Please select your home edition
Plas Menai 2015

Katie Miller takes top sailing award

by ADPR on 9 Jan 2007

Today Katie Miller was presented with the prestigious title of Raymarine Young Sailor of the Year, following in the footsteps of previous winners world class yachtswoman Ellen MacArthur and Olympic Gold medallist Ben Ainslie OBE.

Katie, from Shenstone in Staffordshire and currently studying Yacht Manufacture and Surveying at Southampton Solent University, wins the award for her single-handed circumnavigation of the UK in her boat Elektra earlier this year. Her inspirational three month voyage was in aid of The Ellen MacArthur Trust, to enable even more children with cancer to experience the thrills and beauty of sailing. Katie’s initial plans were formulated in 2004 when she passed her Day Skipper course in Menorca – after two years of hard work she successfully completed her challenge.

The awards ceremony was held at the Collins Stewart London Boat Show. Katie was presented with her trophy, by Dee Caffari – who set a new world record herself earlier this year, as the first woman to sail single-handed, non stop around the world against prevailing winds and currents.

Katie beat off stiff competition from Olympic Development Squad sailor Dylan Fletcher; Tom Phipps, one of GBR’s most successful youth sailors; and young watersports instructor Dan Simpson.

Following nominations by the general public and Royal Yachting Association affiliated clubs, the awards were voted for by the Yachting Journalists’ Association (YJA).

Dee Caffari also presented awards to the RYA Regional Winners:

  • Hamish Stone & Aaron Woolf, East
  • Dylan Fletcher, East Midlands
  • Thomas Holland, NE
  • Andrew Brown, NW
  • Tiffany Brien, Northern Ireland
  • Anna Burnet, Scottish
  • Katrina & Chris Brewer, South
  • Elliot Carney, SE
  • Izzy Hamilton, SW
  • Hannah Mills & Peggy Webster, Welsh
  • Richard Hamilton, Yorkshire & Humberside
  • Dan Simpson, Thames Valley

The winner of Raymarine/YJA Yachtsman of the Year will be announced at midday on Tuesday 9 January, at an awards ceremony to be held at The Painted Hall, The Naval Maritime Museum, Greenwich. Finalists for this prestigious title include 470 World Champions Nic Asher and Elliot Willis, world record holder Dee Caffari, and Steve Curtis, considered the best international powerboat racer of all times.

More Information: