Favourites Add the Laser class to your Favourites for personalised news and email alerts
Wessex Laser Grand Prix Circuit at Bowmoor Sailing Club
By Michael Dyer on 31 Mar 2012 25 March 2012

The Wessex Laser Grand Prix Circuit starts each year at Bowmoor. Class Association Chairman John Ling has made this his own recently, but did not have it his own way last year, being pipped by Club Member Harry Joyce. The early arrival of summer this year brought 34 sailors out to join in the rematch, but neither had it all his own way.

In light airs the first race had a variety of leaders, with Nigel Rolfe leading the fleet home from local sailor Ali Lucas. After a break for lunch a second race in shifty conditions saw last year's winner Harry Joyce in first, followed by series co-ordinator Adam John, and John Ling in third. At this stage any of five competitors could win depending upon the results of the final race.

For the third race, the wind filled in slightly, and so did the fleet's enthusiasm. After a general recall, the fleet got away second time. Harry Joyce again led them home to claim a close series. In all 6 sailors claimed top 3 positions and a tie for second had to be resolved on count back.

Overall Results: (top ten)

PosHelmSail NoClubR1R2R3Pts
1stHarry Joyce197661Bowmoor-3112
2ndAlastair Lucas189316Avon/Bowmoor24(RTD)6
3rdJohn Ling200920Upton Warren-4336
4thRick Plummer176335Bowmoor-12549
5thNigel Rolfe196180Frampton1-11910
6thMike Hing168879Bowmoor5-8611
7thAdam John200887Tewkesbury102-1112
8thRob Napier165253Bowmoor76-1313
9thNeil Crosby196735Bowmoor-1712214
10thBen Rolfe193781Frampton69-1615

1st Youth, Ben Rolfe (Frampton)
1st Lady, Fi Lucas (Bowmoor)
1st Great Grand Master, Rob Napier (Bowmoor)

Details on how to submit your race reports to YachtsandYachting.com can be found here