Print Page | Close Window

Luffing

Printed From: Yachts and Yachting Online
Category: General
Forum Name: Racing Rules
Forum Discription: Discuss the rules and your interpretations here
URL: http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=5737
Printed Date: 08 Aug 25 at 6:49am
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com


Topic: Luffing
Posted By: rich96
Subject: Luffing
Date Posted: 21 Jul 09 at 5:01pm

Can anyone clear up an issue for me ?

Sailing in Lasers on broad reach, on port, towards the leeward mark that is to be left to port.

Lead laser luffs to discourage chasing the laser from going above her and potentailly gaining an inside overlap at the next mark.

Chasing laser then ducks to leeward and begins to luff lead Laser way above the leeward mark (so far the they both have to gybe back). Cgasing Laser gets ahead.

Is it correct that if you gain the overlap from astern you cannot then sail above your proper course ? (which in a Laser would be straight towards the next mark ?).

 

 




Replies:
Posted By: laser4000
Date Posted: 21 Jul 09 at 6:53pm
If you gain overlap from astern then under rule 17 you can't sail above your proper course. The windward boat is still obliged under rule 11 to keep clear of you. The relevant bit is: -

"If a boat clear astern becomes overlapped within two of her hull
lengths to leeward of a boat on the same tack, she shall not sail above
her proper course while they remain on the same tack and overlapped
within that distance, unless in doing so she promptly sails
astern of the other boat."





Posted By: iansmithofotley
Date Posted: 21 Jul 09 at 10:35pm

Originally posted by laser4000

If you gain overlap from astern then under rule 17 you can't sail above your proper course. The windward boat is still obliged under rule 11 to keep clear of you. The relevant bit is: -

"If a boat clear astern becomes overlapped within two of her hull
lengths to leeward of a boat on the same tack, she shall not sail above
her proper course while they remain on the same tack and overlapped
within that distance, unless in doing so she promptly sails
astern of the other boat."



Hi everyone,

I think that this rule is easy to understand and interpret with regards to fleet racing, but I find it ambiguous in handicap racing.

In a handicap race,  where a una rigged boat (e.g. a Laser) is, for example, sailing on a dead run, on the rhum line from the previous mark, to the leeward mark, there can be problems with an assymetric boat (e.g. an RS 200) which starts to luff from a recently acquired overlap, from astern, and within the two boat lengths.  In this situation the assymetric crew will (rightly) state that they are sailing their 'proper course' as they intend to gybe downwind. 

The wording of the rule does not take any account of the fact that both boats may be sailing their 'proper course' but the 'proper course' might be different for the boats concerned. I suppose that the rules were not designed for differently rigged boats.

Personally, as I sail a una rigged boat, I try to anticipate this situation and try to keep out of trouble beforehand, but it is often difficult when there are several assymetric boats, often of different classes and sailing at different speeds, luffing, albeit sailing their 'proper course'. 

It is very easy to be taken somewhere where you don't really want to go. Do other people have a problem with this rule in handicap racing or is it just me?

Ian  (Yorkshire Dales S.C.)

 



Posted By: Scooby_simon
Date Posted: 21 Jul 09 at 11:13pm
Originally posted by iansmithofotley

Originally posted by laser4000

If you gain overlap from astern then under rule 17 you can't sail above your proper course. The windward boat is still obliged under rule 11 to keep clear of you. The relevant bit is: -

"If a boat clear astern becomes overlapped within two of her hull
lengths to leeward of a boat on the same tack, she shall not sail above
her proper course while they remain on the same tack and overlapped
within that distance, unless in doing so she promptly sails
astern of the other boat."



Hi everyone,

I think that this rule is easy to understand and interpret with regards to fleet racing, but I find it ambiguous in handicap racing.

In a handicap race,  where a una rigged boat (e.g. a Laser) is, for example, sailing on a dead run, on the rhum line from the previous mark, to the leeward mark, there can be problems with an assymetric boat (e.g. an RS 200) which starts to luff from a recently acquired overlap, from astern, and within the two boat lengths.  In this situation the assymetric crew will (rightly) state that they are sailing their 'proper course' as they intend to gybe downwind. 

The wording of the rule does not take any account of the fact that both boats may be sailing their 'proper course' but the 'proper course' might be different for the boats concerned. I suppose that the rules were not designed for differently rigged boats.

Personally, as I sail a una rigged boat, I try to anticipate this situation and try to keep out of trouble beforehand, but it is often difficult when there are several assymetric boats, often of different classes and sailing at different speeds, luffing, albeit sailing their 'proper course'. 

It is very easy to be taken somewhere where you don't really want to go. Do other people have a problem with this rule in handicap racing or is it just me?

Ian  (Yorkshire Dales S.C.)

 

 

Ian,

 

yes they do.

 

R11 - Windward gives way.

If there is a dissagreement as to what the LEEWARD boat's proper course is, then a protest should be held.  Windward still gives way and then protests. 

 

Remember that the leeward boat has to justify the course as the course they would sail.



-------------
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..


Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 21 Jul 09 at 11:14pm
Originally posted by iansmithofotley

The wording of the rule does not take any account of the fact that both boats may be sailing their 'proper course' but the 'proper course' might be different for the boats concerned.

The rules do anticipate that - there are a number of examples in the case book. Its best to read through th case book alongside the rules if you want to get a good understanding, and IMHO the case book is essential for any protest committee.


Posted By: Scooby_simon
Date Posted: 21 Jul 09 at 11:20pm
Jim, Case 14 covers this exactly.

-------------
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..


Posted By: gordon
Date Posted: 21 Jul 09 at 11:30pm
The rules are very clear

Rule 17 is a limitation on the course that the leeward right of way boat may steer. The leeward boat is not allowed to sail above HER proper course. If leeward boat is an assymetric and to windward is a boat that sails deeper then leeward boat may luff up to HER proper course, which may be well above windward boat's proper course.

Gordon


-------------
Gordon


Posted By: iansmithofotley
Date Posted: 21 Jul 09 at 11:55pm

Hi everyone,

Thank you for your replies, the interpretation of the rules is as I thought it was and I am aware of the casebook. 

It's not so bad if the una rigged boat can gybe onto starboard tack when the assymetrics are on port tack but when the una rigged boat is on starboard tack, as well as the assymetrics, without anticipation and forward planning, often there is not much that the una rigged boat can do to prevent being sailed away from her original 'proper course' and often a long way from it. The situation is even worse in a 'crowded' handicap fleet.

Rightly or wrongly, my confusion was/is that in handicap racing, in the situation that I have previously described, it does not seem to be a 'fair' rule for all participating boats in this situation, but 'rules are rules' and we should all try our best to sail to them even if sometimes they do not appear to be fair.

Thanks again.

Ian  (Yorkshire Dales S.C.)



Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 22 Jul 09 at 12:17am
Originally posted by iansmithofotley

in the situation that I have previously described, it does not seem to be a 'fair' rule for all participating boats in this situation
Every boat has a downside in these situations... few things more irritating than some Laser or other Una rig boat stuffing up high when you desperately need to free off and get some boat speed in your high performance boat. What comes around goes around!


Posted By: Andymac
Date Posted: 22 Jul 09 at 3:22am

Originally posted by JimC

Originally posted by iansmithofotley

in the situation that I have previously described, it does not seem to be a 'fair' rule for all participating boats in this situation
Every boat has a downside in these situations... few things more irritating than some Laser or other Una rig boat stuffing up high when you desperately need to free off and get some boat speed in your high performance boat. What comes around goes around!

And unstayed una rigs running by the lee on starboard. As you rightly say Jim, what comes around goes around. The 'situations' should even themselves out. The alternative is to fleet race.



Posted By: jeffers
Date Posted: 22 Jul 09 at 9:13am

Originally posted by laser4000

If you gain overlap from astern then under rule 17 you can't sail above your proper course. The windward boat is still obliged under rule 11 to keep clear of you. The relevant bit is: -

"If a boat clear astern becomes overlapped within two of her hull
lengths to leeward of a boat on the same tack, she shall not sail above
her proper course while they remain on the same tack and overlapped
within that distance, unless in doing so she promptly sails
astern of the other boat."



This is the relevant answer for the OP's question. They were both in Laser's so the other infor about different classes having different proper courses etc.. whilst interesting is irrelevant in this case.

I would have protested the chasing Laser or if it was just a club race had a chat after the race (calling protest in the race in case their reaction was negative to the chat).



-------------
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74


Posted By: Scooby_simon
Date Posted: 22 Jul 09 at 9:53am
Originally posted by jeffers

Originally posted by laser4000

If you gain overlap from astern then under rule 17 you can't sail above your proper course. The windward boat is still obliged under rule 11 to keep clear of you. The relevant bit is: -

"If a boat clear astern becomes overlapped within two of her hull
lengths to leeward of a boat on the same tack, she shall not sail above
her proper course while they remain on the same tack and overlapped
within that distance, unless in doing so she promptly sails
astern of the other boat."



This is the relevant answer for the OP's question. They were both in Laser's so the other infor about different classes having different proper courses etc.. whilst interesting is irrelevant in this case.

I would have protested the chasing Laser or if it was just a club race had a chat after the race (calling protest in the race in case their reaction was negative to the chat).

 

It IS still relevant as the leeward boat STILL dictates proper course; if you do not think the leeward boat can JUSTIFY their course as proper course, then protest / have a chat.

Just because you think their course is not proper course, does not mean the PC will agree with YOU.



-------------
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..


Posted By: jeffers
Date Posted: 22 Jul 09 at 2:14pm
Originally posted by Scooby_simon

Originally posted by jeffers

Originally posted by laser4000

If you gain overlap from astern then under rule 17 you can't sail above your proper course. The windward boat is still obliged under rule 11 to keep clear of you. The relevant bit is: -

"If a boat clear astern becomes overlapped within two of her hull
lengths to leeward of a boat on the same tack, she shall not sail above
her proper course while they remain on the same tack and overlapped
within that distance, unless in doing so she promptly sails
astern of the other boat."



