Print Page | Close Window

re-rounding rights

Printed From: Yachts and Yachting Online
Category: General
Forum Name: Racing Rules
Forum Discription: Discuss the rules and your interpretations here
URL: http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=12162
Printed Date: 09 Aug 25 at 4:19am
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com


Topic: re-rounding rights
Posted By: sawman
Subject: re-rounding rights
Date Posted: 21 Sep 15 at 7:49pm
Consider this: boat 1 passes wrong side of gate mark on windward leg, boat 2 is approaching gate mark close hauled on port. Boat 1 realises mistake and heads back to gate mark to pass the correct side. Boat 2 is half a boat length away from the mark, when boat 1 gets to the mark, gybes onto port and attempts to pass between the mark and boat 2, making light contact with boat 2 in the process.

Which bits of rule 18 are at work here? was boat 2 expected to give room while boat 1 was correcting a mark rounding mistake?





Replies:
Posted By: PeterG
Date Posted: 21 Sep 15 at 8:31pm
I can't see that the fact that the boat was correcting its course has any bearing. If you are taking a penalty or OCS at the start then you have obligations, but the fact that your course may not be the quickest way round doesn't change anyone's obligations under the normal rules.



-------------
Peter
Ex Cont 707
Ex Laser 189635
DY 59


Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 21 Sep 15 at 8:44pm
As far as I can see rule 18 is fully in operation in the normal way. All that's happened is that boat 1 has overstood the mark. Doesn't matter if you've overstood the mark by 5 feet or 100 yards. Boat 1 wasn't taking a penalty, returning after a false start, or sailing backwards by backing a sail.


Posted By: Brass
Date Posted: 21 Sep 15 at 9:30pm
Assuming this is the left hand gate mark to be rounded to port.

If One initially passed within 3 lengths of the mark and became entitled to mark room under rule 18.2 ( b ), when she tacked onto stbd to get back to the mark, rule 18 ceased to apply (boats on opposite tacks, rule 18.1 ( b )).

As One reaches/runs back towards the mark on stbd, it's simple port/stbd rule 10 and Two is required to keep clear.

When One gybes back onto port, both boats are on the same tack, at least one of them in the zone, so rule 18 once again applies, not 18.2 ( b ), but 18.2 ( a ), and whichever boat is inside, between the mark and the other boat is entitled to mark room.

If One was attempting to pass between Two and the mark, that suggests that One was the inside boat, particularly if th contact was Two's bow to One's stbd side, so, when she gybed, One went from stbd right of way to windward keep clear,but entitled to mark room.

So while One was returning on stbd, Two was required to keep clear, and when One gybed, Two was required to give her mark room.

This is unlike the situation of an OCS boat returning, which is required to keep clear under rule 22.1


Posted By: sawman
Date Posted: 21 Sep 15 at 11:08pm
nicely explained Brass

thanks


-------------



Print Page | Close Window

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz - http://www.webwizguide.com