New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Right to tack for the next mark
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Right to tack for the next mark

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
redback View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 16 Mar 04
Location: Tunbridge Wells
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1502
Post Options Post Options   Quote redback Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Right to tack for the next mark
    Posted: 13 Feb 05 at 9:47pm
I know its OK for team racing, but in ordinary racing, can a boat to windward of another continue as far as they like past a finish line and prevent their competitor to leeward from tacking for the finish?
Back to Top
Stefan Lloyd View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 03 Aug 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1599
Post Options Post Options   Quote Stefan Lloyd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Feb 05 at 8:28am

Do you mean neither has finished at that point? In that case, I don't see why not.

If the windward boat has finished, he can't interfere with another boat that has not finished in either fleet or team racing.

Back to Top
Adam84 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 02 Dec 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 48
Post Options Post Options   Quote Adam84 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Feb 05 at 12:43pm

From what I understand the rules are the same for team racing and fleet racing so if itís ok in team racing it should be fine in fleet racing.

Back to Top
Scooby_simon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 02 Apr 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2413
Post Options Post Options   Quote Scooby_simon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Feb 05 at 1:22pm
Agreed, as long as the windward boat is on the same lap he can 'hold' the boat out as far as he likes.
F16 GBR 553 - Hungry Monster - For sale
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..
I also talk sport here
Back to Top
catmandoo View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 16 Mar 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 534
Post Options Post Options   Quote catmandoo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Feb 05 at 1:29pm

it works a treat too !

When windward controlling boat tacks for line /mark they are closer so should get there first , doesn't half wind up your competitor too!

 

You have to make dam sure in your approach that the persuing enraged buddy can't stop you from tacking at mark/line if required but as you will have overstood by then shouldn't be a problem.

 

 

Back to Top
Garry View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 18 Apr 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 536
Post Options Post Options   Quote Garry Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Feb 05 at 1:38pm
As long as they haven't finished and the finish is a windward leg I think you can - but there's nothing to stop the leeward boat slowing down rapidly and tacking behind you or gybing round!
Garry

Lark 2252, Contender 298

www.cuckoos.eclipse.co.uk
Back to Top
Stefan Lloyd View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 03 Aug 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1599
Post Options Post Options   Quote Stefan Lloyd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Feb 05 at 2:54pm

Originally posted by Adam84

From what I understand the rules are the same for team racing and fleet racing so if itís ok in team racing it should be fine in fleet racing.

If you mean as far as Redback's question is concerned, then I agree. If you mean in all circumstances, then no, the rules are slightly different for team racing. RRS Appendix D lists the changes to the fleet racing rules. There are a number of changes which generally make a number of aggressive moves legal.

For example, there has been discussion on another thread here on whether an overlapped inside boat on starboard rounding a leeward mark to port must gybe immediately. In fleet races, 18.4 says they must. In team racing, 18.4 is deleted, so the inside boat can sail the outside boat past the mark to allow a team-mate to overtake.

 

 

Back to Top
Adam84 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 02 Dec 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 48
Post Options Post Options   Quote Adam84 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Feb 05 at 5:00pm

Thanks for that, I thought most of the rules where the same. How long have these changes to the fleet racing rules been in place?

Back to Top
Stefan Lloyd View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 03 Aug 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1599
Post Options Post Options   Quote Stefan Lloyd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Feb 05 at 6:02pm
Most of the rules are the same - just a few change but it tends to be the ones that allow you to actively inconvenience other boats. I don't know how long the team racing rules have been different - a long time AFAIK.
Back to Top
Garry View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 18 Apr 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 536
Post Options Post Options   Quote Garry Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Feb 05 at 8:01pm
There isn't any substaitial difference in the 89-92 rules and even in the current rules there are only five changes to the actual sailing rules. interestingly in the 89 rules you couldn't interfere with a boat on a different leg of the course (A4 1.1)
Garry

Lark 2252, Contender 298

www.cuckoos.eclipse.co.uk
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz