Print Page | Close Window

water!

Printed From: Yachts and Yachting Online
Category: General
Forum Name: Racing Rules
Forum Discription: Discuss the rules and your interpretations here
URL: http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=3972
Printed Date: 08 Aug 25 at 1:34am
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com


Topic: water!
Posted By: HannahJ
Subject: water!
Date Posted: 24 Feb 08 at 9:51pm
At a water at the mark situation, you're required to call within 2 boat lengths.  However, in a situation with more than one class of boat of different lengths, which "length" counts?

-------------
MIRROR 64799 "Dolphin"
The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist hopes it will change; the realist adjusts the sail



Replies:
Posted By: Charlie
Date Posted: 24 Feb 08 at 10:01pm
I think it's the longest out of the two boats, i'd like to see an oppie calling water on a thames A-rater!

-------------
Finn GBR 657 - Blown It
Laser 164635
Planet Earth: 30% Land, 70% race course!


Posted By: radixon
Date Posted: 24 Feb 08 at 10:08pm
yes, the longest, but its always difficult to judge it!    

-------------


Posted By: Villan
Date Posted: 24 Feb 08 at 10:08pm
Originally posted by Charlie

I think it's the longest out of the two boats, i'd like to see an oppie calling water on a thames A-rater!


You provide them ... I'll do it!

-------------
Vareo - 149 "Secrets"
http://www.TandyUKServers.co.uk" rel="nofollow - TandyUK Servers


Posted By: iansmithofotley
Date Posted: 24 Feb 08 at 10:10pm

 

 

Hi Hannah,

I think that this is the rule that applies:

Definition:  Two-Length Zone - The area around a mark or obstruction within a distance of two hull lengths of the boat nearer to it.

Ian  (Yorkshire Dales S.C.)



Posted By: jeffers
Date Posted: 25 Feb 08 at 11:28am
What Ian said...always the closest boat (ie the boat that enterns the 'zone' first.

Do bear in mind that depending on wind strengths the 'about to round or pass a mark....' can be much further away that 2 boat lengths depending on the amount of sail handling required.

A friend of mine fell afoul of this at a Fireball open. No one can understand how he lost the protest (even the offending helm admitted he thought he was wrong) and the protest committee threw the other boat with the above explaination (it was a windy day F5-6 and the incident took place at a gybe mark).

Paul


-------------
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74



Print Page | Close Window

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz - http://www.webwizguide.com