Originally posted by ohFFsake
Windward mark to be left to starboard. Course to next mark is a run. A is approaching the windward mark on Starboard tack at the same time as B approaches on port.
Opposite tacks at the windward mark: take the mark away simple port and starboard (rule 18.1( a ) or ( b )).
A cannot tack for the mark without impeding B, so instead elects to remain on starboard, forcing B to tack away. As soon as B passes head to wind,
Rule 18 begins to apply, but as both boats are on port heading away from the mark, there is no issue about mark-room.
Rule 13 begins to apply: B must keep clear of A while tacking.
A tacks to round the mark.
Rule 18 ceases to apply (boats now on opposite tacks) (rule 18.1 ( a ) or ( b )).
Rule 13 last sentence applies, both boats tacking, the boat on the right is in the right, B must keep clear of A. Should not be an issue because both boats are tacking away from one another.
B immediately tacks back again
If B had reached her close hauled course on starboard before beginning to tack again, she would momentarily have had right of way over A while A was not yet on a close hauled course (rule 13), but once B again passed through head to wind (coming from starboard onto port tack), rule 13 last sentence again applies and B must keep clear of A.
If B never reached her close hauled course on starboard before again coming up and passing head to wind onto port, B is the give way boat throughout the whole tack-tack-back manoeuvre (rule 13 last sentence). and makes contact with A whilst A is still completing her tack.
Both boats tacking, A is on the right, B must keep clear (rule 13, last sentence).
Each boat must avoid contact if reasonably possible (rule 14) - probably was possible for B to avoid contact;
- probably was not reasonably possible for A to avoid contact.
Rule 18.3 applies: A is inside, overlapped, entitled to mark-room, and rule 18.2 does not thereafter apply.
After her tack is complete A continues to bear away onto a run and As she does so, B bears away very tightly inside A, initially gaining an overlap to leeward whilst both boats are on port tack.
When B becomes overlapped to leeward inside A, - she becomes right of way boat (rule 11); and
- she does NOT become entitled to mark-room because rule 18.3 switched off rule 18.2( a ).
[A then] gybes onto starboard which is her proper course to sail directly to the next mark.
A becomes right of way boat (rule 10), and neither was entitled to mark-room.
As she does so, B bears away very tightly inside A, initially gaining an overlap to leeward whilst both boats are on port tack.
After A gybes onto starboard B has to alter course quickly to avoid contact and hails A requesting she do turns, as she had no right to gybe in B's water.
B has some problems here: - she has give up her basis for a valid protest because she has not hailed the word 'protest'
- using 1960s language like 'gybing in my water' indicates pretty clearly that she doesn't understand the rules, bearing in mind that there is no rule analogous to rule 13 while tacking applicable to gybing.
A may have broken a rule if while bearing away into her gybe she did not keep clear of B
The incident B has hailed about seems pretty distinct to the previous rule 13/contact incident, which seemingly A did not hail 'protest' for: A can only drag that up if she can establish a causal link between the incidents, that is, had the tack-back and contact been so messy that it pushed both boats around the mark an into the next bearing away/gybing situation.
Questions: 1. My view is that the initial contact was a simple case of simultaneous tacking so B was in the wrong.
Agree
But does rule 18 affect this in any way?
No
2. As B tacked within the zone whilst A was overlapped inside her, I believe she is then obliged to grant A mark room (rule 18).
Yes, rule 18.3( b ), but it's triggered in two steps: firstly rule 18.3 applies because A is fetching the mark: she doesn't need to be overlapped to switch rule 18.3 on (and rule 18.2 off): A's entitlement to mark-room, once rule 18.3 is on, is triggered on by becoming overlapped inside, and ceases if she ceases to be overlapped.
Does this extend to allowing A room to gybe if that is her proper course to the next mark?
Unlike the entitlement under rule 18.2( b ) which endures while ever the entitled boat is in the zone, mark-room entitlements under rule 18.3 (and 18.2( a ), only applies while the boat is overlapped inside.
Had A rolled into her gybe while B was overlapped outside her, B would have been required to give A room for her stern to kick out and her boom to come across.
But once B fell clear astern of A so as to spin inside her, she was no longer required to give A mark-room.
In other words, at what point does rule 18 switch back off?
Rule 18 does not 'switch off'. Only rule 18.2 is switched off by rule 18.3, and the circumstances for mark-room entitlement under rule 18.3 are no longer met: if A again became overlapped inside B (and was still rounding the mark) her entitlement would switch back on again.
3. If the answer to B is no, then my understanding is that A's gybe from port to starboard gives her right of way subject to initially allowing B room and opportunity to keep clear.
As discussed above, A was entitled to mark-room, but only while she was overlapped inside: from the time B fell back clear astern to dive into the hole, neither boat was entitled to mark-room, even though rule 18.3 continued to apply.
For A it's a simple gybing when ahead problem: - initially she's right of way, clear ahead (rule 12);
- as she bears away and B bears away inside her, she will become overlapped outside to windward and will be the give way boat (rule 11)
- as she continues to bear away into her gybe, she must initially keep clear of B while on the same tack, then when on her new tack (making her right of way, starboard) she must initially give B room to keep clear (rule 15)
Normally A manages this by soaking down so she is dead ahead or nearly, of B before gybing.
If she's overlapped and close when she gybes, she's taking risks.
And it's 'room' that A initially has to give, not 'opportunity' <g>.
In this instance, does the simple fact that B was able to avoid A demonstrate that A complied with this requirement?
In this instance, the simple fact is that B did avoid A: that she was able to raises more complicated issues.
If B was able to avoid A without taking any action before A gybed, then, before she gybed, A kept clear and broke no rule. Conversely, if B needed to take action (had reasonable apprehension that if she did not there would be contact (Case 50)) to avoid A before A gybed, then A was not keeping clear.
|