Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
OCS rule? |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 12> |
Author | |
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 17 Sep 21 at 2:40pm |
Andymck, you're quite right. There's a difference between a battered old club Laser, and somebodies inlaid mahogany beauty.
The approach used in MR, based on time to repair shown in Addendum E to the MR Standard SI may be helpful. https://www.sailing.org/tools/documents/2017WorldSailingStandardMatchRacingSaililngInstructionsJanuary2017-[21723">.docx Edited by Brass - 17 Sep 21 at 2:41pm |
|
![]() |
|
andymck ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() Joined: 15 Dec 06 Location: Stamford Online Status: Offline Posts: 397 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
The alternate could be is there is a cost to put the vessel back into its previous state? In that case there is a los of value in a scratch as it would have a cost to remedy.
The point has been that particularly difficult with loaned boats. What is the point minor damage you may accept to your own boat, or older boats becomes a loss to correct. The owners usually make that decision, which may be later on than the incident. Also, damage, including significant structural damage, iis not always immediately apparent. Edited by andymck - 17 Sep 21 at 10:49am |
|
Andy Mck
|
|
![]() |
|
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Serious Damage (referred to in rules 36, 44.1, 60.3, 61.1, and 63.5) is discussed in Case 141 Edited by Brass - 17 Sep 21 at 12:44am |
|
![]() |
|
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
"Damage' is discussed in Case 19.
Case 19 Question Is there a special meaning of “damage” in the racing rules? Answer No. It is not possible to define “damage” comprehensively, but one current English dictionary says “harm . . . impairing the value or usefulness of something.” This definition suggests questions to consider. Examples are:
So, no scratches or scuffs don't count. |
|
![]() |
|
andymck ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() Joined: 15 Dec 06 Location: Stamford Online Status: Offline Posts: 397 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Another rewrite to make it harder to understand
Having the exoneration in 14 was clearer. Interesting to see that some senior umpires have ignored 43.1at two events I have been at this year. Though what constitutes damage is a moot point anyway. A scuff? A scratch? A crunch? A hole? I would say all of those as I end up fixing them on our boats. |
|
Andy Mck
|
|
![]() |
|
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
C'mon Andymck,
Exoneration for no injury or damage is still there, it has been moved to rule 43.1(c) A right-of-way boat, or one sailing within the room or mark-room to which she is entitled, is exonerated for breaking rule 14 if the contact does not cause damage or injury. |
|
![]() |
|
andymck ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() Joined: 15 Dec 06 Location: Stamford Online Status: Offline Posts: 397 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Although you may have also just admitted to a rule 14 breach as well.
The damage clause has been removed. SECTION B GENERAL LIMITATIONS 14 AVOIDING CONTACT A boat shall avoid contact with another boat if reasonably possible. However, a right-of-way boat, or one sailing within the room or mark-room to which she is entitled, need not act to avoid contact until it is clear that the other boat is not keeping clear or giving room or mark-room. |
|
Andy Mck
|
|
![]() |
|
Sapspec8650 ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 15 Jul 19 Online Status: Offline Posts: 15 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
PeterG & Brass - thank you for your contributions I shall share your knowledge!
|
|
![]() |
|
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Rule 21 and Case 1, like the RRS in general, take no notice of a boat's state of mind, awareness or intention. They just consider what boats actually do.
Sapspec: You certainly were 'in' the race. You were entered, you came to the starting area, you sailed about in the racing area intending to racd, and from your preparatory signal, you were 'racing' in accordance with the definition in the RRS.
|
|
![]() |
|
PeterG ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 12 Jan 08 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 822 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
The rule says you have to give way when you are returning to the statrt line - to recross. So if you are unaware you were OCS and continue in the race normal rules apply.
|
|
Peter
Ex Cont 707 Ex Laser 189635 DY 59 |
|
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 12> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |