have yet to establish luffing rights sailing into their boom puts them in the wrong. Provided that is, that they were given enough time to sheet in.

What concerned me was if the boom isn't being eased by the windward boat, but is already some way out, can you really demand this be sheeted in out of your way if you've yet to establish luffing rights. Wouldn't this simply be the same as asking the windward boat to head up when your still aft of the mast abeam position.

I'd thought that prior to establishing luffing rights not only can you not force the windward boat onto a higher course - only that they don't sail below their current one - but also that you couldn't demand that they sheet their boom in, instead simply ensuring that they don't ease it onto you.

Any further thoughts?



Posted By: Stefan Lloyd
Date Posted: 22 Nov 05 at 1:37pm

Originally posted by Far away

Any further thoughts?

That you ask Father Xmas for a rules book. It's that time of year and without intending to be rude, you seem to be racing without much idea of the rules. This is likely to end in tears. Here is a good book. http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ASIN/1904475140/ref=pd_sim_b_dp_3/202-5137791-1475805 - http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ASIN/1904475140/ref=pd_s im_b_dp_3/202-5137791-1475805

"Mast abeam" disappeared from the rule-book many years ago.



Posted By: Far away
Date Posted: 22 Nov 05 at 1:47pm

Harsh!

True, my understanding of the rules isn't great. So what's replaced mast abeam? What's the cut off point at which a leeward boat loses/ has no luffing rights?

Do you have any comments on my boom scenario?



Posted By: Scooby_simon
Date Posted: 22 Nov 05 at 1:49pm
As far as I understand it you have to give then time to avoid you so you cannot sail into the back of the boom as it were.  There is no need to be mast abeam on the start line it is simply windward boat keeps clear (once you give them the time to do so).


You cannot demand that the boom be sheeted in to make room for you to sail into a gap that does not yet exist.  (cat booms rarely come outside the boat so this never really occurs on our start lines).

But once you are overlapped the boat you can treat the boom as part of the boats width and demand that the boat luff up to avoid you so their boom does not hit your shroud say (or they can sheet the boom in). 




-------------
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..


Posted By: Stefan Lloyd
Date Posted: 22 Nov 05 at 2:01pm

Originally posted by Far away

Harsh!

But fair and a genuine attempt to be helpful.

I like talking rules and in fact it can be hard to shut me up on the subject. But you need to understand the basic framework before having a conversation in a forum like this is going to be very fruitful. Seriously, read one of the books. 

 



Posted By: Far away
Date Posted: 22 Nov 05 at 2:19pm

So Scooby, prior to the start you can begin luffing a windward boat with any length of an overlap to leeward? Even if you aft of the now disregarded mast abeam position?

On the boom thing, what if the gap between two boats is adequate for you to sail into, but only if the windward sheets its boom out of the way?

I have looked at the rule book Stefan and even the rules explanations in the RYA's race training manual by Jim Saltonstall. Strangely, the latter refers repeatedly to 'mast abeam'. Anyway, surely this forum is a place where novices can discuss and learn about the rules and isn't just restricted to experts?



Posted By: Stefan Lloyd
Date Posted: 22 Nov 05 at 2:30pm

Originally posted by Far away

Strangely, the latter refers repeatedly to 'mast abeam'.

Goes to show you need a new book, I'm afraid. I think it was 1997 that mast abeam disappeared from the rules.

 



Posted By: Far away
Date Posted: 22 Nov 05 at 2:37pm
Ah, the times they are a changin'


Posted By: Harry44981!
Date Posted: 22 Nov 05 at 4:11pm
Originally posted by Far away

On the boom thing, what if the gap between two boats is adequate for you to sail into, but only if the windward sheets its boom out of the way?

i think you can't sail into a gap that small, as the windward boat has no obligation  to anticpate your manouvers, and once you are overlapped to leward, you must give him ample time and opertunity to keep clear- making him move his boom out of your way whemn you have not yet established an overlap is illegal.



-------------


Posted By: Scooby_simon
Date Posted: 22 Nov 05 at 6:38pm
Originally posted by Harry44981!

Originally posted by Far away

On the boom thing, what if the gap between two boats is adequate for you to sail into, but only if the windward sheets its boom out of the way?

i think you can't sail into a gap that small, as the windward boat has no obligation  to anticpate your manouvers, and once you are overlapped to leward, you must give him ample time and opertunity to keep clear- making him move his boom out of your way whemn you have not yet established an overlap is illegal.



Yes.

The windward boat has only to react.  so you must give room to do so.

Mast abeam went a while ago.

You cannot sail into the gap expecting them to pull the boom in to let you in. The boom is part of the boat and so part of the "onstruction that is them" and so you cannot sail into them(the boom) calling windward boat, they are the boat ahead - if you did, it would be sailing into the back of them, and If I was on the protest Ctte I would (probably) bin you for sailing into the back of them.

Being early on the start line is a dangerous place to be, but you do have time to react when people come up under you, and remember you have to give them time to get the boat above them to give them room to come up too.  You cannot cause a boat to windward of you to hit a boat to windward of them. 

