Print Page | Close Window

Tacking for the mark - hail

Printed From: Yachts and Yachting Online
Category: General
Forum Name: Racing Rules
Forum Discription: Discuss the rules and your interpretations here
URL: http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=3402
Printed Date: 08 Aug 25 at 1:01am
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com


Topic: Tacking for the mark - hail
Posted By: Matt Jackson
Subject: Tacking for the mark - hail
Date Posted: 17 Sep 07 at 12:58pm

A near incident recently has been bothering me for a while and I wonder if you could give an opinion? I was close-hauled on starboard approaching the port lay-line of a starboard rounding windward mark more than 10 boatlengths from the mark. There was one boat about 2-3 boatlengths to leeward and slightly ahead, it was about f3 so I was just on the wire. As I was thinking about tacking, the boat to leeward shouted 'Tacking for the mark' and immediately tacked. As it happened I tacked at the same time and they ended up directly astern.
 
However if it had been any windier I would have sailed on for another boatlength or 2 before tacking so I could free off a bit and plane upwind. In this instance they would have hit me or I would have to crash-tack to avoid them probably capsizing to windward. I had never heard this call before but have subsequently heard it again at least once indicating that this is likely to happen again.
 
My rules knowledge may not be fantastic but I don't believe the other boat has any rights in this situation at all as I am on starboard and can tack when I want (or not at all) with no 'proper course' to windward.

Opinions please.



-------------
Laser 203001, Harrier (H+) 36



Replies:
Posted By: Noah
Date Posted: 17 Sep 07 at 1:06pm

I agree - he cannot tack & expect you to keep clear. He's now on port and as such the 'give way' boat.

To play devil's advocate a bit, his hail could have been 'informative' just to let you know what he was doing, and if you hadn't tacked he could / would have ducked your transom. Or, the hail might have been speculative - to see what your response was...

My rulebook is out of date, however, so I could be wrong - it has been known



-------------
Nick
D-Zero 316



Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 17 Sep 07 at 1:07pm
I don't believe the other boat has any rights to force you to tack either. You can push them as far past the mark as you like.


Posted By: Matt Jackson
Date Posted: 17 Sep 07 at 1:12pm

The other time I heard it (2 different boats) they definitely thought this gave them right of way as there was a near collision and a lot of shouting afterwards. I'm wondering if this is a local misinterpretation which has spread throughout the (sometimes quite insular) club.



-------------
Laser 203001, Harrier (H+) 36


Posted By: English Dave
Date Posted: 17 Sep 07 at 1:15pm

No, I don't think they had any rights either.

As leeward they are right-of way boat until they pass head to wind, at which point you have the rights. They are not permitted to tack "into you". Unless the boat could carry its way at a head to wind position to luff you from 2 boat lengths away, I cannot see how they would have been entitled to call anything on you.

In windward/leeward courses this is the reason to round the bottom mark nice and tight because even if you are slightly behind a boat, if he is lower than you you can control when he tacks.



-------------
English Dave
http://www.ballyholme.com - Ballyholme Yacht Club

(You'd think I'd be better at it by now)

Hurricane 5.9 SX
RS700


Posted By: Scooby_simon
Date Posted: 17 Sep 07 at 1:19pm

No rights at all. 

This is the reason that generally stb mark roundings are not a good idea as you have people tacking onto port to round it and loose rights.  But this is the reason they are used in match racing.

But as stated above, it could be an"information" hail, but still carries not weight in the rules.  The person hailing this needs their rule knowledge correcting PDQ.



-------------
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..


Posted By: Guest
Date Posted: 17 Sep 07 at 1:35pm
Straight port & stb situation ... if I heard someone say that I would shout starboard loudly so they understood my intentions....

-------------


Posted By: gordon
Date Posted: 17 Sep 07 at 1:44pm
The other boat was right of way boat until she passed head to wind. She was then tacking and must keep clear. On reaching a close hauled course she was on port tack and must therefore continue to keep clear. Your only obligation would then be to  change course in such a way as to give her room to keep clear.

Gordon


-------------
Gordon


Posted By: Stuart O
Date Posted: 17 Sep 07 at 2:15pm

Originally posted by gordon

The other boat was right of way boat until she passed head to wind. She was then tacking and must keep clear. On reaching a close hauled course she was on port tack and must therefore continue to keep clear. Your only obligation would then be to  change course in such a way as to give her room to keep clear.

Gordon

And there was me thinking that you had to hold your course as a stb boat! My understanding is that although Port has to give way to stb... stb has to hold her course (no deviation) unless advoiding a collision. Been in many a protest room where port has argued that stb has altered course therefore causing the collision.

 



Posted By: Scooby_simon
Date Posted: 17 Sep 07 at 2:18pm
might a Rule 2 / 69 be apporpiate here ?

-------------
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..


Posted By: gordon
Date Posted: 17 Sep 07 at 2:40pm
A right of way boat must, when changing course, give the other boat room to keep clear (see RRS 16.1). In addition rule 16.2 means that if a port tack boat is keeping clear by sailing to pass astern of the starboard boat then the starboard boat shall not change course so as that the port tack boat would immedaitely need to change course to continue keeping clear.

The right of way boat may change course but, reasonably, the rules limit this so that the keep clear boat cannot be put in an impossible position.

If the unjustified hail by the keep clear boat results in her gaining a significant advantage there may be grounds for a protest under Rule 2 (Fair Sailing). However a competitor cannot initiate an action under rule 69 (Allegations of gross misconduct). Only the Protest Committee or the National Authority can do this.

Gordon




-------------
Gordon


Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 17 Sep 07 at 2:40pm
Originally posted by Scooby_simon

might a Rule 2 / 69 be apporpiate here ?

If I were on the PC (silly idea!)

If we were confident that it was a deliberate hail to confuse (like yelling "starboard" when on port tack) then I think we'd take action under rule 2, a DNE and possibly a R69 hearing depending on circumstances. If it was just plain ignorance of the rules then I'd be content with giving them a DSQ.


Posted By: Stuart O
Date Posted: 17 Sep 07 at 2:55pm

Think you could be right there!!!

Gordon I think you maybe getting confused with........ if a boat aquires right of way through her own actions, the other boat is entitled to space to keep clear.

As both boats are on stb in this case a tack onto port means that the boat as you state having gone through head to wind has to give way to the stb boat. Any deviation from stbs course would constitute as an alteration of course would mean that port has an argument that she had ample room to keep clear, however the actions of the stb boat meant that this was impossible and stb had altered course thus causing the collision. If I remember both boats get dsq.



Posted By: Guest
Date Posted: 17 Sep 07 at 2:57pm

Originally posted by JimC

Originally posted by Scooby_simon

might a Rule 2 / 69 be apporpiate here ?

If I were on the PC (silly idea!)

If we were confident that it was a deliberate hail to confuse (like yelling "starboard" when on port tack) then I think we'd take action under rule 2, a DNE and possibly a R69 hearing depending on circumstances. If it was just plain ignorance of the rules then I'd be content with giving them a DSQ.

I think that would be completely over the top ... the guy is just informing the right of way boat of his actions, he may have inteneded to tack then duck ...

I can't see anything unsporting in telling someone in advance what you are about to do ... quite helpful really ...



-------------


Posted By: Stuart O
Date Posted: 17 Sep 07 at 3:10pm
Originally posted by Guest#260

Originally posted by JimC

Originally posted by Scooby_simon

might a Rule 2 / 69 be apporpiate here ?

If I were on the PC (silly idea!)

If we were confident that it was a deliberate hail to confuse (like yelling "starboard" when on port tack) then I think we'd take action under rule 2, a DNE and possibly a R69 hearing depending on circumstances. If it was just plain ignorance of the rules then I'd be content with giving them a DSQ.

I think that would be completely over the top ... the guy is just informing the right of way boat of his actions, he may have inteneded to tack then duck ...

I can't see anything unsporting in telling someone in advance what you are about to do ... quite helpful really ...

Sorry Rick I disagree.

From the information we have been given, he hails and tacks immediatley. Thus putting the stb boat in a position that a collision is more than probable even if he did intend on ducking stb transom. Whilst a hail helps to clear a situation up. The hail given is not in accordance with the rules, although before anyone says anything I know a hail is not required, it does help, and sounds as if it is given with the thought that this is a valid hail and he has a right to hail and tack and stb has to give way.



Posted By: Guest
Date Posted: 17 Sep 07 at 3:53pm
Originally posted by Stuart O

Originally posted by Guest#260

Originally posted by JimC

Originally posted by Scooby_simon

might a Rule 2 / 69 be apporpiate here ?

If I were on the PC (silly idea!)

If we were confident that it was a deliberate hail to confuse (like yelling "starboard" when on port tack) then I think we'd take action under rule 2, a DNE and possibly a R69 hearing depending on circumstances. If it was just plain ignorance of the rules then I'd be content with giving them a DSQ.

I think that would be completely over the top ... the guy is just informing the right of way boat of his actions, he may have inteneded to tack then duck ...

I can't see anything unsporting in telling someone in advance what you are about to do ... quite helpful really ...

Sorry Rick I disagree.

From the information we have been given, he hails and tacks immediatley. Thus putting the stb boat in a position that a collision is more than probable even if he did intend on ducking stb transom. Whilst a hail helps to clear a situation up. The hail given is not in accordance with the rules, although before anyone says anything I know a hail is not required, it does help, and sounds as if it is given with the thought that this is a valid hail and he has a right to hail and tack and stb has to give way.

I am not commenting on the details of the boat on boat situation as we can't tell the facts on that ... I was just commenting that the hail is not a rule 2/69 issue IMHO



-------------


Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 17 Sep 07 at 4:04pm
Originally posted by Guest#260

I was just commenting that the hail is not a rule 2/69 issue IMHO


The RYA and ISAF would seem to disagree with you *if* the hail was considered to have been made with the *deliberate* intention of attempting to confuse the other boat into thinking it had to give way when that was not the case.


Case 47 in the ISAF Case Book
Question
An experienced helmsman of a port-tack boat hails ‘Starboard!’ to a beginner who, although on starboard tack, not being sure of himself and probably being scared of having his boat holed, tacks to port to avoid a collision. No protest is lodged.
One school of thought argues that it is fair game, because if a helmsman does not know the rules, that is his own hard luck. The other school rejects this argument, on the grounds that it is quite contrary to the spirit of the rules to deceive a competitor in that way.
It is known that such a trick is often played, particularly where novices are involved, and therefore guidance is sought on whether a protest committee should or should not take action under rule 2.

Answer
A boat that deliberately hails ‘Starboard’ when she knows she is on port tack has not acted fairly and has broken rule 2. The protest committee might also consider taking action under rule 69.
RYA 1980/1


Posted By: Guest
Date Posted: 17 Sep 07 at 4:06pm

Originally posted by JimC

Originally posted by Guest#260

I was just commenting that the hail is not a rule 2/69 issue IMHO


The RYA and ISAF would seem to disagree with you *if* the hail was considered to have been made with the *deliberate* intention of attempting to confuse the other boat into thinking it had to give way when that was not the case.


Case 47 in the ISAF Case Book
Question
An experienced helmsman of a port-tack boat hails ‘Starboard!’ to a beginner who, although on starboard tack, not being sure of himself and
probably being scared of having his boat holed, tacks to port to avoid a collision. No protest is lodged.
One school of thought argues that it is fair game, because if a helmsman does not know the rules, that is his own hard luck. The other school rejects this argument, on the grounds that it is quite contrary to the spirit of the rules to deceive a competitor in that way.
It is known that such a trick is often played, particularly where novices are involved, and therefore guidance is sought on whether a protest committee should or should not take action under rule 2.

Answer
A boat that deliberately hails ‘Starboard’ when she knows she is on port tack has not acted fairly and has broken rule 2. The protest committee might also consider taking action under rule 69.
RYA 1980/1

That is a big if ... seems to me the other bloke was just informing another boat of a change of course he was about to go ahead with ... I don't think there is any deliberate intention to cheat ...



-------------


Posted By: gordon
Date Posted: 17 Sep 07 at 4:09pm
Stuart O,

It is important not to confuse rule 15 (acquiring rights of way) with rule 16 (changing course).

As the leeward boat passes head to wind she loses her right of way and the windward boat acquires right of way through the other boats actions. The windward boat therefore has no obligation to initially give the other room to keep clear (rule 15). However she may not subsequently alter course in such a way that she does not give the keep clear boat room to keep clear (rule 16).

These general limitations on the actions of a right of way boat are intended to prevent situations where the keep clear boat has no way to avoid the right of way boat.


-------------
Gordon


Posted By: Stuart O
Date Posted: 17 Sep 07 at 6:05pm

Sorry Gordon......Isn't that what I said? Oh well Was at the office and hadn't got the rule book next to me!!!!!

Rick don't think its a big IF in this case.... from what has been posted it would appear that club members think that this is a valid shout.this being the 2nd incident at the same club. In my opinion 1 trip in the protest room tends to sort these things out esp in the bar after!!!!



Posted By: Guest
Date Posted: 17 Sep 07 at 6:32pm
Worst case this just looks like ignorance to me not cheating ...

-------------


Posted By: gordon
Date Posted: 17 Sep 07 at 6:59pm
Stuart,

The windward starboard boat acquires a right of way through the actions of the leeward boat as she begins to tack. Windward boat thus has  no obligation to initially give room to the tacking boat (rule 15). From then on the windward, starboard boat may change course at will provided that she neither passes head to wind (in which case she would be tacking and subject to rule 13) or changes course in such a way that the other boat does not have room to keep clear (see 16.1 and 16.2). The right of way boat has no obligation to hold her course provided she respects her obligations under 16.1 and 16.2

On the ubject of rule 2 it is the protest committee, in light of the evidence presented to it, who will decide if the hailing boat deliberately gave a misleading hail. IMHO sailors do not use rule 2 enough. Bad manners, swearing, especially at juniors, bullying and illegitemate gamesmanship should have no place in our sport.


Gordon


-------------
Gordon


Posted By: Matt Jackson
Date Posted: 17 Sep 07 at 9:53pm

Thanks everyone, I think the original question has been answered and we are now into a different discussion. I believe the other helm was ignorant of the rules rather than blatantly cheating or giving a courtesy call.

As a matter of interest I was recently on port, to leeward and ahead of another port tacker going upwind, it was quite windy so gave a courtesy call when tacking as I was in their blind spot and didn't fancy getting a 200 pole in the head as I apeared from behind their jib. They seemed baffled by this call as I was "nowhere near the layline". This is why I think there is a local view that tacking for the layline somehow changes obligations.



-------------
Laser 203001, Harrier (H+) 36


Posted By: Contender443
Date Posted: 17 Sep 07 at 11:09pm

OK I have another one for you.

2 boats both on starboard approaching the gybe mark. The inside boat has an overlap and is entitled to water. Let's say it is blowing a good force 5 to 6 and gybing could be fun.

How long can the inside boat with water rights hold off their gybe, so that they can pick their moment? Or perhaps their gybing technique is not so nimble as the outside boat, can the outside boat claim they gave enough water and it was the other person's less skillful sailing that caused a collision?

Does it make any difference or not if a hail was made for water by the inside boat?



-------------
Bonnie Lass Contender 1764


Posted By: Calum_Reid
Date Posted: 17 Sep 07 at 11:18pm
That whole seaman like manner thing would indicate that yes a badly sailed boat doing what you described is taking too much room. For example in a match race a seaman like manner can be to handbrake turn it so at the weekend when we were pushed wide at a leeward mark we flagged and the umpire gave the other boat a penalty. Now in a fleet race where slightly slower reactions are expected and boats don't need to be as close for rules to be broken you are entitled to a bit more room but its still a surprisingly small amount.

Do remember tho that without a witness rules situations in fleet racing are very iffy and its all about putting evidence together not taking the rules to the letter.

The only hails that hold any value as far as the rules are concerned are 'Room to tack?' for an obstruction (you know the situation i mean, and then the reply of either 'you tack' or 'tacking'. On top of that there are no others that matter tho some are useful. No call is necessary for water and if you are going to shout anything shout 'room please?' not 'water'.



-------------


Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 17 Sep 07 at 11:35pm
Which way is the mark rounding? Is the inside boat windward or leeward?

Presumably you're thinking of 18.4...

18.4 Gybing
When an inside overlapped right-of-way boat must gybe at a mark or obstruction to sail her proper course, until she gybes she shall sail no farther from the mark or obstruction than needed to sail that course.


The definition of proper course is the course you would sail in order to finish as fast as possible in the absence of other boats. I think the hearing at which inside says "we were hit by a monster gust, and gybing before it was over would have been an instant capsize. Therefore our proper course was not to gybe until the gust had gone" would be a very interesting one:-).

I can't see any obvious guidance in the case book. There are two cases that imply that you must gybe immediately to be on a proper course, and one that says there can be more than one proper course... Bags I not be on the PC for that hearing! It might be worth an opinion from the RYA if you've had it happen to you in practice.


Posted By: chrisarnell1
Date Posted: 18 Sep 07 at 7:57am

I'm no expert on this one but I doubt a protest committee would have much sympathy with an inside boat that claimed it was too windy to gybe immediately at the mark.

I've always believed that if you want to poke your nose inside on a windy gybe mark you'd better accept the consequences of a big gust & just get yourself through the gybe.

If you want room to gybe or tack round at your leisure, take the outside track.

Sailing an outside boat 50 yards downwind from the mark claiming that the gust made it impossible for you to execute the gybe doesn't seem like a valid defence to me.

If I was the outside boat wanting to get on with my race I'd certainly be unimpressed!