This is the relevant answer for the OP's question. They were both in Laser's so the other infor about different classes having different proper courses etc.. whilst interesting is irrelevant in this case.

I would have protested the chasing Laser or if it was just a club race had a chat after the race (calling protest in the race in case their reaction was negative to the chat).

 

It IS still relevant as the leeward boat STILL dictates proper course; if you do not think the leeward boat can JUSTIFY their course as proper course, then protest / have a chat.

Just because you think their course is not proper course, does not mean the PC will agree with YOU.

I think even the most hard line of PC's would have a hard time finding in favour of LW in this case as both boats were of the same class. Even so diving off low and then luffing back high above the mark would diffult to prove as proper course for any boat (remember proper course is in the absence of other boats).

I cannot think of a single instance when I have wanted to go way above a mark when there have not been any other boats round me.

Were I on a PC presiding over a case like this I would ask LW what his course would have been has the other boat not been present.



-------------
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74


Posted By: Scooby_simon
Date Posted: 22 Jul 09 at 2:22pm
Originally posted by jeffers

Originally posted by Scooby_simon

Originally posted by jeffers

Originally posted by laser4000

If you gain overlap from astern then under rule 17 you can't sail above your proper course. The windward boat is still obliged under rule 11 to keep clear of you. The relevant bit is: -

"If a boat clear astern becomes overlapped within two of her hull
lengths to leeward of a boat on the same tack, she shall not sail above
her proper course while they remain on the same tack and overlapped
within that distance, unless in doing so she promptly sails
astern of the other boat."



This is the relevant answer for the OP's question. They were both in Laser's so the other infor about different classes having different proper courses etc.. whilst interesting is irrelevant in this case.

I would have protested the chasing Laser or if it was just a club race had a chat after the race (calling protest in the race in case their reaction was negative to the chat).

 

It IS still relevant as the leeward boat STILL dictates proper course; if you do not think the leeward boat can JUSTIFY their course as proper course, then protest / have a chat.

Just because you think their course is not proper course, does not mean the PC will agree with YOU.

I think even the most hard line of PC's would have a hard time find in favour of LW in this case. As both boats were of the same class. Even so diving off low and then luffing back high above the mark would diffult to prove as proper course for any boat (remember proper course is in the absence of other boats).

I cannot think of a single instance when I have wanted to go way above a mark when there have not been any other boats round me.

I can come up with a couple very quickly

 

1, LW boat has much heavier crew and thus to plane, needs to go higher.
2, LW (Cat in this case) Spi halyard in jammed and so cannot fly kite, still wishing to "go wild" (fly a hull) down wind and so needs to go higher than WW as they have the kite up
3, Slow cat such as the Dart 15; sometimes it pays to dead-run, sometime to reach off a LITTLE.  Again, Skipper of leeward boat decides what proper course is.

Essentially, even if you think LW is talking crap, you still have to give way and then protest.  Back to case 11.

 



-------------
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..


Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 22 Jul 09 at 2:28pm
Originally posted by jeffers

Even so diving off low and then luffing back high above the mark would diffult to prove as proper course for any boat

If he dived so low that the overlap counted as established from leeward, not astern then L would be allowed to luff. Its all in the fine detail!


Posted By: Scooby_simon
Date Posted: 22 Jul 09 at 2:30pm

Originally posted by JimC

Originally posted by jeffers

Even so diving off low and then luffing back high above the mark would diffult to prove as proper course for any boat

If he dived so low that the overlap counted as established from leeward, not astern then L would be allowed to luff. Its all in the fine detail!

Yep, the Diving low is a tactical move; returning to proper course afterwards.  You do not, as far as I am aware, have to sail proper course to GAIN the overlap......



-------------
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..


Posted By: jeffers
Date Posted: 22 Jul 09 at 4:05pm
Originally posted by rich96

Chasing laser then ducks to leeward and begins to luff lead Laser way above the leeward mark (so far the they both have to gybe back). Cgasing Laser gets ahead.

Explain to me how, in a Laser, this could be considered proper course on a leg that is described by the OP as a broad reach....

If I, as a protest cimmittee member, am not satisfied of the explanation of LW as to these actions I would almost certainly DSQ them.

I appreciate this is difficult to picture without the use of diagrams and a protest kit but taking the OP description of events I still maintain the LW did not sail their proper course.



-------------
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74


Posted By: Garry
Date Posted: 22 Jul 09 at 4:06pm

No one has mentioned waves as a reason for snaking all over the place, whether there is a boat to windward or not.

 

Garry



-------------
Garry

Lark 2252, Contender 298

www.cuckoos.eclipse.co.uk


Posted By: gordon
Date Posted: 22 Jul 09 at 4:37pm
Rule 17 only puts a limitation on the right of the leeward boat to sail ABOVE her proper course, nothing prevents her sailing below this course. So a boat may sail low (possibly on a wave) establish an overlap and then luff up to, but not above her proper course.

If a boat changes course to get onto or stay on a wave then this would be considered a proper course. Planing or surfing conditions wouod have to exist at the time of the incident.

Gordon




-------------
Gordon



Print Page | Close Window

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz - http://www.webwizguide.com