Starting is an art form - even more so in boats that are 8+ feet wide that go from 0 to 13+ kts V quicky...
 

-------------
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..


Posted By: Scooby_simon
Date Posted: 22 Nov 05 at 6:42pm
However, if they pulled the boom in to make some forward progress and then you are overlapped  they cannot let the boom out again to stop you sailinmg underneath you - now that  would make an interesting protest......

-------------
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..


Posted By: redback
Date Posted: 23 Nov 05 at 12:39am
You could always go here http://www.sailing.org/RRS2005/RRS2005-2008.pdf - http://www.sailing.org/RRS2005/RRS2005-2008.pdf  and pick up a copy of the current rules.  Not quite as good as a book but it may suffice.


Posted By: gordon
Date Posted: 23 Nov 05 at 4:13pm

The rule to be applied is 17.1 : If a boat clear astern becomes overlapped within  two of her hull lengths to leeward of a boat on the same tack, she shall not sail above her proper course  while they remain overlapped within that distance, unless in doing so she promptly sails astern of the other boat. This rule does not apply if the overlap begins while the windward boat is required by rule 13 to keep clear.

This rule is a "general limitation" to the right of way rule 11 "on the same tack, overlapped". Windward boat keeps clear but there is a limit to the course that the leeward boat can sail

The rule does not stipulate how the overlap is created, the leeward boat is not necessarily overtaking. The rule applies all the time that the overlap exists, and ceases to apply when the overlap ceases to exist. One way to break the overlap between boats is to gybe.as the term overlap does not apply to boats on opposite tacks (except when rule 18 applies). If the leeward boat gybes then gybes back then rule 17.1 does not apply between the two boats as the new overlap was not established from clear astern.

As the leeward boat establishes an overlap from clear astern she must give the windward boat room to keep clear, unless the overlap occurs  as a result of the actions of the windward boat (deliberately stopping for instance).

Before the starting signal the leeward boat has no proper course, she can therefore luff as far as head to wind, as long as she gives the other boat room to keep clear.

 

Simple really - its all in the book. In my version (ISA) the Part 2 rules "when boats meet" take up 5 pages, including 2and a half pages for rule 18. Read, learn and inwardly digest...and refer to the definitions. Not really all that difficult., much simpler than the arcane laws of cricket or even the Highway Code.

Gordon DAVIES

 



-------------
Gordon


Posted By: Scooby_simon
Date Posted: 23 Nov 05 at 8:50pm
Originally posted by gordon

The rule to be applied is 17.1 : If a boat clear astern becomes overlapped within  two of her hull lengths to leeward of a boat on the same tack, she shall not sail above her proper course  while they remain overlapped within that distance, unless in doing so she promptly sails astern of the other boat. This rule does not apply if the overlap begins while the windward boat is required by rule 13 to keep clear.

This rule is a "general limitation" to the right of way rule 11 "on the same tack, overlapped". Windward boat keeps clear but there is a limit to the course that the leeward boat can sail

The rule does not stipulate how the overlap is created, the leeward boat is not necessarily overtaking. The rule applies all the time that the overlap exists, and ceases to apply when the overlap ceases to exist. One way to break the overlap between boats is to gybe.as the term overlap does not apply to boats on opposite tacks (except when rule 18 applies). If the leeward boat gybes then gybes back then rule 17.1 does not apply between the two boats as the new overlap was not established from clear astern.

As the leeward boat establishes an overlap from clear astern she must give the windward boat room to keep clear, unless the overlap occurs  as a result of the actions of the windward boat (deliberately stopping for instance).

Before the starting signal the leeward boat has no proper course, she can therefore luff as far as head to wind, as long as she gives the other boat room to keep clear.

 

Simple really - its all in the book. In my version (ISA) the Part 2 rules "when boats meet" take up 5 pages, including 2and a half pages for rule 18. Read, learn and inwardly digest...and refer to the definitions. Not really all that difficult., much simpler than the arcane laws of cricket or even the Highway Code.

Gordon DAVIES

 



Gordon,

As this is BEFORE the start, there is NO proper course.
 

-------------
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..


Posted By: gordon
Date Posted: 23 Nov 05 at 10:41pm

Which is what I said

"Before the starting signal the leeward boat has no proper course, she can therefore luff as far as head to wind, as long as she gives the other boat room to keep clear."

The rule doesn't change, it is the application of the definition of proper course that changes

Gordon



-------------
Gordon


Posted By: Scooby_simon
Date Posted: 24 Nov 05 at 10:28am
Originally posted by gordon

Which is what I said

"Before the starting signal the leeward boat has no proper course, she can therefore luff as far as head to wind, as long as she gives the other boat room to keep clear."

The rule doesn't change, it is the application of the definition of proper course that changes

Gordon



Opps, sorry, missed that bit.


 

-------------
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..



Print Page | Close Window

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz - http://www.webwizguide.com