New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: NEW RULE 18 - THE THREE-LENGTH ZONE
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

NEW RULE 18 - THE THREE-LENGTH ZONE

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Spyderman View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 27 Feb 08
Location: Netherlands
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 39
Post Options Post Options   Quote Spyderman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: NEW RULE 18 - THE THREE-LENGTH ZONE
    Posted: 08 Jun 08 at 5:25am
Originally posted by bdu98252

I am not sure I could drop a Musto kite in 25 knots of breeze and do a slick rounding in less than about 5-8 boat lengths including the pole length. I will maybe just need to get better .

In special classes, particularly for fast boats, the BL-Zone can be increased to four.

You can read the whole post here:New Rule 18 - The three-length zone in RRS 2009-2012

Are you interested in the Racing Rules of Sailing? Go to: http://rrsstudy.blogspot.com
Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jun 08 at 12:52pm

The bank is a continuing obstruction. RRS 18.5 stipulates that a boat clear astern that obtains an inside overlap is entitled to room to pass the obstruction only IF at the moment the overlap begins there is room to do so.

The classic situation is when several boats are overlapped with one boat near the bank and unable to give room to the inside boats In addition, each right of way boat may be a contiuing obstruction for other give way boats. The protest committee has  to decide if, when the the last boat to establish an overlap does so, there was room to pass. Makes for fun hearings!

 

Gordon

Gordon
Back to Top
Rupert View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 11 Aug 04
Location: Whitefriars sc
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 8956
Post Options Post Options   Quote Rupert Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jun 08 at 10:01am
Originally posted by Jamie600

 

I can think of a few clubs where the marks are less than 4 boat lengths from the bank, they'll have some mark-shifting to do if this comes in


Calling water for an obstruction like the bank has always overridden water for the mark anyway, (or so I have always thought) so no need to change anything. Though on rivers and ponds small enough for this to happen, the club rules can always keep 2 boatlengths, as I can think of occasions where 3 or 4 would be a significant proportion of the leg just sailed...
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
Back to Top
Lukepiewalker View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 24 May 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1341
Post Options Post Options   Quote Lukepiewalker Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 08 at 7:57pm
I think of it as a clarification rather than a change. In essence we have removed the confusion of 'about to round' which most people ignored anyway and moved the focus onto the number of boatlengths which everyone used to focus on anyway.
Ex-Finn GBR533 "Pie Hard"
Ex-National 12 3253 "Seawitch"
Ex-National 12 2961 "Curved Air"
Ex-Mirror 59096 "Voodoo Chile"
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6662
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 08 at 7:37pm
Originally posted by Jamie600

they'll have some mark-shifting to do if this comes in

Why? Don't understand!
Back to Top
Jamie600 View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 14 Jun 05
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 718
Post Options Post Options   Quote Jamie600 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 08 at 5:48pm

 

I can think of a few clubs where the marks are less than 4 boat lengths from the bank, they'll have some mark-shifting to do if this comes in

RS600 1001
Back to Top
Rupert View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 11 Aug 04
Location: Whitefriars sc
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 8956
Post Options Post Options   Quote Rupert Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 08 at 3:45pm
It was introduced to stop boats crashing into each other at marks. It would seem rather unfair to be an overlapped boat all the way down a reach, and then to be luffed the wrong side of the mark by the boat to leeward?
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
Back to Top
m_liddell View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 27 May 05
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 583
Post Options Post Options   Quote m_liddell Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jun 08 at 11:19pm
Stupid question, but why was this rule introduced in the first place? To stop boats forcing out competitors to leeward by luffing them near downwind marks?

I've seen club races where on reaches and runs where the whole fleet trying to desperately get on the inside of the boat in front sailing in a banana path since it is easier than overtaking directly and it just seems silly.
Back to Top
bdu98252 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 07 Jun 05
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 30
Post Options Post Options   Quote bdu98252 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jun 08 at 11:09pm

I am not sure I could drop a Musto kite in 25 knots of breeze and do a slick rounding in less than about 5-8 boat lengths including the pole length. I will maybe just need to get better .

 

Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6662
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jun 08 at 7:41pm
At the moment rule 18 often turns on outside two boat lengths. This isn't well understood. It means you are probably required to start giving water to the inside boat before you get to the circle. The change to the rule actually reflects what most people think - that you only have to start giving water at 2BL, but that isn't the rule as it stands.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy