Print Page | Close Window

Man overboard!!

Printed From: Yachts and Yachting Online
Category: General
Forum Name: Racing Rules
Forum Discription: Discuss the rules and your interpretations here
URL: http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=4153
Printed Date: 08 Aug 25 at 4:34am
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com


Topic: Man overboard!!
Posted By: Enterprising
Subject: Man overboard!!
Date Posted: 13 Apr 08 at 11:04pm

not a common occurrence this, but did happen at our club today, and has ignited some debate.

Coming up to the finish line, in a 2 handed boat, threw in one last tack to cross the line, missed the toe straps and exited the boat head first. This left the crew to stop the boat capsizing, in the course of which the boat crossed the finish line.

the unfortunate exit from the boat happened within 10 feet of the line.

Helm never let go of the main, and proceeded to haul one very wet body back into the boat, by which time the boat had cleared the line.

there was no infringement with any other boatand did not collide with the finishing marks.  the question is has the boat legally finished, or does it have to go back and re-cross the finish line.




Replies:
Posted By: Contender 541
Date Posted: 14 Apr 08 at 12:02am

needs to go back in my view

I recall something about finishing with the same amount you started with - otherwise you could have 10 people onboard in order to go upwind and ditch most of them tocome back down!!

I seem to recall an Americas Cup story to the same effect



-------------
When you find a big kettle of crazy it's probably best not to stir it - Pointy Haired Boss

Crew on 505 8780



Posted By: Scooby_simon
Date Posted: 14 Apr 08 at 12:11am

As the helm was still "connected" as he was hanging onto the mainsheet when the boat finished, it could be argued that all is OK.

 

Might depend if the boat speeded up when he "fell" out and so there maybe "illegal propulsion" going on. 

 

 



-------------
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..


Posted By: Stefan Lloyd
Date Posted: 14 Apr 08 at 6:09am

47.2 No person on board shall intentionally leave, except when ill or injured, or to help a person or vessel in danger, or to swim. A person leaving the boat by accident or to swim shall be back on board before the boat continues in the race.

I don't think hanging onto the mainsheet counts as "back on board".

 



Posted By: alstorer
Date Posted: 14 Apr 08 at 7:38am
By strict reading of the rules, they proabably should have circled back to course side of the line and recrossed. However, I reckon the club should honour this incident in some way come prizegiving, as it sounds frickin funny


Posted By: English Dave
Date Posted: 14 Apr 08 at 9:29am

I once pitchpoled round the last mark and finished the race with me and crew both onboard a capsized boat. Not only was I "finished" but the race officer and team came out of the hut with big course boards, marking me for "style".



-------------
English Dave
http://www.ballyholme.com - Ballyholme Yacht Club

(You'd think I'd be better at it by now)

Hurricane 5.9 SX
RS700


Posted By: Charlie
Date Posted: 14 Apr 08 at 9:35am
Originally posted by Stefan Lloyd

47.2 No person on board shall intentionally leave, except when ill or injured, or to help a person or vessel in danger, or to swim. A person leaving the boat by accident or to swim shall be back on board before the boat continues in the race.

Wait so it's actually written in the rules that you can leave the boat for a swim, so if it's an absolute drifter of a race on a hot day the crew could jump overboard as soon as you start then swim around the finish line to be picked up just before the boat finishes, anybody want to try that?



-------------
Finn GBR 657 - Blown It
Laser 164635
Planet Earth: 30% Land, 70% race course!


Posted By: alstorer
Date Posted: 14 Apr 08 at 10:31am
Read that rule again, Charlie.


Posted By: Charlie
Date Posted: 14 Apr 08 at 2:37pm

Originally posted by alstorer

Read that rule again, Charlie.

Oops missed the continues bit



-------------
Finn GBR 657 - Blown It
Laser 164635
Planet Earth: 30% Land, 70% race course!


Posted By: alstorer
Date Posted: 14 Apr 08 at 3:23pm
I guessed that's what you'd done


Posted By: Spyderman
Date Posted: 14 Apr 08 at 4:06pm
The boat has finished according to the definition; It has crossed the finish line in the direction the course from the last mark.
The RC must record her as such. She also has broken rule 47.2 as Stefan pointed out. But in order to loose that place someone - either another boat or the RC - must protest her for breaking that rule. Only the PC can score her worse. (RRS A5).

Of course she should have sailed back to the course side and finished again, but as long as she's not protested her place should not be altered.



-------------
Are you interested in the Racing Rules of Sailing? Go to: http://rrsstudy.blogspot.com - http://rrsstudy.blogspot.com


Posted By: Enterprising
Date Posted: 14 Apr 08 at 7:50pm

well, the boat did, when informed of the intention to protest, dip the line and re-finish, and was given the second time not the first.... and still retained the exact position on handicap.

The intent to protest was given by the 2 lasers that had just been nipped on the line by the enterprise, and were in danger of having their pride hurt.

oh yes, and the water was cold.



Posted By: alstorer
Date Posted: 14 Apr 08 at 10:53pm
Originally posted by Enterprising


oh yes, and the water was cold.



Tee hee! We have an admission!



Print Page | Close Window

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz - http://www.webwizguide.com