FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Winter clothing

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Dizzydoggy View Drop Down

Online Status: Offline
Post Options Post Options   Quote Dizzydoggy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Winter clothing
    Posted: 14 Nov 10 at 8:24pm
Hi, I am new to sailing, any ideas on what clothes I should purchase for sailing my dinghy on the winter?
zailor View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work

Post Options Post Options   Quote zailor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Nov 10 at 8:32pm
Many use dry suits with lots of thin thermal layers or 5/6mm winter wetsuits/Steamers

look through older threads theres one or two like this i think
mattmd View Drop Down
Posting king
Posting king

Post Options Post Options   Quote mattmd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Nov 10 at 10:09pm
If you've just started you will probably get wet especially as its winter so there is nothing more off putting than being really cold. 
My vote is that you get a Drysuit. 

Look at some other posts their are loads of the best gear for winter sailing
Matt MD
Contender GBR-620

alstorer View Drop Down
Really should get out more

Post Options Post Options   Quote alstorer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Nov 10 at 6:54am

It depends a bit on what you're sailing. You'll find that people sailing higher performance boats are more likely to wear wetsuits through the winter- less flappy material, not such a big deal if you get a rip- whilst those sailing lower performance (and, oddly, catamarans) tend towards drysuits more- altogether more pleasant most of the time!

Then there's crazy people, often sailing Lasers, that stick with 3/4 length hikers through the snow.

-_
Al
doeywizard View Drop Down
Posting king
Posting king

Post Options Post Options   Quote doeywizard Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Nov 10 at 6:25pm