FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

cruiser racing - advice wanted

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Bosun Higgs View Drop Down

Online Status: Offline
Post Options Post Options   Quote Bosun Higgs Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: cruiser racing - advice wanted
    Posted: 09 Mar 11 at 10:02am
Been using the YBW forums so far but whilst there is a group of racers on there, their voices are lots in the hordes of cruisers. So I thought I would try here instead.

Bit of background first. I've been sailing on and off for 50 years ( yes I'm an old phrrt!) but only on big boats for the last 20 and all but the last 4 years just cruising. So I'm a born again winter racer with all the keenness that comes to the newly arrived. Problem is 20 years of bad habits, pulling the sails in until they look OK and then just pottering along. I need to re-learn how to sail.

The boat is a Starlight 35 fin keel, masthead rig and a cruiser racer rather than a racer cruiser if you see what I mean. Similar performance to a Sigma 33 with a slightly higher rating on IRC. The racing we do is very mixed with a fleet of 15 to 20 boats and everything from sports boats and J109s to a few 26 ft bilge keelers racing every Sunday under PY.

Anyway to start. How do I best trim the sails for windward work with ( say) 20 kn over the deck and how would this change for much lighter winds? I'm asking here not about the reefs I need ( first mainsail reef with 20kn over the deck) but issues like max rudder angle, shape of sails, when to tack in a windshift etc. Racecraf I suppose you would call it.

Over to you.
blueboy View Drop Down
Really should get out more

Post Options Post Options   Quote blueboy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Mar 11 at 11:52am
There are many books on sail trim. http://www.amazon.co.uk/How-Trim-Sails-Dinghies-Offshore/dp/0713675705/ref=sr_1_5?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1299670697&sr=1-5 for example.