Forum Discription: All the latest developments for yachts
URL: http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=920
Printed Date: 16 Apr 24 at 9:49pm
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com

Topic: Is it true?
Posted By: 2savage
Subject: Is it true?
Date Posted: 08 Aug 05 at 5:39pm
I've heard that skippers in the UK actually CHARGE people to race with them.  Really?     I've been racing here in the USA for 20 years and have never heard of such a thing.  How can anyone have the audacity to get other people to pay your bills?  IMO if you can't afford to race what you have then get something smaller that you CAN afford.

Replies:
Posted By: Pondling
Date Posted: 08 Aug 05 at 6:56pm
no not really. some do if they are goin to competitions and need to spilt the cost. they may also charge if your doin the circuit with them or if your goin to become a team therefore needing to pay for the maintenance of the boat.

-------------
Sailors don't get old!!! They get a little dinghy (or skiff, or yacht...)
Feva 251
RS200 1117
RS200 897

Posted By: Stefan Lloyd
Date Posted: 09 Aug 05 at 7:26am

Originally posted by 2savage

I've heard that skippers in the UK actually CHARGE people to race with them....I've been racing here in the USA for 20 years and have never heard of such a thing.

So you expect somebody else to pay for your hobby. Why exactly should they? Can't you get a job? 

Posted By: Peter Rhodes
Date Posted: 16 Aug 05 at 3:27pm
I think they are people who have a share of the boat so therefore pay some of the cost to maintain and compete in it

-------------

Posted By: TimC
Date Posted: 29 Nov 06 at 11:09am

I go offshore racing with a team of 8 and we split all costs - liferaft, food, entry etc

We don't divvy up for round the cans racing as there are nothing like the costs.

I'm grateful to the owner for letting us do so much racing and am very happy to contribute.

-------------
J92s GBR 9224R "Upstart"