Print Page | Close Window

Gaining an Overlap with the kite pole

Printed From: Yachts and Yachting Online
Category: General
Forum Name: Racing Rules
Forum Discription: Discuss the rules and your interpretations here
URL: http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=1376
Printed Date: 07 Aug 25 at 9:31pm
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com


Topic: Gaining an Overlap with the kite pole
Posted By: JimC
Subject: Gaining an Overlap with the kite pole
Date Posted: 16 Jan 06 at 11:47am
Boat A and Boat B are approaching a port rounding windward mark on starboard, both can fetch the mark. The next leg is a beam reach on starboard. Its a a good F3 and bothe boats are travelling quite briskly. Both are dinghies with asymmettric spinnakers. Boat A, is in the lead, and has a "single string system" wherebye the halyard pulls out the pole as well. Boat B, a few inches behind and to leeward, has a two string system where its two separate options, one to pull the pole out, one to hoist the halyard. Just outside the two length zone B startes the hoist process by pulling out the pole. This gives them an inside overlap. A objects to this means of gaining an overlap.

Both boats agree that pulling the pole out for the sake of gaining an overlap is illegal - or at least you can't gain an overlap that way - the definitions say equipment must be in "normal position" to establish an overlap.

B contends that for them a normal rounding in that situation is to start pulling the pole out outside 2BL in order to be able to drop the pole outhaul and grab the halyard and start the hoist before they reach the mark so that the kite will set as soon as possible on the reach. This is normal practice on their boat. Therefore starting to pull the pole out about 3BL from the mark constitutes normal position for the pole.

A does agree that starting the kite hoist just before the mark is reasonable, but contends that outside 2BL is too early to reasonably go for the pole no matter what the situation. If the kite isn't up the pole is not in normal position if its pulled out.

No argument that the pole was overlapped at 2BL, even though not yet fully out. In the end no protests and an amiable discussion in the bar...

Who's right?



Replies:
Posted By: Ian S
Date Posted: 16 Jan 06 at 12:15pm
normal position  would include having the spinny flying, as that is the purpose of the pole - hence no overlap has occurred as defined in the rules. just my 2 pennorth


Posted By: Contender443
Date Posted: 16 Jan 06 at 12:22pm

If boat B did that then they gave very liitle (or no) opportunity to boat A to  keep clear.

boat A could not foresee what was going to happen so will have assumed they did not have to give water. They were then put in a position where they "may" have to give water and will have not prepared for it. Thus boat B did not give time to A to keep clear.

Remember 2 boat lengths is only a few seconds in most boats.



-------------
Bonnie Lass Contender 1764


Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 16 Jan 06 at 1:23pm
Originally posted by Contender443

If boat B did that then they gave very liitle (or no) opportunity to boat A to  keep clear.


That was not considered an issue by either boat.


Posted By: Bogg Inne
Date Posted: 16 Jan 06 at 4:58pm

whatabout this aspect ???/

 

if the pole is considered in its proper  position ( which I reckon is reasonable) the boat poking it out has effectively increased its overall length too , and consequently the two boat length distance (based on the longest boat ) will be cosiderably further further back than non poled out boats , if the action as desribed above caused an overlap at two "normal " boat lengths the ovelap was established too late ie the larger two poled out boat distance would have been passed !



Posted By: Presuming Ed
Date Posted: 16 Jan 06 at 5:12pm
Originally posted by Bogg Inne

whatabout this aspect ???/

 

if the pole is considered in its proper  position ( which I reckon is reasonable) the boat poking it out has effectively increased its overall length too , and consequently the two boat length distance (based on the longest boat ) will be cosiderably further further back than non poled out boats , if the action as desribed above caused an overlap at two "normal " boat lengths the ovelap was established too late ie the larger two poled out boat distance would have been passed !

2 boat lengths is defined by the first boat to get there - the outside boat in this case.



Posted By: Bogg Inne
Date Posted: 16 Jan 06 at 5:32pm

 

 

 good point, ah well , was  worth a try to confuse things !

 

I'll crawl back unda me rock agin.

still I reckon pole out before mark is in proper position ,me ole pole is out all the time ,

 

 



Posted By: Scooby_simon
Date Posted: 16 Jan 06 at 5:42pm

IMO you would have to be VERY carefull putting out the pole just to gain some advantage; If the pole is out, the kite should be going up too (or maybe at least the tack out).

If you put the pole out, then did not instantly hoist the kite or initiate the gybe, if I was running the protest, you yould be binned.

 

Just my Tuppence.



-------------
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..


Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 16 Jan 06 at 5:54pm
Originally posted by Scooby_simon

IMO you would have to be VERY carefull putting out the pole just to gain some advantage;



Absolutely, both parties agreed that would not be a valid overlap.

B's contention was that they were going for the pole at the correct point to sail the boat round the track, and that the overlap was incidental - even co-incidental. If they'd been further behind or overlapped anyway they'd have launched the pole at the same distance from the mark.


Posted By: sargesail
Date Posted: 17 Jan 06 at 11:56am

Couple of points:

1)  Two-boat length is based on hull lengths not overall length for just this reason.  Change would cause confusion.

2)  Sounds like there was no infringement.  But personally I reckon thta if you go back to the rules things are clearer.  If there is an overlap at 2 lengths then the outside boat must give room.  The question then is when and how that overlap is established.  When is reflected in the traditional advice about onus - the old advice that if you are inside and establising close to 2 lengths don't push in but protest.  If you are outside and claiming a late break then let them in and protest. 

3)  If your are inside and your overlap is pole only it is marginal - hard to prove.  It is also clsoe to being late by definition of the fact you are about to round - or abnormal (and therfore not valid).  So you should call for the water - but not push in if it is refused.

4)  However in this case there is no argument that there was an overlap at 2 lengths.  Therefore I would say that the inside boat had the right to room.  As to the acceptability of the pole position I would say that having raced 400s I would often go pole out early in that sort of situation, as long as the port tack lay line was fairly clear, the view being that bith helm and crew could hike through the bear away without compromising the speed of hoist.

Matt



Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 17 Jan 06 at 11:15pm
With no consensus I took advantage of the RYA rules query service...

Answer:
Unless there is something in the class rules that define when the spinnaker pole should or should not be extended, then the pole in it proper position is relative to the situation it find itself in on the water at that time. Thus, it may not be appropriate for a pole to be extended when sailing an upwind leg but, when she is rounding the mark, the normal position changes in consequence to the next move. Provided that the pole is not extended in order to solely gain an overlap, this is OK.


Posted By: KnightMare
Date Posted: 18 Jan 06 at 1:06pm

Originally posted by sargesail

1)  Two-boat length is based on hull lengths not overall length for just this reason.  Change would cause confusion.

See now I didnt think this was the case, regardless of the pole situation I believed that it included the rudder stock etc, soemthing along the lines of all equipment in the correct place for this wording to apply to hull length sounds a bit strange since its normaly quite hard to not have the hull in the correct place.

Also on the rules query I think that as long as they can prove that it was not done to gain an advantage and that they do that manover all the time then the pole is in its corret place for the manover as it goes out but I would say that it can only be used for an over lap if the then go straight into pulling up the kite (or what ever is next in their sequence of events) because I know that in cadets we used to put the pole on a long way before the mark jsut to make sure that it was there for when we went round but this meant that after the pole was put on it was left to wait for the rounding and in this case I dont believe that it shoudl be used for gaining an overlap as it doesnt need to be extended at that point. BUT if from when you extend to pole to your conclusion of the kite hoist you are doing somehting then that is the correct time to put the pole in that position because you cannot leave it later with out compromising the hoist. In that situation it should be able to be used as part of the 'boat length'

er hope that makes some sense to you all...  



-------------
http://theramblingsofmyinnergeek.blogspot.com/


Posted By: Scooby_simon
Date Posted: 18 Jan 06 at 1:34pm

I'm 99% sure it's "all equipment that is fixed in place"

Look at most rule books and the lines across transoms don't include the rudders.

So rudders are out of scope, as are moveable Spi poles.  BUT, fixed spi poles like on 12 and 18 foot Skiffs and most Cats actually DO count as "Boat"



-------------
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..


Posted By: KnightMare
Date Posted: 18 Jan 06 at 2:02pm

Me being geeky and checking ISAFs rules on their site came up with this:

One boat is clear astern of another when her hull and equipment in normal position are behind a line abeam from the aftermost point of the other boat's hull and equipment in normal position.

It says "hull and equipment" which I would have taken to mean that a rudder was counted and it doesnt say anything about the equipment having to be fixed.



-------------
http://theramblingsofmyinnergeek.blogspot.com/


Posted By: Scooby_simon
Date Posted: 18 Jan 06 at 3:04pm

Knightmare, good point and top marks for checking (I did not). 

 

Suppose it's going to be an issue of the definition of normal position. And how to work that out.

Must make it a nightmare for protest Ctte's

 

I suppoose it helps that thopse boats with moveable poles are usually doing uphill downhill.... 



-------------
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..


Posted By: KnightMare
Date Posted: 18 Jan 06 at 3:35pm

Oh my hours bored at work did do something useful.  at last!!

Yeah I think that the way that rules are interpreted by certain classes controls the use of the rules in that class and the protest comities generaly (everyone take note of that word) know the ways they are interpreted by the class they are acting for.

Each class will have its own ideas on when a hoist should be started etc, and as long as it is single class racing these problems dont usualy arise. but as here its when we start inter class racing that we run up against a problem, and all manouvers require that little extra thought as to whether it will be seen as 'legal' from the other boats point of view.

But I supose if in doubt give room and then take it to a protest after having been able to consider if it genuinely was a legitimate use of the differneces in the boats

Eugh far to technical a waffle for a weds afternoon ..... bring on friday....



-------------
http://theramblingsofmyinnergeek.blogspot.com/


Posted By: Stefan Lloyd
Date Posted: 18 Jan 06 at 3:49pm
Originally posted by KnightMare

Me being geeky and checking ISAFs rules on their site came up with this:

One boat is clear astern of another when her hull and equipment in normal position are behind a line abeam from the aftermost point of the other boat's hull and equipment in normal position.

Nowt to do with the definition of 2-boatlength zone though. This is in the "definitions" section of the rules and refers to "hull lengths". Poles and rudders therefore do not count. 

 



Posted By: Scooby_simon
Date Posted: 18 Jan 06 at 4:04pm
Originally posted by Stefan Lloyd

Originally posted by KnightMare

Me being geeky and checking ISAFs rules on their site came up with this:

One boat is clear astern of another when her hull and equipment in normal position are behind a line abeam from the aftermost point of the other boat's hull and equipment in normal position.

Nowt to do with the definition of 2-boatlength zone though. This is in the "definitions" section of the rules and refers to "hull lengths". Poles and rudders therefore do not count. 

 

 

Just checked this (little more time now) and I agree with Stefan.

http://www.isaf.com/RRS2005/Definitions.pdf - http://www.isaf.com/RRS2005/Definitions.pdf



-------------
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..


Posted By: CurlyBen
Date Posted: 18 Jan 06 at 4:14pm
The two boat length zone is clearly two hull lengths but does that have any bearing on the definition of an overlap? Certainly in a case of contact it's more than just the hull that's considered.

-------------
RS800 GBR848
Weston SC


Posted By: CurlyBen
Date Posted: 18 Jan 06 at 4:45pm
Actually, does the 2 boat length zone and rule 18 come into this at all? Surely it's Rule 11
ON THE SAME TACK, OVERLAPPED
When boats are on the same tack and overlapped, a windward boat shall
keep clear of a leeward boat.

and the only relevant issue is whether they were overlapped, covered in the definition Knightmare quoted and so the question is whether the pole was in it's normal postion?


-------------
RS800 GBR848
Weston SC


Posted By: Presuming Ed
Date Posted: 18 Jan 06 at 5:38pm

Originally posted by CurlyBen

The two boat length zone is clearly two hull lengths but does that have any bearing on the definition of an overlap? Certainly in a case of contact it's more than just the hull that's considered.

No.

2 length zone (note - it's not called 2 boat lengths, it's the 2 length zone) is defined as 2 hull lengths.

Overlap is defined as hull and equipment in normal position.

Makes sense with a bit of thought - if 2 length zone included hull and equipment, for bowsprit boats it would make it larger at the leeward mark than at the windward. People have enough trouble as it is agreeing on when they reach the zone. And for overlaps - well, generally it's to find out if they'll be someone in the way if you change course - so includes all the sticky-out bits at the front and back.



Posted By: Presuming Ed
Date Posted: 18 Jan 06 at 5:43pm

Originally posted by CurlyBen

Actually, does the 2 boat length zone and rule 18 come into this at all? Surely it's Rule 11
ON THE SAME TACK, OVERLAPPED
When boats are on the same tack and overlapped, a windward boat shall
keep clear of a leeward boat.

and the only relevant issue is whether they were overlapped, covered in the definition Knightmare quoted and so the question is whether the pole was in it's normal postion?

Pretty much what I think - I refer the honourable gentleman to the answer given a moment ago:

http://www.sailinganarchy.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=28699&st=0&p=592609&#entry592609 - http://www.sailinganarchy.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=286 99&st=0&p=592609&#entry592609



Posted By: Stefan Lloyd
Date Posted: 18 Jan 06 at 5:44pm

Originally posted by CurlyBen

Actually, does the 2 boat length zone and rule 18 come into this at all? Surely it's Rule 11

Rule 18 is a part C rule, rule 11 is a part B rule. Part C overrides part B. So if there is no overlap, the windward boat does not have to keep clear within the 2BL circle.



Posted By: CurlyBen
Date Posted: 18 Jan 06 at 5:44pm
Yeah sure, I understand and agree with all of that, I was querying why the matter of the two boat length zone had been brought up in the first place.

-------------
RS800 GBR848
Weston SC


Posted By: CurlyBen
Date Posted: 18 Jan 06 at 5:53pm
Sorry Stefan, I didn't see your reply before I posted. I hadn't thought about the rule in that way, but having just looked at it I agree, so thanks for that. I did also notice this at the end of rule 18 though -
"OVERLAP RIGHTS
If there is reasonable doubt that a boat obtained or broke an
overlap in time, it shall be presumed that she did not."
Would the issue of the correct position of the pole constitute reasonable doubt?


-------------
RS800 GBR848
Weston SC


Posted By: Presuming Ed
Date Posted: 18 Jan 06 at 6:13pm

Originally posted by CurlyBen

I did also notice this at the end of rule 18 though -
"OVERLAP RIGHTS
If there is reasonable doubt that a boat obtained or broke an overlap in time, it shall be presumed that she did not."
Would the issue of the correct position of the pole constitute reasonable doubt?

From the OP

No argument that the pole was overlapped at 2BL, even though not yet fully out. In the end no protests and an amiable discussion in the bar...

So 18.2.e not too relevant - there was no doubt that the overlap was established in time. What is in doubt is whether it was or wasn't a legitimate overlap - which comes down to whether the pole is in its normal position if it's deployed before the 2 length zone.


 



Posted By: CurlyBen
Date Posted: 18 Jan 06 at 6:17pm
Oops - easy to lose site of the original question. I missed the in time section as well to be honest!

-------------
RS800 GBR848
Weston SC


Posted By: Stefan Lloyd
Date Posted: 18 Jan 06 at 6:50pm

Originally posted by CurlyBen

Would the issue of the correct position of the pole constitute reasonable doubt?

I don't think so. I believe "reasonable doubt" refers to the facts found, not to the way in which rules should be intepreted. In other words, if boat A said "no overlap" and boat B said "overlap" and there were no other witnesses, the committee might think "reasonable doubt" existed. That isn't the case here as both boats agree on what happened.



Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 18 Jan 06 at 9:08pm
Originally posted by CurlyBen

Actually, does the 2 boat length zone and rule 18 come into this at all?

Absolutely, fundamentally and completely. You're forgetting 17.1. Otherwise a boat that establishes an overlap on the inside and leeward side could be "wiped off" at the mark by the windward boat refusing to sail above her/his proper course. When an inside overlap is established from behind rule 18 is what lets you get round the mark.


Posted By: CurlyBen
Date Posted: 18 Jan 06 at 9:36pm
But the windward boat must keep clear of the leeward boat (due time and opportunity obviously). The restriction is placed on the leeward boat who may not sail above her proper course, which would be around the mark and therefore the windward boat must keep clear of her. The way I read 18 it prohibits a leeward boat gaining an overlap within two boat lengths and pushing the windward boat up - the opposite of what you're saying (unless I've misinterpreted you or the rules - very possible!). I'll stop replying to this now as I'm distracting things a bit!

-------------
RS800 GBR848
Weston SC



Print Page | Close Window

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz - http://www.webwizguide.com