Print Page | Close Window

Asymmetrics - Luffing to the point of capsize?

Printed From: Yachts and Yachting Online
Category: General
Forum Name: Racing Rules
Forum Discription: Discuss the rules and your interpretations here
URL: http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=10342
Printed Date: 28 Jun 25 at 11:51am
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com


Topic: Asymmetrics - Luffing to the point of capsize?
Posted By: JTaylor
Subject: Asymmetrics - Luffing to the point of capsize?
Date Posted: 03 Jan 13 at 2:44pm
In a hypothetical situation of two fast assy's sailing downwind in a fair breeze, leeward boat luffs windward boat with rights as per R11, however it becomes clear that in going up, the windward boat is unable to hold the boat flat in the breeze, and will capsize. 

Is the leeward boat required to give any consideration to this? Or can they keep luffing regardless? There is no real mention of any similar situation in the rules from what I've seen, only thing I could think of could maybe be on R2, fair sailing, if windward boat made it clear they were struggling and couldn't go any higher? 

So, is it fair to luff to the point of capsize?





Replies:
Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 03 Jan 13 at 3:08pm
Yep


Posted By: Neptune
Date Posted: 03 Jan 13 at 3:10pm
I don't think there is anything to stop you in the rules.  Might stop you being offered a beer in the bar afterwards though

-------------
Musto Skiff and Solo sailor


Posted By: Rupert
Date Posted: 03 Jan 13 at 3:35pm
Having them capsize on you might not be too quick for either boat. Quite common for an Unarigged or 2 sailed boat to luff a spinnakered boat if they try and go to windward, and I've seen a few capsize then, too. Certainly I remember a foolish RS500 trying to go too close to windward of me once  and failing to survive the luff which followed. Had he left more space, I'd have let him go.


-------------
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686


Posted By: pondmonkey
Date Posted: 03 Jan 13 at 4:03pm
agreed with rupert, sail too close and I'll stuff.... but on the flip side , coming around a windward mark to a DDW course in my 100, I've been fannying around with the spinnaker halyard, only to have a unarig sail high of me to get past; then the kite goes up, I head up for some heat and then the unarig gets grotty that I'm luffing them off the rhumline... perfectly legal.

... another great example of PY racing in action.


-------------


Posted By: alstorer
Date Posted: 03 Jan 13 at 4:24pm
If the unavoidable capsize caused a collision, especially one that caused damage or injury, then I'd suspect that you'd be found to be in the wrong. Otherwise it's a case, for the fast assymetric, of not going there. Be aware of what is happening down the course.
 
As the slow boat you definitely want to avoid contact; if you've got a shorter mast there's a decent chance that the rigging of a capsizing boat could go round your mast tip. This will prove to be very slow; there's a fair chance that you will come second last on handicap (to the boat you forced over) even if you don't get chucked.
 
On the other hand; "proper course" allows a boat sailing angles to coome in to "leeward" of a boat sailing approximately dead down wind  and luff them up. So the rules here are really rather evenly split between the fast/assys and the slow/symmetrics/no kites.


-------------
-_
Al


Posted By: GML
Date Posted: 03 Jan 13 at 4:25pm
Luffing boat has to give windward boat room to keep clear - rule 16.1
 
Since windward boat is unlikely to have kept clear if she capsizes (luffing boat is likely to have to take avoiding action), question is: did she capsize because her crew were incompetent, or because she was not given enough room to keep clear?
 
If the latter, then in my opinion the luffing boat has broken rule 16.1 and should be penalised, whereas whilst the windward boat has broken rule 11 she should be exonerated under rule 64.1(a) as she was compelled to break rule 11 as a consequence of the luffing boat's breach of rule 16.1
 
So, in my opinion, you cannot legally luff a (competently crewed) boat until she capsizes - you have to give her the room to keep clear of you without forcing her into an unseamanlike manouver (and capsizing is not seamanlike in this context).


Posted By: pondmonkey
Date Posted: 03 Jan 13 at 4:56pm
thanks GML, but

... don't they have the option to take down the kite though?

-------------


Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 03 Jan 13 at 5:06pm
I think it fair to say that's an exceedingly unconventional interpretation of the rules.


Posted By: GML
Date Posted: 03 Jan 13 at 5:10pm
Yes indeed pondmonkey, but only if the luffing boat has given them enough room to do so!


