FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

What Boat?

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
YetAnotherUser View Drop Down

Online Status: Offline
Post Options Post Options   Quote YetAnotherUser Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: What Boat?
    Posted: 12 May 15 at 2:39pm
Hi,

I am wanting to get back into sailing after a decade or so. I have sailed a fair few boats in my youth and the largest likely would be the Enterprise or Wayfarer. 

I now however have the luxury of money, which as a student I did not - so I am tempted to buy a boat I always wanted. However I have also acquired a wife and three children and an aggressive sporty boat is probably not the best idea.

So please, please can you all steer me in the right direction :)

What I want - I mean what I would like is;

#1 Suitable to sail alone (adult) but able to add a 2nd member of crew when needed, maybe the addition of a Jib and Spinnaker. It would be ace if it had space for another small one too. I'd like something which is not like a brick, but is not too aggressive - we don't want to spend more time in the water than in the boat. It would be ideal to be low maintenance, so ideally no wood. 

#2 I am thinking of a second boat, which is insane I know as I don't even have the first yet. Purpose of this is something that 1 person can sail, adult or child and still have some fun. It'd be ideal if it could be slung on roof bars and not a trailer too. 

Thank you for any help and advice.

JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more

Online Status: Offline
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 May 15 at 3:03pm
A Topper might well be a good call for No 2.