-------------
RS300 393
OK GBR 21


Posted By: Matt Jackson
Date Posted: 18 Sep 07 at 8:21am

If I were the outside boat and it was that windy I would ask the inside boat if they intend to gybe or granny as it could be argued that the more seaman like method of getting around the mark is to granny!

In any case I would keep well clear as if you put pressure on them it may precipitate a capsize, at best making the mark a lot wider and at worst ending your race by capsizing on top of you.



-------------
Laser 203001, Harrier (H+) 36


Posted By: Stefan Lloyd
Date Posted: 18 Sep 07 at 8:42am

Originally posted by Calum_Reid

That whole seaman like manner thing

The words "seaman-like" applied to mark rounding disappeared from the rules several versions ago.

I think 18.4 makes it pretty clear that if you are inside you need to gybe at the mark or capsize trying.



Posted By: Calum_Reid
Date Posted: 18 Sep 07 at 9:00am
It may not be written in the rules but if you read the definition of room which according to rule 18 often applies at marks then you will see seaman-like is still there.

-------------


Posted By: jeffers
Date Posted: 18 Sep 07 at 9:02am
To go back to the original question....

The boat that tacked had no need to hail and, in my opinion, no right to hail (and certainly was not required by the RRS to hail).

Personally knowing that once he had completed his tack and was then on port I would have ignored him and carried on sailing, he could then shout until the cows come home!

The simple answer is keep away from the port layline.....it only leads to trouble (unless you are very good or very lucky).


-------------
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74


Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 18 Sep 07 at 9:04am
Originally posted by chrisarnell1


I've always believed that if you want to poke your nose inside on a windy gybe mark you'd better accept the consequences of a big gust & just get yourself through the gybe.


*if* you poke your nose in maybe, but supposing you've been overlapped for the last 400 yards... I was thinking how rare it is for me to actually gybe on the wing mark unless its a club course from shy reach to shy reach. In boats that sail hot angles, and especially if the wind has changed, the best gybe point is often upwind or downwind of the mark. I wonder if 18.4 applies then. I'm quite unconfoirtable with the thought of a rule that forces the right of way boat to sail the course differently to the way she would sail in the absence of other boats.


Posted By: Matt Jackson
Date Posted: 18 Sep 07 at 9:09am

"When an inside overlapped right-of-way boat must gybe at a mark or obstruction to sail her proper course, until she gybes she shall sail no farther from the mark or obstruction than needed to sail that course."

In this case surely you don't gybe to sail you proper course so the rule isn't applied.



-------------
Laser 203001, Harrier (H+) 36


Posted By: Matt Jackson
Date Posted: 18 Sep 07 at 9:12am
...wouldn't fancy haveing that argument with the outside boat though!

-------------
Laser 203001, Harrier (H+) 36


Posted By: jeffers
Date Posted: 18 Sep 07 at 1:44pm
Originally posted by Matt Jackson

...wouldn't fancy haveing that argument with the outside boat though!


My thoughts exactly....


-------------
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74


Posted By: Stuart O
Date Posted: 18 Sep 07 at 2:13pm
Originally posted by JimC

Originally posted by chrisarnell1


I've always believed that if you want to poke your nose inside on a windy gybe mark you'd better accept the consequences of a big gust & just get yourself through the gybe.


*if* you poke your nose in maybe, but supposing you've been overlapped for the last 400 yards... I was thinking how rare it is for me to actually gybe on the wing mark unless its a club course from shy reach to shy reach. In boats that sail hot angles, and especially if the wind has changed, the best gybe point is often upwind or downwind of the mark. I wonder if 18.4 applies then. I'm quite unconfoirtable with the thought of a rule that forces the right of way boat to sail the course differently to the way she would sail in the absence of other boats.

 

if you've been overlapped for that length of time you should be able to manouvre yourself to a degree to get the best angle of attack, consider a slightly wider entrance  and narrow exit hopefully coming out inside the inner boat. But not going to teach you to sail!!!

However once inside the 2 boat lengths. In my opinion and I would guess 99.9% of protest rooms then the inside boat is almost forced to gybe. remembering that it is up to him to proove that the outer boat failed to give enough room.



Posted By: sargesail
Date Posted: 18 Sep 07 at 9:45pm

Stuart is getting to the heart of this one -

If inside does not gybe then its for outside to prove he took too much room.

If outside closes in and there is contact inside would need to provide the proof that there was not enough room.

In the conditions described it is in everybody's interest to sail it clean due to risk of capsize and collision.

 




Print Page | Close Window

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz - http://www.webwizguide.com