Favourites Add the Laser class to your Favourites for personalised news and email alerts
Laser South Coast Grand Prix at Stokes Bay Sailing Club
By Ian Payne on 18 Sep 2012 15 September 2012

Even though light winds were forecasted 53 Lasers gathered Stokes Bay Sailing Club for the penultimate event in the Laser South Coast Grand Prix series.

The WSW wind steadily built through-out the day to a force 4, with the warm sunshine it produced a near perfect days sailing conditions. The strong flood tide didn't cause the expected general recall when the 27 standard rigs lined up for the start. The first race went to Ben Cornish (Exe), followed by Alex Mills-Barton (Newhaven and Seaford), and Elliot Hanson. In the 23 strong Radial fleet Jon Emmett (Weirwood) won the first race from local sailors John Booth and Ben Elwin (Stokes Bay). The three 4.7 started with Radials, Alexander Lee (Pagham) won the first race, from Sam Tweedle (Emsworth) and Ted Blowers (Gunard).

The second race was soon underway with RO starting the standards start sequence as the last few Radials were finishing. The standards once again got away relatively cleanly with just a bit of a pile up on the pin end rib (penalty turns anyone). Elliot Hanson won this race, from Jack Wetherill (Beaver) and Ben Cornish third. The Radials forgot the tide was still taking them over the line and had a general recall, the RO produced the black flag to get them underway, this meant they had a shorter race than the standards. The locals John Booth and Ben Elvin came in first and second with Max Hunt (Whitstable) third. Sam Tweedle in the 4.7 won from Alexander Lee and Ted Blowers.

The third race was once again quickly started even though the course needed shifting slightly. James Gray (Stokes Bay) won the standards last race, with Elliot Hanson second and Matt Reid (Spinnaker) third. Jon Emmett in the Radial fleet won, from John Booth, and Harry Blowers. In the 4.7s Sam Tweedle won again, but Ted Blowers was second and Alexander Lee third.

With no discards consistency was the key. In the standards Elliot Hanson took the victory from Ben Cornish and Alex Mills-Barton. The Radials was won by John Booth, followed by Ben Elvin and John Emmett was third, because of his bad second race. The 4.7's Sam Tweedle won from Alexander Lee and third was Ted Blowers.

The Spinnaker Laser open on the 29th September is the last in the South Coast Grand Prix series and will also host the end of series prize giving. The prizes from the Rooster Sailing range from an Aqua Fleece Pro, a tiller extension down to a pair of sailing socks. There also some nice trophies supplied by the UKLA. If you have done five or more grand prix events this year you qualify for a prize, please come along to collect your prize and enjoy the last south coast grand prix of the year. You will also be entered into the prize draw for a sailing holiday with Wildwind Holidays, to be drawn at Inlands.

The overall standings in the South Coast Grand Prix can be found on the Rooster Sailing website, in the results section.

If your club would like to host a Laser South Coast Grand Prix event in 2013 please email Ian Payne at .

Standard Rig Results:

PosSail NoHelmClubR1R2R3Pts
1201853Elliot HansonHomeless SC3126
2200887Ben CornishExe SC13711
3200490Alex Mills‑BartonNewhaven & Seaford SC24612
4201695James GrayStokes Bay SC58114
5202430Matt ReidSpinnaker SC65314
6200889Jack WetherellBeaver SC42915
7189671Nick HarrisonStokes Bay SC87520
8182979Tim PearseStokes Bay SC96823
9176568Jim FifieldQueen Mary SC11121033
10194660Tobias HamerLangstone SC791935
11162806Nicholas ForsterSpinnaker SC1517436
12198960Valentin NedyalkovLondon Corrinthian SC12131338
13203085Alex BenbowStokes Bay SC10112142
14197921Roger O'GormanQueen Mary SC13102043
15179554Christopher SpencerChichester YC17141243
16173385Nick MartinLee‑on‑Solent SC22151148
17166550Ian PayneChichester YC23161655
18183467Larry LawrenceStokes Bay SC14202357
19159451Adrian LynhamStokes Bay SC16192257
20163514Paul BroadwaySpinnaker SC20211758
21123680Peter MaySpinnaker SC18221858
22196690Simon RadfordBosham SC21241560
23133365Ian RossStokes Bay SC25231462
24201918Nick IrelandStokes Bay SC19182663
25201717Phil BeedStokes Bay SC26252475
26185608Mike ShepherdStokes Bay SC24262575
27176319Nick EalesRoyal Lymington YC27272781

Radial Rig Results:

PosSail NoHelmClubR1R2R3Pts
1193455John BoothStokes Bay SC2125
2199861Ben ElvinStokes Bay SC3249
3201509Jon EmmettWeir Wood SC112114
4204007Harry BlowersGurnard SC74314
5200520Max HuntWhitstable YC103619
6202176Daniel WigmoreMiddle Nene59519
7159460Tom SullyStokes Bay SC461121
8201827Nik FroudRoyal Lymington YC95721
9200510Ian GregoryFrensham Pond SC811827
10171989Alex GealPevensey Bay SC1681034
11192463Niall PeeloIsland SC12101234
12201020Adam StoneBurghfield SC1371535
13173742Michael CalvertSalcombe YC11181443
14183201Matthew HallWarsash SC6172245
15199436Ross MackleyRoyal Lymington YC1422945
16184298David PaulHill Head SC15131947
17197494Ellie HitchingsChew Valley Lake SC17151850
18198515Sam SmithRoyal Hospital School19211353
19196559Kerry MorganHill Head SC1814DNC56
20186213Krzysztof BonickiNHEBSC22191657
21176839Lottie HarlandBurghfield SC21162158
22202471Cameron TweedleOxford SC23201760
23178684Cameron AllenEmsworth SC20232063

4.7 Rig Results:

PosSail NoHelmClubR1R2R3Pts
1178210Sam TweedleEmsworth SC2114
2195767Alexander LeePagham YC1236
3184970Ted BlowersGurnard SC3328

Details on how to submit your race reports to YachtsandYachting.com can be found here