Print Page | Close Window

Drifting onto bouy whilst mast isin the w

Printed From: Yachts and Yachting Online
Category: General
Forum Name: Racing Rules
Forum Discription: Discuss the rules and your interpretations here
URL: http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=5972
Printed Date: 08 Aug 25 at 6:38am
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com


Topic: Drifting onto bouy whilst mast isin the w
Posted By: djdhi
Subject: Drifting onto bouy whilst mast isin the w
Date Posted: 27 Sep 09 at 10:09am

Hi, if I drift onto a bouy whilst capsized, ie with the mast inthe water--- is that an infringement ?

djdhi




Replies:
Posted By: gordon
Date Posted: 27 Sep 09 at 10:18am
Yes, whilst a boat is racing., rule 31 Touching a mark applies So if you touch the starting mark before starting, a mark that begins, bounds or ends a leg of the course which you are sailing or a finishing mark after finishing, then you must take a penalty.

Attention, there may still be classes in which class rules deem that a boat whose masthead touched the water has retired. It is in the standard SIs for team racing for instance.

Gordon


-------------
Gordon


Posted By: Andymac
Date Posted: 27 Sep 09 at 8:34pm

Originally posted by gordon


Attention, there may still be classes in which class rules deem that a boat whose masthead touched the water has retired. It is in the standard SIs for team racing for instance.

Gordon

Well I never knew that.

I'm intrigued to know which classes have ever (or still have) that rule?



Posted By: redback
Date Posted: 27 Sep 09 at 9:16pm
Dragons?


Posted By: gordon
Date Posted: 27 Sep 09 at 10:37pm
International 14s. It is also in the standard UKTRA team racing SIs


Gordon


-------------
Gordon


Posted By: craiggo
Date Posted: 28 Sep 09 at 8:57am
It also depends if you are at an RS event, where touching of the marks is permitted.


Posted By: gordon
Date Posted: 28 Sep 09 at 9:18am
Only at class events if it is written into the SIs. The act of buying an RS boat does not give a general dispensation from the RRS!

The RS modification of rule 31 (which allows you to touch but not manhandle a mark) does not seem to have gained general acceptance outside RSworld.

Does anyone believe that it is a modification worth using, or does the modification just mean that mark roundings are even more indisiplined?

Gordon


-------------
Gordon


Posted By: Stefan Lloyd
Date Posted: 28 Sep 09 at 10:00am
Those of us who sometime sail around knarly barnacled navigation marks in a few knots of tide tend to view touching marks as a bad thing.


Posted By: asterix
Date Posted: 28 Sep 09 at 1:32pm

Originally posted by gordon

Only at class events if it is written into the SIs. The act of buying an RS boat does not give a general dispensation from the RRS!

The RS modification of rule 31 (which allows you to touch but not manhandle a mark) does not seem to have gained general acceptance outside RSworld.

Does anyone believe that it is a modification worth using, or does the modification just mean that mark roundings are even more indisiplined?

Gordon

It's also not only used for RS boats. I have competed events where Laser 4000s and 5000s have been allowed to touch the marks (but oddly not the L2000s).  I don't understand why this is done



Posted By: craiggo
Date Posted: 28 Sep 09 at 3:29pm
Gordon, your right the modifications to the rule for RS boats only applies at RS events.

I have to say that being able to hit the marks in practice makes no difference at all to the way you sail as hitting the mark with the boat is slow.

However it does reduce the number of protests and turns as nobody is concerned if your back brushes the mark as you sail by.



Posted By: Rupert
Date Posted: 28 Sep 09 at 4:48pm

It also used to be in the rules that if you hit a mark you had to retire. Even at the Firefly Nationals as recently as 1985 that was the case. So be thankful the rules have changed.

Does seem harsh that if you hit a mark while capsized you have to do turns, though! Shame the turns you do while trying to right the boat and having it blow over again don't count...



-------------
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686


Posted By: Andymac
Date Posted: 29 Sep 09 at 8:12pm

Originally posted by craiggo

Gordon, your right the modifications to the rule for RS boats only applies at RS events.

I have to say that being able to hit the marks in practice makes no difference at all to the way you sail as hitting the mark with the boat is slow.

However it does reduce the number of protests and turns as nobody is concerned if your back brushes the mark as you sail by.

I would generally agree with that. However if you squeezed into a less than ample gap that you are not entitled to (but avoided infringing other boats), and gained substantial places because of it........

Could/has that happened in the RS fleet?

What recourse could there be?  Rule 2?



Posted By: Andymac
Date Posted: 29 Sep 09 at 8:15pm
Originally posted by Rupert

 Shame the turns you do while trying to right the boat and having it blow over again don't count...

You might at least be able to claim one tack!



Posted By: tack'ho
Date Posted: 07 Oct 09 at 5:42pm
Just a note from the Interservice team racing.  If you are forced into a mark as a result of avoiding an infringing boat (naughty Navy) you are NOT required to turn.  I blew a winning combination as I wasn't sure

-------------
I might be sailing it, but it's still sh**e!


Posted By: gordon
Date Posted: 08 Oct 09 at 11:11am
Tack'ho - not exactly true...

A boat that touches a mark having been compelled to do so by a boat that broke a rule, may, under rule 64.1 c, be exonerated from having broken rule 31 BY THE PROTEST COMMITTEE. The exoneration is not automatic.

If you are compelled to touch a mark you must protest the other boat. If you do not, and it is not established that you were compelled to hit the mark, then the only fact is that YOU broke a rule.

This also applies to team racing - it is just that the protest are dealt with immediately by the umpires.

Gordon


-------------
Gordon



Print Page | Close Window

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz - http://www.webwizguide.com