Originally posted by craiggo
Had an interesting pursuit race last night where an incident took place just after rounding a mark.
The scenario is:
White approaches a mark of the course positioned just in the mouth of an inlet into the main estuary on a stand tight reach. Blue (a significantly quicker boat) overstood significantly and approached the mark on a beam reach, with no overlap.
At the mark white hardened up to a close hauled course at which point blue gained an overlap to leeward. Almost immediately blue hailed for water to tack. White continued as the far bank of the inlet was still at least 10 boat lengths away. Blue bore away slightly before luffing into the tack during which time white kept clear. As blue went beyond close hauled white was still continuing on stbd and no contact occurred. Blue then hailed protest.
So the rules are reasonably clear at a continuing obstruction, but I now that their is no zone for obstructions, but surely there has to be some limit to prevent people calling for water when not necessary.
Blue was clearly right of way boat and therefore entitled to luff white but didn't do so.
White did not tack should she have? |
Firstly, thanks for a clearly described and diagrammed scenario.
You say 'surely there has to be some limit to prevent people calling for water when not necessary'.
RYA has recently published http://www.rya.org.uk/SiteCollectionDocuments/Racing/RacingInformation/RacingRules/RYA%202016-1%20%28Replacement%20Case%2010%29.pdf" rel="nofollow - Appeals 2016/1 (quoted below) that makes it clear that this is not so. The rationale for this is that a situation may arise where an obstruction may be perceptible to the hailing boat (say a submerged rock or, say, at sea, a container), which may not be perceptible to the hailed boat. The desire is that the hailed boat should respond first and ask questions afterwards.
Same reasoning applies if W thinks that B was not close hauled or above when she hailed, see Appeal 2016/1 Answer 2.
If W doesn't like it, her remedy is to respond in accordance with rule 20.2 than protest B.
When B hailed for room to tack, W was required, in accordance with rule 20.2, to respond, either by immediately hailing 'you tack' and giving B room to tack and avoid her, or to tack as soon as possible.
As you described the situation, W did not respond as required and thus broke rule 20.2. B should expect to win the protest.
As to rule 17, W would have a very hard time persuading a protest committee that B's proper course was not to tack away from the obstruction, and that luffing into a tack was not part of that proper course.
RYA 2016/1 Rule 20, Room to Tack at an Obstruction When a boat hails for room to tack and she is neither approaching an obstruction nor sailing closehauled
or above, she breaks rule 20.1. The hailed boat is required to respond even if the hail breaks
rule 20.1.
|