Print Page | Close Window

proper course again

Printed From: Yachts and Yachting Online
Category: General
Forum Name: Racing Rules
Forum Discription: Discuss the rules and your interpretations here
URL: http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=12038
Printed Date: 27 Jun 25 at 10:55pm
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com


Topic: proper course again
Posted By: piglet
Subject: proper course again
Date Posted: 09 Jun 15 at 8:39pm
Jeffers wrote in another thread:
Do remember that if a boat establishes an overlap to leeward from astern is it their proper course and not your proper course that counts so assymetrics sailing a hot angles can still push you up.

If boat L establishes an overlap on boat W from clear astern within 2 boat lengths to leeward of W, then L must not sail above HER proper course.
I get that now, but WHAT IF:
Boat L establishes the overlap on boat W from clear astern OUTSIDE 2 boat lengths to leeward?
Is it R11 and can L luff W?

Thanks in advance as always.



Replies:
Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 09 Jun 15 at 8:39pm
Yes


Posted By: Brass
Date Posted: 09 Jun 15 at 11:39pm
Consider the structure of RRS Part 2 When Boats Meet:

Section A (rules 10 to 13) Right of Way;
Section B (rules 14 to 17) General Limitations;
Section C (rules 18 to 21) At Marks and Obstructions;  and
Section D (rules 22 to 24) Other Rules.

There's always a give way boat, and there's always a right of way boat entitled to be kept clear of.

Then you have the limitations.



Print Page | Close Window

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz - http://www.webwizguide.com