Posted By: GML
Date Posted: 03 Jan 13 at 5:16pm
Where you referring to my post JimC? I take it you think I'm wrong. Very happy to be put right if you or someone else can explain is wrong with my analysis.


Posted By: pondmonkey
Date Posted: 03 Jan 13 at 5:58pm
Originally posted by GML

Yes indeed pondmonkey, but only if the luffing boat has given them enough room to do so!


How much room do you need, surely it's more a time consideration?

-------------


Posted By: JVSAIL
Date Posted: 03 Jan 13 at 6:00pm
I'd say that if it were a boat ie. laser to leeward and it starts to luft up an asym. the asym. is allowed to call something like "Can't push me above my proper course" because he has his kite set.


Posted By: GML
Date Posted: 03 Jan 13 at 6:22pm

You're right pondmonkey, room isn't just about space, it is also about being given the necessary time (and this point is made in a number of RYA and ISAF Cases).

That said, the original question was about asymmetric dinghies sailing downwind - in which case if the wind is strong enough that a boat is at risk of capsizing when they luff above a certain course then they probably aren't going to be able to drop the kite without bearing away first (at least not if they are any sort of high performance asymmetric boat) - so unless they can keep the boat upright until the luffing boat has sailed far enough ahead for them for them to be able to bear away across her stern, I'm not sure this is going to help much.


Posted By: GML
Date Posted: 03 Jan 13 at 6:30pm
Originally posted by JVSAIL

I'd say that if it were a boat ie. laser to leeward and it starts to luft up an asym. the asym. is allowed to call something like "Can't push me above my proper course" because he has his kite set.
 
No JVSAIL, proper course of the windward boat is irrelevant; as windward boat she is simply obliged by rule 11 to keep clear of the leeward boat (and is in fact obliged to do so as far as is possible sailing in a seamanlike manner, even if the leeward boat is herself breaking a rule).


Posted By: Quagers
Date Posted: 03 Jan 13 at 8:50pm
I know it doesn't apply to fleet racing but it at least gives some guidance, there is a match racing call on this.
MR CALL  G2   (UMP 33)
Rule 16.1  Changing Course
Definitions Room

Question 1
Blue is sailing to leeward of Yellow. Rule 17 does not apply. Both boats have
spinnakers set. Blue luffs Yellow. What are the obligations on Blue and Yellow?

Answer 1
Yellow is required to keep clear and Blue is required to give Yellow room to 
respond to her luff. While Yellow is able to keep the majority of her spinnaker 
filled and drawing she is not entitled to additional room to drop her spinnaker. 
If Blue continues her luff so that Yellow, in order to keep clear, has to luff 
beyond the point where she can keep her spinnaker filled and drawing, then Blue 
must give Yellow room to drop her spinnaker.
Whether or not Yellow drops her spinnaker at that time, she is still required to 
keep clear. If she does not drop her spinnaker at that time, then Blue is not 
required to give her additional room to drop the spinnaker later in that luff.
As far as I know none of the relevant rules are changed by the MR appendix so the interpretation for fleet racing should be the same.


Posted By: Oatsandbeans
Date Posted: 03 Jan 13 at 9:04pm
Most of us know the rules on this one, but if you are in a fast assymetric and you end up to windward of a slow dinghy, it is a complete pisser if they throw in a sharp luff in, it doesnt really help either boat. You try to position yourself so that you can blast through to leeward but somtimes you have to pass to wimdward. I think it silly for the leeward slow boat, to enforce their rights on this, just because they can. It is not very smart. I think that "What goes round comes round" when the boot is on the other foot they will end up getting stuffed if they want to sail in that manner.


Posted By: GML
Date Posted: 03 Jan 13 at 9:20pm
Excellent, thanks Quagers! I looked for a Case or Q&A and the best I could find was RYA 2002/2 which is sort of similar, but not really. Hadn't thought to look for a Match Racing Call!


Posted By: alstorer
Date Posted: 03 Jan 13 at 9:20pm
Originally posted by pondmonkey

thanks GML, but

... don't they have the option to take down the kite though?

If we're being luffed in such a way that we might capsize, we need to bear off substantially to drop



-------------
-_
Al


Posted By: pondmonkey
Date Posted: 04 Jan 13 at 12:05am
Even if you blow your main and jib? I'd have thought being 'hove to' was a perfectly seaman-like position to drop the kite, even if it's 100% not what you want to be doing at that point in a race course???

-------------


Posted By: JTaylor
Date Posted: 04 Jan 13 at 1:43am
Cheers guys, some great responses here. 

I guess the original situation I had in mind from personal experience was fleet racing in a one design such as the 800, with the crew of the windward boat not having as much beef on board as the leeward boat. Heavier crew intentionally luffs in the knowledge they can sail higher with the extra weight, with the aim of getting the windward boat to either have to dump/pin the kite, drop or face capsizing.

So it would seem that this, while a little unsporting, is still a windward boat situation under R11, provided time and opportunity is given to keep clear?




Posted By: Brass
Date Posted: 04 Jan 13 at 2:46am
How is a hard tactical luff that embarasses the windward boat unsporting?
 
Isn't that exactly the way the game is meant to be played?


Posted By: Rupert
Date Posted: 04 Jan 13 at 10:10am
Especially in one designs I'd say it is exactly the way the game should be played. One we get a mix of boats, then maybe a little more common sense has to come into it - after all, if a faster handicapped Assy is coming past, luffing it is unlikely to be the fastest way to the finish, though at times it will be.

I like the example of an assy boat passing astern of a reaching unarigged boat in a gust. As they go below, the gust dies. The proper course of the assy boat is then to luff to keep the kite filled, so they are entitled to push the reaching boat up, as they are not "luffing" in the rules sense, merely sailing their proper course. Or is this not the case?
However. if they loose the wind because of getting in the dirty air of the reaching boat, not because of an unrelated factor, are they then not allowed to harden up, as proper course is the course you'd sail in the absence of other boats?


-------------
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686


Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 04 Jan 13 at 10:15am
Originally posted by JTaylor

while a little unsporting,

Nothing unsporting at all. If you don't want to be luffed don't overtake close to windward. Simple.


Posted By: Quagers
Date Posted: 04 Jan 13 at 10:46am
Originally posted by Rupert


I like the example of an assy boat passing astern of a reaching unarigged boat in a gust. As they go below, the gust dies. The proper course of the assy boat is then to luff to keep the kite filled, so they are entitled to push the reaching boat up, as they are not "luffing" in the rules sense, merely sailing their proper course. Or is this not the case?
However. if they loose the wind because of getting in the dirty air of the reaching boat, not because of an unrelated factor, are they then not allowed to harden up, as proper course is the course you'd sail in the absence of other boats?

I'd say this is correct, had to prove which it is though and If the windward boat isn't used to sailing with Assy's their likely to shout at you..... a lot!

This whole thing seems fairly easy to me, a RoW boat changing course must give the keep clear boat time to keep clear in a seamanlike manner. Neither capsizing nor sailing on a reach with your kite flogging are seamanlike so if they are your only options the RoW boat has broken the rules. However dropping your kite and then heading up is seamanlike so if they give you space to do it and then continue to luff you are obliged to.

This is certainly the interpretation that has led the the MR call I posted earlier, however as MR tends to be conducted in symmetric keelboats where a good crew can strip the kite on any point of sail in <5sec it is a bit different to an assy dinghy already on the ragged edge.


Posted By: alstorer
Date Posted: 04 Jan 13 at 11:11am
Originally posted by pondmonkey

Even if you blow your main and jib? I'd have thought being 'hove to' was a perfectly seaman-like position to drop the kite, even if it's 100% not what you want to be doing at that point in a race course???
 On many assymetrics if you blow the main whilst the kite is drawing you endanger the mast.
 
If there's room to stuff up then that might be possible- though tricky, even with it flogging a spinnaker will tend to push the nose away from the wind. The boat would very quickly and possibly uncontrolably start going sideways and/or backwards- though hopefully by this point the boat forcing the luff would have sailed out from underneath and away.


-------------
-_
Al


Posted By: Ian29937
Date Posted: 04 Jan 13 at 12:16pm
Originally posted by Quagers

 
 
This whole thing seems fairly easy to me, a RoW boat changing course must give the keep clear boat time to keep clear in a seamanlike manner. Neither capsizing nor sailing on a reach with your kite flogging are seamanlike so if they are your only options the RoW boat has broken the rules. However dropping your kite and then heading up is seamanlike so if they give you space to do it and then continue to luff you are obliged to.
I agree - the days of the aggresive luff are over.  In my RS700 I tend to be overpowered a lot of the time so heading up is not an option as I capsize on top of the leeward boat and to drop the kite involves a big bear away which would result in a collision.  As long as I gain the windward overlap fairly and keep clear (ie feet not inches to windward), it is very difficult to legally luff me very far.  I'm not obliged to predict a luff.
 
16.1 When a right-of-way boat changes course, she shall give the other
boat room to keep clear
 
Room The space a boat needs in the existing conditions, including space to
comply with her obligations under the rules of Part 2 and rule 31, while
manoeuvring promptly in a seamanlike way
 
Keep Clear A boat keeps clear of a right-of-way boat
(a) if the right-of-way boat can sail her course with no need to take
avoiding action and,
(b) when the boats are overlapped, if the right-of-way boat can
also change course in both directions without immediately


Posted By: pondmonkey
Date Posted: 04 Jan 13 at 12:52pm
If we're talking common sense, then any kite boat passing close enough to windward of a slower boat that could enable them to luff (1-2 BLs Max), then they've cut it a bit fine.

An given all the bleating about how hard it is luff n' stuff an asymmetric, then you've probably not left enough room to bear away in the event of a freak gust anyway.  So quite frankly, if you capsize because you enabled someone in some slow tub to luff you, then more fool you for passing too close or not going to leeward for the bragging rights!!!


-------------


Posted By: alstorer
Date Posted: 04 Jan 13 at 12:58pm

I do somewhat agree with you opondmonkey, but sometimes no amount of shouting will stop the stick waggler for taking us to idiotic postions.



-------------
-_
Al


Posted By: Ian29937
Date Posted: 04 Jan 13 at 1:03pm
Originally posted by pondmonkey

If we're talking common sense.....
No, we're talking rules.


Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 04 Jan 13 at 1:28pm
I find all this "you can't luff asymettrics" stuff to be a very bizarre interpretation, and I think unless someone can demonstrate an appeal or case to support it sailors would be well advised not to rely on it.


Posted By: Hector
Date Posted: 04 Jan 13 at 1:31pm
Whats not seamanlike about sheeting out a sail to avoid a capsize?
IMO if I try to pass to windward a bit close - and sometimes it happens, If I have any way out - including blowing the kite, stuffing as high as I can go to slow, oversheeting to slow, etc etc then I must take those avoiding options. I do agree however that its rarely the fastest for either boat - and woe betide the guy who did it if they ever need a favour on the course!



-------------
Keith
29er 661 (with my daughters / nephew)
49er 688 (with Phil P)
RS200 968
Vortex (occasionally)
Laser 2049XX


Posted By: pondmonkey
Date Posted: 04 Jan 13 at 1:33pm
Originally posted by alstorer

I do somewhat agree with you opondmonkey, but sometimes no amount of shouting will stop the stick waggler for taking us to idiotic postions.


LOL LOL the crew's alway right hey Al?

Anyway, I think JimC's point above is very valid, no where in the rules does it preclude luffing someone because they're too short crewed to be flying a kite in a seamanlike manner, their mast might snap if they let the mainsheet out or they're just being a bit too belligerent to take the kite down if they're being forced up.


-------------


Posted By: Neptune
Date Posted: 04 Jan 13 at 1:45pm
I'm in the same camp as JimC and Pondmonkey here, but it does worry me that some interpretations of the rules are so wildly different that its no wonder incidents happen

-------------
Musto Skiff and Solo sailor


Posted By: Ian29937
Date Posted: 04 Jan 13 at 2:29pm
Originally posted by Hector

Whats not seamanlike about sheeting out a sail to avoid a capsize?
IMO if I try to pass to windward a bit close - and sometimes it happens, If I have any way out - including blowing the kite, stuffing as high as I can go to slow, oversheeting to slow, etc etc then I must take those avoiding options. ....
Without a jib to balance the boat, a flogging kite in any wind will see my boat screw up and capsize very quickly, a luff will have me in very quickly and oversheeting see's me heal and capsize unless linked to a sharp bear away into the leeward boat.  Seamanlike means different things in different boats :o)
 
Originally posted by JimC

I find all this "you can't luff asymettrics" stuff to be a very bizarre interpretation, and I think unless someone can demonstrate an appeal or case to support it sailors would be well advised not to rely on it.
 
