Print Page | Close Window

Protest

Printed From: Yachts and Yachting Online
Category: General
Forum Name: Racing Rules
Forum Discription: Discuss the rules and your interpretations here
URL: http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=1824
Printed Date: 07 Aug 25 at 9:21pm
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com


Topic: Protest
Posted By: Guest
Subject: Protest
Date Posted: 01 Jun 06 at 3:16pm

If you have an incident and you are not sure who is in the right can you do your turns to be on the safe side then protest the other party with no risk?

Rick




Replies:
Posted By: Harry44981!
Date Posted: 01 Jun 06 at 5:18pm

As long as there was no damage, or injury to either party if you do 2 turns you completely exonerate yourself from any penalty (eg: DSQ) and can still protest the other boat(s).

If there was damage then you are expected to retire if you were in the wrong- not just do 2 turns. Also if you are found to have broken rule 69 or rule 2, then your 2 turns wont be enough (I doubt you will have ever borken these rules- "fair sailing" and "gross misconduct" unless you punched the other guy while you were on the water or whatever)

Simple answer: YES (with a few exceptions)



-------------



Print Page | Close Window

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz - http://www.webwizguide.com