Originally posted by Winner26
I have a rules question for a pre-start sequence issue that occurred in a mixed PHRF fleet.
With about 45 seconds to the start, I hooked around the stern of another boat (both boats on starboard tack) and attempted to force him up. I do so rather rapidly but did hail the other boat to move up. They did not and I was forced to bear back off to avoid collision.
When you (M) first became overlapped on the windward boat (W), you became the right of way boat (rule 11), and, were initially required to give W room to keep clear (rule 15).
You say 'I attempted to force him up'. If you did that by changing course towards W, then you were also required to give W room to keep clear under rule 16.
You bore away to avoid contact, there was no contact, therefore you gave W room to keep clear.
W broke rule 11 and on valid protest should be penalised.
At this stage I had lost my way-on and both I and the second boat were luffing our sails, moving forward) albeit slowly) while we waited for the gun.
Meanwhile a third boat established overlap to leeward of me and began calling for me to head up; however I was unable to do so as for me to head up further would have pushed me past head to wind and most likely caused a collision with the boat to windward of me. The third boat was forced to bear away from me to avoid collision.
This is a second incident.
As before the third boat to leeward (L) gained right of way and was initially required to give you room to keep clear (rule 15).
That room to keep clear included room for you, changing course to windward to keep clear of L, to give room for W to keep clear, again under rule 16 (Definitions: Room).
If the reason you were unable to head up further had been that you would have hit W, who was not responding and going up herself, then W's failure to keep clear would have compelled you to not keep clear of L and you would be exonerated for breaking rule 11. There was no contact, so arguably L gave you room, and did not break rule 16.
BUT, you say the reason you did not keep clear was that 'to head up further would have pushed me past head to wind': Only secondarily do you suggest that you might have contacted W.
Luffing past head to wind, with the consequence of losing right of way etc etc, is not a sufficient reason for not keeping clear of a leeward boat.
If you give evidence in a protest hearing that you did not luff up to keep clear because you would have passed head to wind, and leave it open for the protest committee to draw the inference that there was space for you to have passed head to wind, then you may very well be penalised.
I protested the boat to windward of me for violating rule 11. The boat to leeward of me did not protest, although he probably could (and should) have.
Not clear which of the two incidents you are protesting.
If it's the first incident, this is a win/don't win protest: even if the protest committee does not conclude that W broke rule 11, they are unlikely to conclude that you broke rule 15/16, so either W is penalised or not, but you are not exposed to penalty.
If you are protesting the second incident, that could be a win/lose protest: If the protest committee concluded that W did not break rule 11, then they may very well conclude that you did break rule 11 with respect to L and penalise you.
The protest hearing has yet to happen. I'm wondering if I was overly aggressive in my attempt to hook the other boat and may not have given him sufficient time to keep clear prior to me bearing away.
That's the first incident. You hooked him, then bore away and give room to keep clear. To me that 's quite OK, but some UK judges and umpires might take a more stringent view.
On the other hand, the rules do stipulate that if a middle boat (me) is overlapped with a windward and a leeward boat, then by definition the two outside boats are also overlapped,
Correct
in which case the windward boat (the one I protested) may have violated rule 11,
Well, if W didn't break rule 11 with respect to you (M), that is W kept clear of M, you can hardly say W didn't keep clear of L, which was further away to leeward of M.
albeit the aggrieved boat would be the one to leeward of me and not myself.
Thoughts?
If you are protesting the first incident, then fine, go ahead: that's a low risk for you.
If you are protesting the second incident, you're more exposed.
You don't need to bring up the fact of L bearing away to avoid contact (which is why you did not keep clear of L), and unless you bring L in as a witness, or unless W had an unusually good view of a boat on the other side of the sandwich.
You need to be very clear about which incident you are protesting, and careful about your evidence. |