Please select your home edition
Crewsaver ErgoFit 50N

Breeze fades on final weekend of the Crewsaver Warsash Spring Championship

by Louise Nicholls on 25 Apr 22-23 April 2017

The forecast never promised a lot of wind for the final weekend of the Crewsaver Warsash Spring Championship (22/23 April) and indeed by Sunday it gave up the ghost causing racing to be abandoned.

Conditions on the Saturday were light with the wind shifting 60 to 90 degrees around North through much of the day. The White Group fleet of competitors managed two races before the wind dropped to less than 5 knots and the final race was abandoned.

On the Sunday, after several postponements, racing was abandoned at lunchtime.

Peter Bateson, Spring Championship Chairman "It was very disappointing to lose the final day of racing; we hung on in the hope that a sea breeze would develop but it wasn't to be. Nevertheless it has been a great Championship, with a strong fleet of competitors and good racing across the classes. Thanks go to our sponsor Crewsaver for their support of the Championship, to the competitors, and to the team of volunteers running the racing".

Whilst it had looked like there was still everything to play for in many of the classes at the close of the first weekend of the Championship in the end, there was little was change in the final podium positions.

Nifty in IRC1 (King 40 – Roger Bowden), Sailplane in IRC2 (Rob Bottomley), Jumblesail II in IRC3 (J/97 Rachel & Robert Hunt), and the beautifully restored Silver Shamrock in IRC4 held onto their established leads to take first place overall in their respective classes.

J-Dream was, as expected, unbeatable in the J/88 class and Jukebox (John Smart) also held onto her lead in the J/109 class. Sam Laidlaw's Quarter Tonner Aguila knocked Louise Morton's Bullitt off first place but with just three points between them.

Team Spitfire and Soak Racing dominated the 30 strong and sometimes unruly J/70 fleet – a general recall had the U flag raised on Saturday - with a whopping 28 points between second and third place. In the end, it was skipper Simon Ling and his crew of serving and former RAF personnel who bought Team Spitfire to victory with Soak Racing in second.

It was great to see the students from Radley College, racing the SB20 Trouble & Strife, finish the Championship with a podium place coming in third just behind Sweaty Betty (Nick Haigh) and PB2 (Paul Hine) who won overall.

Last, but by no means least, Jon Powell sailing the J/80 Betty took first place overall in the J/80 class and in the Combined White Group.

The Crewsaver Warsash Spring Championship Prize Giving will take place at the Warsash Sailing Club on Friday 19th May.

For the full racing results go to Crewsaver Warsash Spring Championship results.

2017 Crewsaver Warsash Spring Championship Results:

1. Nifty – King 40 Roger Bowden
2. Lady Mariposa Racing – Ker 46 Dan Hardy
3. Jagerbomb – J/111 Paul Griffiths

1. No Retreat! – Corby 33 David & Jackie Riley
2. Dusty P – Beneteau First 40 Richard Patrick
3. Assasin – Prima 38 Mark Brown and Justin Leese

1. Jumblesail 2 – J/97 Rachel & Robert Hunt
2. Blackjack II – J/97 Andy Howe
3. Machismo II – Sigma 38 Tim Levett

1. Silver Shamrock – Shamrock Prototype Stuart Greenfield
2. Whooper – Laurent Giles One-Off Giovanni Belgrano
3. Spectrum – Hunter Impala (mod) Joe Simmons

1. J-Dream – David & Kirsty Apthorp
2. Eat, Sleep, J, Repeat – Paul Ward
3. Rajing Bull – Tim Tolcher

1. Jukebox – John Smart
2. Jiraffe – Simon Perry
3. Just So – David McGough

Quarter Tonner
1. Aguila – Sam Laidlaw
2. Bullit – Louise Morton
3. Tiger – Tom Daniel

1. Team Spitfire – Simon Ling
2. Soak Racing – Marshall King & Ian Wilson
3. Yeti – Jack Davies

1. Betty – Jonathan Powell
2. Jester – Mike Lewis
3. Slightly Steamy – Nick Haigh

1. PB2 – Paul Hine
2. Sweaty Betty – David Atkinson
3. Trouble & Strife – Radley College

Related Articles

Fleet building for 10th RORC Caribbean 600
Over 40 yachts now officially entered Over 40 yachts have officially entered the 10th edition of the RORC Caribbean 600. The entry list already boasts a huge variety of yachts from mighty maxis and multihulls, to a vast array of racing and cruising yachts. Posted on 18 Nov
Medway YC Autumn Series Race 3
Should the helmsman take responsibility for hitting a mark? Race 3 of the "Pirates Cave" sponsored MYC Cruiser Autumn Series was held on Remembrance Sunday, which delivered bright skies and a NW / NNW building breeze, ranging from a low base of 17 knots and gusting to 27+ knots. Posted on 14 Nov
U.S. Adult Championship at St. Petersburg
Northeast Sailing Association (Sail Maine) win the title The action was fast and furious on Tampa Bay this week. Twelve teams in J/70s representing their respective Regional Sailing Associations (RSA) enjoyed the speedy and highly entertaining racing format. Posted on 13 Nov
Hamble Winter Series day 6
Testing conditions in the Solent with gusts nearly 30 knots Competitors for Day 6 of the Hamble Winter Series, supported by Force 4 Chandlery, experienced testing conditions in the Solent, with a mean wind speed of 24 knots from the northwest, and gusts close to 30 knots. Posted on 13 Nov
Henri Lloyd Winter Product Guide
Warmth and protection combined with agility Today's technical sailing apparel has been designed to offer the essential warmth you require when winter boating. Modern day technical clothing solutions can offer high levels of warmth and protection and still allow you the move ability you require. Posted on 13 Nov
5th Monaco Sportsboat Winter Series Act 2
Non-stop racing! There was no down-time during the season's second meeting, with eight races completed in good conditions, enough to satisfy the 150 sailors competing in the fifth edition of the Monaco Sportsboat Winter Series. Posted on 12 Nov
Brothers to be international rivals in SB20s
Burnells set to compete at Worlds in different boats Tasmania sailing brothers, Paul and Tim Burnell, will be international rivals in the World Championship for the SB20 one-design sport boat class to be sailed on the River Derwent in early January. Posted on 11 Nov
'The Bay' to offer up a range of conditions
At the 2018 Australian Yachting Championships Sandringham Yacht Club stalwart Daniel Edwards is urging sailors from around the country to be part of the 2018 Australian Yachting Championships and experience what he believes is an under-utilised wonderland on Melbourne's doorstep. Posted on 11 Nov
Interview with Mike Sugden
About the latest B&G software version 4.5 features We spoke to Mike Sugden, Instrument Product Expert at Navico, about the latest B&G software version 4.5 which now includes full integration with PredictWind, and how advanced start line features are now standard on Zeus and Vulcan chart plotters. Posted on 8 Nov
LTSC Solent Circuit 2017 day 4
Tight racing in a steadily increasing breeze Video highlights of the fourth day of racing in the Lymington Town Sailing Club Solent Circuit featuring tight racing in steadily increasing wind speeds. Posted on 7 Nov