It would be interesting to see what the official line is.  Whenever I've discussed the rules with experienced Judges, I've often been surprised at how much I've "assumed" and have learnt to read the rules much more closely as a result, which is how I got to this interpretation.
 
Originally posted by Neptune

........but it does worry me that some interpretations of the rules are so wildly different that its no wonder incidents happen 
 
I agree, I've been avoiding handicap racing/meetings for years as a result.... Wink
 
Ian


Posted By: GML
Date Posted: 04 Jan 13 at 4:51pm
Originally posted by JimC

I find all this "you can't luff asymettrics" stuff to be a very bizarre interpretation, and I think unless someone can demonstrate an appeal or case to support it sailors would be well advised not to rely on it.
 
I have never said you couldn't luff an asymmetric, merely that any boat doing do still needed to comply with rule 16.1.
 
As you say, an ISAF Case would be determinative, but I can't find one.
 
But as Quagers has pointed out, there is an official ISAF Match Racing Call that covers almost exactly this situation (MR Call G2 (Ump 33)) and it says:
"If Blue continues her luff so that Yellow, in order to keep clear, has to luff
beyond the point where she can keep her spinnaker filled and drawing, then Blue
must give Yellow room to drop her spinnaker."
Whilst only authorative for umpired match racing, none the less, in that context it is authorative (it is the official answer). And the Match Racing Rules do not change rules 11, 16.1 or 17, so unclear to me why the answer in a fleet racing situation would be any different.
 
You should not rely on anything I say - I give no guarantee as to its fitness for any purpose.


Posted By: rogerd
Date Posted: 04 Jan 13 at 5:43pm
Put yourself in the position of the slower boat. In a persuit race where one fast assy boat after another is going through to windward it is going to make it very slow having the constant wind shadow of lots of boats. I see no reason not to luff just to deter the next few boats from passing that close. It may be slow boat on boat but if you are nearing the finishing time for the persuit race it may be of great advantage to try to keep clear air for the last few minutes.
 


Posted By: Hector
Date Posted: 04 Jan 13 at 5:52pm
Originally posted by Ian29937

Originally posted by Hector

Whats not seamanlike about sheeting out a sail to avoid a capsize?
IMO if I try to pass to windward a bit close - and sometimes it happens, If I have any way out - including blowing the kite, stuffing as high as I can go to slow, oversheeting to slow, etc etc then I must take those avoiding options. ....
Without a jib to balance the boat, a flogging kite in any wind will see my boat screw up and capsize very quickly, a luff will have me in very quickly and oversheeting see's me heal and capsize unless linked to a sharp bear away into the leeward boat.  Seamanlike means different things in different boats :o)


As I sail (own) a 49er, 29er,  and Vortex and have regularly sailed RS200, and occasionally RS100, Xenon, there's not much I havent experienced about being luffed while carrying various types of asymmetric. And in almost all cases, you can do something to avoid. If you can't, then it's a R16 breach by the luffing boat, but if you can and just don't because it seems risky / slow / inconvienient then its a R11 on you. Point being, you'll never win a R11 vs R16 protest if you didnt try to avoid.


-------------
Keith
29er 661 (with my daughters / nephew)
49er 688 (with Phil P)
RS200 968
Vortex (occasionally)
Laser 2049XX


Posted By: Brass
Date Posted: 04 Jan 13 at 9:46pm
Originally posted by Ian29937

Originally posted by Quagers

This whole thing seems fairly easy to me, a RoW boat changing course must give the keep clear boat time to keep clear in a seamanlike manner. Neither capsizing nor sailing on a reach with your kite flogging are seamanlike so if they are your only options the RoW boat has broken the rules. However dropping your kite and then heading up is seamanlike so if they give you space to do it and then continue to luff you are obliged to.
I agree - the days of the aggresive luff are over.  In my RS700 I tend to be overpowered a lot of the time so heading up is not an option as I capsize on top of the leeward boat and to drop the kite involves a big bear away which would result in a collision.  As long as I gain the windward overlap fairly and keep clear (ie feet not inches to windward), it is very difficult to legally luff me very far.  I'm not obliged to predict a luff.
 
16.1 When a right-of-way boat changes course, she shall give the other
boat room to keep clear
 
Room The space a boat needs in the existing conditions, including space to
comply with her obligations under the rules of Part 2 and rule 31, while
manoeuvring promptly in a seamanlike way
 
Keep Clear A boat keeps clear of a right-ofway boat
(a) if the right-of-way boat can sail her course with no need to take
avoiding action and,
(b) when the boats are overlapped, if the right-of-way boat can
also change course in both directions without immediately
The disappearanced of the 'luff trap' hard luff with contact, is no news, and it was rule 16.1 that did away with it, but, provided rule 16.1 is adhered to, there is absolutely nothing in the rules to discourage aggressive manoeuvering to place another boat in a position of breaking a rule and being obliged to take a penalty.  That's the way the game is played.
 
It needs to be clearly understood that the test of 'seamanlike' is NOT that some particular boat, with perhaps inadequately skilled or weighty crew, may capsize or choose to riskily rag her kite.  The test for 'room' is the space required by a hypothetical boat, with the same characteristics as the actual boat in question, handled by a 'competent but not expert, crew of the appropriate number for the boat' (Case 103)


Posted By: Quagers
Date Posted: 04 Jan 13 at 10:16pm
To those think this is saying you can't luff that is not what we are getting at at all. The question was can you luff someone until they are unable to avoid a capsize. The answer, from the rules, is clearly no as you would break R.16.

If its 5knts then go crazy. 

This issue of the spinnaker being filled and drawing is a much finer point and I would agree that most protest committees probably won't side with you on that one.


Posted By: alstorer
Date Posted: 04 Jan 13 at 11:09pm
oh crikey, if it's 5knts, yes, go mental, I'll cheerfully curse myself/the stick waggler when the kite's inverted and we're drifting backwards.

-------------
-_
Al


Posted By: sargesail
Date Posted: 05 Jan 13 at 8:48pm
We'll I've been watching this one with interest unable to post...but here we go now.  I too am amazed by some of the interpretations I see here and on the race course....it seems all too often by boats trying to justify an attitude of might/size/speed is right.  And this is a classic case.  More to follow when I've reread.


Posted By: Rupert
Date Posted: 05 Jan 13 at 8:59pm
If you choose to sail a boat that can't change course without falling over, sail it in such a way that you aren't put in that position. Surely that is the seamanlike thing to do, not to whinge when the boat you are blanketing decides to do something about it. By then, so long as you are given time to steer the boat out of the way, tough.

-------------
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686


Posted By: sargesail
Date Posted: 05 Jan 13 at 9:02pm
Originally posted by JTaylor

In a hypothetical situation of two fast assy's sailing downwind in a fair breeze, leeward boat luffs windward boat with rights as per R11, however it becomes clear that in going up, the windward boat is unable to hold the boat flat in the breeze, and will capsize. 

Is the leeward boat required to give any consideration to this? Or can they keep luffing regardless? There is no real mention of any similar situation in the rules from what I've seen, only thing I could think of could maybe be on R2, fair sailing, if windward boat made it clear they were struggling and couldn't go any higher? 

So, is it fair to luff to the point of capsize?



The bit of analysis that I think has been missed is that if W can capsize without hitting L then she has been given the room required in 16.1.

And even if she can't I think in any such situation W would have to have a very clear case and evidence that she had left enough of a gap between herself and L.

And often in these situations there is actually no luff involved: at the GGP I twice had just this issue when I had elected not to hoist and was therefore sailing a proper course significantly higher than the rhumb line - spi (not just assym) boats ended up in real trouble above me having made an assumption about my intentions.  Neither swam....

We should also remember that deliberatelly swinging the rig to windward constitutes a luff - the corollary must be that you must allow room for your rig to heel to leeward as you are establishing your passing lane....

And that if your exhaust brings the leeward over in to you then tough sh*t again.


Posted By: sargesail
Date Posted: 05 Jan 13 at 9:03pm
And I don't think the MR call has any cross relevance....it's an Umpires Call, no more no less.


Posted By: Quagers
Date Posted: 05 Jan 13 at 10:15pm
To all those people who are saying "Common sense says you don't pass that close to windward of a non assy boat" etc. etc. While that may be true common sense has absolutely no bearing on the rules, it is only the words as they are written that matter. Also it is important to remember that the rules do not require you to anticipate another boats actions in any shape or form.

For example, if you are overtaking to windward you must leave enough space to 'keep clear' of them (allow them to alter course in either direction without immediately causing a collision) You are under absolutely no obligation to anticipate that they will luff, even if its the most obvious thing in the world, even if they shout that they are going to! Until they actually alter course you do not need to do anything more than keep clear. Once they do alter course you must continue to try and keep clear but they must give you time and space to do so, and that time and space is completely dependant on the conditions and the characteristics of the boats.

I think people often forget just how limiting R16.1 is, I'd say in almost 50% of luffs I see in team racing which result in contact it goes against the leeward boat.

Originally posted by sargesail

And I don't think the MR call has any cross relevance....it's an Umpires Call, no more no less.

While I don't think it can be directly applied I think you can take from it the intention of the rules. After all it tells umpires how to rule in this situation and even in match racing (in this case) they are governed by the same rules. It clearly shows that the definition of room to keep clear should take into account sail handling which is very applicable in this case.


Posted By: RS400atC
Date Posted: 07 Jan 13 at 12:18pm
How would the umpires call way of looking at things work if the leeward boat was not luffing, but merely sailing her proper course?
Perhaps on a different leg, or the course is really too tight for the kite anyway?

What class is the umpire's call from?
To me, it would make a lot more sense match racing in keelboats than handicap racing in RS800's.
In a keelboat, space to take the kite down is space for it to blow out sidewise, not room for a big bear-off.


Posted By: Quagers
Date Posted: 07 Jan 13 at 2:49pm
Proper course is only relevant for  R.17 (if they are allowed to luff or not) as long as the RoW boat is changing course, regardless if it is to sail her proper course she must give the windward boat space to keep clear.

All of this discussion only applies if a leeward boat is changing course (eg. luffing)  it the windward boat has simply burned over the top then got themselves in trouble without leeward changing course then its all on them.

As for the particulars of that call, it is simply a match racing call and applies whenever appendix C is in force completely independent of the boats being sailed. Having said that obviously most MR is done in keel boats so that is where the focus is. But the rules and principles do not change just the time and space needed as boats and conditions change.  


Posted By: sargesail
Date Posted: 07 Jan 13 at 8:00pm
Originally posted by Quagers

Proper course is only relevant for  R.17 (if they are allowed to luff or not) as long as the RoW boat is changing course, regardless if it is to sail her proper course she must give the windward boat space to keep clear.

All of this discussion only applies if a leeward boat is changing course (eg. luffing)  it the windward boat has simply burned over the top then got themselves in trouble without leeward changing course then its all on them.

As for the particulars of that call, it is simply a match racing call and applies whenever appendix C is in force completely independent of the boats being sailed. Having said that obviously most MR is done in keel boats so that is where the focus is. But the rules and principles do not change just the time and space needed as boats and conditions change.  

Quagers - you've missed or ignored the thrust of RS400s point....he's using the proper course as an illustration of the flaw in applying the MR Call in Fleet racing.....let me take this on a little further to explain.  Let's imagine that L luffs, W successfully keeps clear and then is capsized by a gust or a wave, or a pure error, after L has stopped changing course.....surely you would not argue that that is L's infringement under 16.1?

And equally I think that if half the L's with contact go against the leeward boat in Team racing then that illustrates that in 50% of cases 16.1 was not a factor....which means that (since the vast majority of luffs don't end with contact or a protest call), that in the vast majority of luff situations 16.1 is not a factor.

It amazes me that we are still in a corrective phase in this one....when the rule changed the interpretation went too far...and we are still getting people using it as a defence when they get too close to a leeward boat.

For W to have kept clear L must be able to alter course in either direction without making immediate contatct with W.  There is no limit to the size of that luff within the rules (less for 16.1) - so if you are passing to W and L can achieve immediate contact then W should be out.


Posted By: Quagers
Date Posted: 07 Jan 13 at 9:39pm
Originally posted by sargesail

Quagers - you've missed or ignored the thrust of RS400s point....he's using the proper course as an illustration of the flaw in applying the MR Call in Fleet racing.....let me take this on a little further to explain.  Let's imagine that L luffs, W successfully keeps clear and then is capsized by a gust or a wave, or a pure error, after L has stopped changing course.....surely you would not argue that that is L's infringement under 16.1?

And equally I think that if half the L's with contact go against the leeward boat in Team racing then that illustrates that in 50% of cases 16.1 was not a factor....which means that (since the vast majority of luffs don't end with contact or a protest call), that in the vast majority of luff situations 16.1 is not a factor.

It amazes me that we are still in a corrective phase in this one....when the rule changed the interpretation went too far...and we are still getting people using it as a defence when they get too close to a leeward boat.

For W to have kept clear L must be able to alter course in either direction without making immediate contatct with W.  There is no limit to the size of that luff within the rules (less for 16.1) - so if you are passing to W and L can achieve immediate contact then W should be out.

I don't disagree with (almost) any of this, my comments and interpretation were purely to do with the situation we were talking about which was an aggressive luff from L immediately causing W to capsize. If L is not changing course (or has not very recently) then she is in no danger of protest at all.

Originally posted by sargesail

 And equally I think that if half the L's with contact go against the leeward boat in Team racing then that illustrates that in 50% of cases 16.1 was not a factor....which means that (since the vast majority of luffs don't end with contact or a protest call), that in the vast majority of luff situations 16.1 is not a factor.

Just plucking rough numbers out of my head but I'd say that at the level I see (UK uni circuit) 50% of luffs result in contact/protests (especially on starts or down the run). That means that in TR 25% of all luffs have a 16.1 element, I'd say that's pretty large!

As a point of interest when I first started TR from fleet racing I used to always assume the windward boat was wrong in a luff with contact unless it was very very obviously otherwise. Nowadays though I find I am almost watching the leeward boat more than the windward (not quite but close).


Posted By: sargesail
Date Posted: 07 Jan 13 at 9:49pm
Originally posted by sargesail

 And equally I think that if half the L's with contact go against the leeward boat in Team racing then that illustrates that in 50% of cases 16.1 was not a factor....which means that (since the vast majority of luffs don't end with contact or a protest call), that in the vast majority of luff situations 16.1 is not a factor.

Just plucking rough numbers out of my head but I'd say that at the level I see (UK uni circuit) 50% of luffs result in contact/protests (especially on starts or down the run). That means that in TR 25% of all luffs have a 16.1 element, I'd say that's pretty large!

As a point of interest when I first started TR from fleet racing I used to always assume the windward boat was wrong in a luff with contact unless it was very very obviously otherwise. Nowadays though I find I am almost watching the leeward boat more than the windward (not quite but close).
[/QUOTE]

So 75% have no 16.1....that's a hefty majority!  I'm not altogether surprised to see that the % of luffs with contact is higher in Uni Team Racing than in the service and other stuff I do....probably also builds a picture of why the 16.1 figure is also high....

I find that I get most calls when I luff, stop, make mu point anout keeping clear, and then either luff again, or go straight to red.


Posted By: Quagers
Date Posted: 08 Jan 13 at 9:58am
Originally posted by sargesail

I find that I get most calls when I luff, stop, make mu point anout keeping clear, and then either luff again, or go straight to red.

That's the way to do it, as a RoW boat pushing a situation to contact is always risky. If there is no contact the worst it'll be for you is green flagged. We have such a hard time trying to get this across to new team racers.


Posted By: Stuart O
Date Posted: 08 Jan 13 at 10:33am
I know when we were MR that we were taught to luff until contact that and many in the IMRC still do, and it then goes down to speed of luff, ie did they give enough time for W to respond. For some reason MR umpires do like to hear the sound of grinding FRP LOL


Posted By: Quagers
Date Posted: 08 Jan 13 at 8:41pm
I think there is quite a big movement to stamp that out at the moment, obviously its a nightmare for race organisers with all the damage it causes. In the last couple of events I've done we have been warned off making contact to prove a point specifically in the umpires briefings. Although it's obviously still prevalent at the highest levels, which I guess is a problem in a lot of sports though.



Print Page | Close Window

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz - http://www.webwizguide.com