New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Sailing backwards
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Sailing backwards

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
mike ellis View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 30 Dec 05
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2339
Post Options Post Options   Quote mike ellis Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Apr 08 at 8:27pm

Originally posted by craiggo

Not sure. But if you luff above closed hauled at the start you lose any rights,

im fairly sure you can luff as high as you like beofre the start, there's no proper course so you can stuff people up as far into the wind as you like as long as you dont tack.

600 732, will call it Sticks and Stones when i get round to it.
Also International 14, 1318
Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Apr 08 at 12:26am
There is no such thing as a proper course before the start.
 When the gun goes any boat that is restricted by rule 17.1 may not sail above her proper course. The proper course on  a beat is usually close-hauled, although there are exceptions.
To be restricted by rule 17.1  a boat must have established an overlap from clear astern within 2 boatlengths to leeward of a boat on the same tack. This does not apply if the overlap begins whilst the windward boat is tacking.

So, if you hang back at the start and come in late, close to leeward of another boat as soon as the gun goes you must return to your proper course. This is not usually a problem in fleet racing but in team and match racing a boat may be tempted to continue luffing the windward boat. If they do they shold be protested and they will receive a penalty.

Gordon
Gordon
Back to Top
Calum_Reid View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 09 Apr 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 59
Post Options Post Options   Quote Calum_Reid Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Apr 08 at 12:40am
Originally posted by craiggo

Not sure. But if you luff above closed hauled at the start you lose any rights, its just a question of whether letting you sails out and stalling is deemed above close-hauled or not !

Sailing backwards and its effect on the rules has always caused me some headaches. I can remember trapping a competitor in between me and the committee boat at the Wilson Trophy and he tried to sail out of it by reveresing, I reversed to hold him and prevent him tacking behind me, and then when it became apparent that he was going to clear the transom of the committe boat I tacked off, gybed, cleared his transom and got a flying start while he tried to get going forwards. Others were trying similar tactics, but not sure if anyone really new where they stood with the results


Wooooaaaaaaahhhh you can luff to head to wind before the start if you want and dont loose any rights. Its only when you cross head to wind you loose rights and thats because you are a boat tacking. I could give you a rule number description of whats on and off if you want but its simpler to understand by what i just said
Back to Top
Worthy View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 07 Dec 05
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 511
Post Options Post Options   Quote Worthy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Apr 08 at 8:47am
Originally posted by craiggo


Sailing backwards and its effect on the rules has always caused me some headaches. I can remember trapping a competitor in between me and the committee boat at the Wilson Trophy and he tried to sail out of it by reveresing, I reversed to hold him and prevent him tacking behind me, and then when it became apparent that he was going to clear the transom of the committe boat I tacked off, gybed, cleared his transom and got a flying start while he tried to get going forwards. Others were trying similar tactics, but not sure if anyone really new where they stood with the results


I'm not sure of the exact details, but I heard from some top guys that before the start, if you reverse without touching your sails you keep your rights, but the second you touch you sails the rules say you are deliberately sailing backwards and lose all your rights.
Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Apr 08 at 8:55am
Rule 20.3 applies throughout the race, not just before the start.

Gordon
Gordon
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz