FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

What single-hander to supplement my Wayfarer?

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
YouGotTheSilver View Drop Down

Online Status: Offline
Post Options Post Options   Quote YouGotTheSilver Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: What single-hander to supplement my Wayfarer?
    Posted: 21 Aug 11 at 9:23pm
Hello all,

I've been lurking around for a while, reading reviews, news and opinions and have been encouraged to seek advice.  :) 

I've been sailing for around 20 years - mainly in an early Mk1 GRP Wayfarer - and with occasional time (helm and crew) on much smaller, lighter, faster boats. 

Due to the recent arrival of my baby son, family sailing time will be much curtailed / completely brought to a halt for a while. Although the venerable Wayfarer will remain in the family, I'm now looking to take a new direction with my sailing in the form of a performance single-hander. I should probably say that I am 186cm tall and around 84kgs. 

My hope is that I can turn my okay-ish experience (but also my willingness to learn and to dispense with some of the "cruiser" habits) to a light and fast boat that will really stretch, challenge and perhaps even scare me initially! Light weight is also a real "must" as the Wayfarer has just about finished my back! 

I'll be sailing almost exclusively inland (predominantly the Lake District) and am unlikely to race initially, so a major class following / scene is less important than a fast, fun boat. This boat will basically be used as and when I can justify time to sail on my own. I also fancy some time out on a trapeze, but that's not the be-all. 

So far, I really fancy a RS600 but this may be madness? For some reason, I'm not keen on Lasers, but happy to reconsider. I am looking to spend up to £4k but can go further for the right boat (individually or class). 

Any opinions and suggestions gratefully received!

Thanks in advance.