New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Tacking for the mark - hail
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Tacking for the mark - hail

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234>
Author
Guest View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 0
Post Options Post Options   Quote Guest Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Tacking for the mark - hail
    Posted: 17 Sep 07 at 6:32pm
Worst case this just looks like ignorance to me not cheating ...
Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Sep 07 at 6:59pm
Stuart,

The windward starboard boat acquires a right of way through the actions of the leeward boat as she begins to tack. Windward boat thus has  no obligation to initially give room to the tacking boat (rule 15). From then on the windward, starboard boat may change course at will provided that she neither passes head to wind (in which case she would be tacking and subject to rule 13) or changes course in such a way that the other boat does not have room to keep clear (see 16.1 and 16.2). The right of way boat has no obligation to hold her course provided she respects her obligations under 16.1 and 16.2

On the ubject of rule 2 it is the protest committee, in light of the evidence presented to it, who will decide if the hailing boat deliberately gave a misleading hail. IMHO sailors do not use rule 2 enough. Bad manners, swearing, especially at juniors, bullying and illegitemate gamesmanship should have no place in our sport.


Gordon
Gordon
Back to Top
Matt Jackson View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 21 Sep 04
Location: Darlington
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 962
Post Options Post Options   Quote Matt Jackson Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Sep 07 at 9:53pm

Thanks everyone, I think the original question has been answered and we are now into a different discussion. I believe the other helm was ignorant of the rules rather than blatantly cheating or giving a courtesy call.

As a matter of interest I was recently on port, to leeward and ahead of another port tacker going upwind, it was quite windy so gave a courtesy call when tacking as I was in their blind spot and didn't fancy getting a 200 pole in the head as I apeared from behind their jib. They seemed baffled by this call as I was "nowhere near the layline". This is why I think there is a local view that tacking for the layline somehow changes obligations.



Edited by Matt Jackson
Laser 203001, Harrier (H+) 36
Back to Top
Contender443 View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 01 Oct 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1211
Post Options Post Options   Quote Contender443 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Sep 07 at 11:09pm

OK I have another one for you.

2 boats both on starboard approaching the gybe mark. The inside boat has an overlap and is entitled to water. Let's say it is blowing a good force 5 to 6 and gybing could be fun.

How long can the inside boat with water rights hold off their gybe, so that they can pick their moment? Or perhaps their gybing technique is not so nimble as the outside boat, can the outside boat claim they gave enough water and it was the other person's less skillful sailing that caused a collision?

Does it make any difference or not if a hail was made for water by the inside boat?

Bonnie Lass Contender 1764
Back to Top
Calum_Reid View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 09 Apr 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 59
Post Options Post Options   Quote Calum_Reid Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Sep 07 at 11:18pm
That whole seaman like manner thing would indicate that yes a badly sailed boat doing what you described is taking too much room. For example in a match race a seaman like manner can be to handbrake turn it so at the weekend when we were pushed wide at a leeward mark we flagged and the umpire gave the other boat a penalty. Now in a fleet race where slightly slower reactions are expected and boats don't need to be as close for rules to be broken you are entitled to a bit more room but its still a surprisingly small amount.

Do remember tho that without a witness rules situations in fleet racing are very iffy and its all about putting evidence together not taking the rules to the letter.

The only hails that hold any value as far as the rules are concerned are 'Room to tack?' for an obstruction (you know the situation i mean, and then the reply of either 'you tack' or 'tacking'. On top of that there are no others that matter tho some are useful. No call is necessary for water and if you are going to shout anything shout 'room please?' not 'water'.



Edited by Calum_Reid
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6662
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Sep 07 at 11:35pm
Which way is the mark rounding? Is the inside boat windward or leeward?

Presumably you're thinking of 18.4...

18.4 Gybing
When an inside overlapped right-of-way boat must gybe at a mark or obstruction to sail her proper course, until she gybes she shall sail no farther from the mark or obstruction than needed to sail that course.


The definition of proper course is the course you would sail in order to finish as fast as possible in the absence of other boats. I think the hearing at which inside says "we were hit by a monster gust, and gybing before it was over would have been an instant capsize. Therefore our proper course was not to gybe until the gust had gone" would be a very interesting one:-).

I can't see any obvious guidance in the case book. There are two cases that imply that you must gybe immediately to be on a proper course, and one that says there can be more than one proper course... Bags I not be on the PC for that hearing! It might be worth an opinion from the RYA if you've had it happen to you in practice.

Edited by JimC
Back to Top
chrisarnell1 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 06 Sep 06
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 89
Post Options Post Options   Quote chrisarnell1 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Sep 07 at 7:57am

I'm no expert on this one but I doubt a protest committee would have much sympathy with an inside boat that claimed it was too windy to gybe immediately at the mark.

I've always believed that if you want to poke your nose inside on a windy gybe mark you'd better accept the consequences of a big gust & just get yourself through the gybe.

If you want room to gybe or tack round at your leisure, take the outside track.

Sailing an outside boat 50 yards downwind from the mark claiming that the gust made it impossible for you to execute the gybe doesn't seem like a valid defence to me.

If I was the outside boat wanting to get on with my race I'd certainly be unimpressed!

RS300 393
OK GBR 21
Back to Top
Matt Jackson View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 21 Sep 04
Location: Darlington
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 962
Post Options Post Options   Quote Matt Jackson Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Sep 07 at 8:21am

If I were the outside boat and it was that windy I would ask the inside boat if they intend to gybe or granny as it could be argued that the more seaman like method of getting around the mark is to granny!

In any case I would keep well clear as if you put pressure on them it may precipitate a capsize, at best making the mark a lot wider and at worst ending your race by capsizing on top of you.

Laser 203001, Harrier (H+) 36
Back to Top
Stefan Lloyd View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 03 Aug 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1599
Post Options Post Options   Quote Stefan Lloyd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Sep 07 at 8:42am

Originally posted by Calum_Reid

That whole seaman like manner thing

The words "seaman-like" applied to mark rounding disappeared from the rules several versions ago.

I think 18.4 makes it pretty clear that if you are inside you need to gybe at the mark or capsize trying.

Back to Top
Calum_Reid View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 09 Apr 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 59
Post Options Post Options   Quote Calum_Reid Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Sep 07 at 9:00am
It may not be written in the rules but if you read the definition of room which according to rule 18 often applies at marks then you will see seaman-like is still there.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy