New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Retired or not
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Retired or not

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
john.d.knight View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 09 Jul 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 42
Post Options Post Options   Quote john.d.knight Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Retired or not
    Posted: 17 Jan 05 at 9:35am
I had a curious incident this weekend with one of our youth sailors. As I approched the leeward mark I had a Laser radial close behind me, I had luffed to prevent him getting water and as such I had to bear away quite hard to give myself enough room to round the mark smoothly, in doing so the Laser took the opportunity to try and squeeze between me and the mark, not realising that I had gone wide to the cut in close for the beat. As a result the Laser ended up tacking round on the inside the bouy. I carried on up the beat leaving him to reround the mark. I rounded the windward mark and the headed to the next mark which was halfway up the lake, I could see that the Laser had sailed away from the leeward mark and was heading up the lake back towards the club, he then stopped at the mark I was heading for, when I went past he then started to follow me. We were both on starboard and as I reached the lay line for my next mark I asked him to give me room to tack as he was obviously retiring. He said he wasn't retiring and if I tacked he would call starboard. As you can imagine, I offered him a few choice words as to what I thought of his behaviour! In the end I tacked and he asked me to do a penalty which I refused to do. He then continued ashore and retired. It has raised a few points, When is a boat retired?, if a sailor deliberatly interferes with another boat and then retires what action can be taken? What do you do with petulant teenagers?
Pain is just weakness leaving the body.
Back to Top
Phil eltringham View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 16 Mar 04
Location: England/Hitchin
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1105
Post Options Post Options   Quote Phil eltringham Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jan 05 at 10:03am

Interestingly enough this was in the last issue of Y&Y i think (if not the one before).  The new rules have just changed to help cleat this up, in that in now clearly states that a boat must keep clear if it is on a different leg of the course.  I am guessing that the laser had not rounded the windward mark and as such was technically at best still on the beat (or the leg before that if he had not re-rounded the bottom mark) therefore he had no right to interfere with your course so unless he was sailing his proper course to his next mark he should not have called starboard, and should have let you go.  Also if there was a bank approching you could have called for water for that. 

So in answer to your question as to when has the boat retired I am not entirely sure but I would suggest that in this situation that at leat once the laser has left a mark out he should keep out of the way of boat that are still racing.  The other point comes down to the rule on fair sailing, the laser's actions do not stike me as being in the spirit of this. 

FLAT IS FAST!
Shifts Happen
Back to Top
Ian S View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 18 May 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 68
Post Options Post Options   Quote Ian S Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jan 05 at 12:30pm

I would have thought you would have problems claiming the different leg of course rule unless you could prove that the boat in question knew they had a missed a mark out - in this case as the guy waited for you I think it's safe to assume he was fully aware of what he was doing.

As for fair sailing, well, this appears to be a deliberate attempt to interfere with your race and prejuduce your result, hence should be counted as a none discardable dsq I believe.

Back to Top
john.d.knight View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 09 Jul 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 42
Post Options Post Options   Quote john.d.knight Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jan 05 at 12:45pm

The OOD spotted him bearing away and missing the mark out.

Pain is just weakness leaving the body.
Back to Top
Ian S View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 18 May 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 68
Post Options Post Options   Quote Ian S Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jan 05 at 1:08pm
Perhaps a quiet word about fair sailing is needed then, or ask sailing committee to put an article in club newsletter..
Back to Top
redback View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 16 Mar 04
Location: Tunbridge Wells
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1502
Post Options Post Options   Quote redback Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jan 05 at 1:15pm
I'm glad it didn't happen to me I'd be livid, but it does bring up another question.  Can I luff (or interfere) with somebody who is on the same leg as me but on a different lap?
Back to Top
john.d.knight View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 09 Jul 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 42
Post Options Post Options   Quote john.d.knight Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jan 05 at 1:19pm
This was perhaps the most irritating, when I got ashore I went to see him and offered to shake his hand and said what happens on the water stays on the water. He just said he didn't want to talk to me about it and walked away. I had to do a long slow count to 10 to stop myself doing something I might have regretted! 
Pain is just weakness leaving the body.
Back to Top
Phil eltringham View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 16 Mar 04
Location: England/Hitchin
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1105
Post Options Post Options   Quote Phil eltringham Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jan 05 at 4:29pm

redback, the answer is no, it may be between the same two marks but because it is a different lap it is counted as a different leg of the whole course.  To be honest if someone is being lapped it is better for both of you to let the quicker boat past sooner rather than later, as trying to slow the other person down is not going to get you round the race course any faster. 

John, sounds like he is just throwing toys out of his pram, at least you beat him on the water. 

FLAT IS FAST!
Shifts Happen
Back to Top
redback View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 16 Mar 04
Location: Tunbridge Wells
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1502
Post Options Post Options   Quote redback Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jan 05 at 7:16pm

Are you sure, and if so I think this ia quite a radical change in the rules?  I sail on a reservior and so a great deal of lapping takes place. In handicap racing its a race aginst time so if you can slow the faster boats it's good and in pursuit racing a fast boat might have to lap a Topper or Cadet 3 or 4 times to win.  I always thought it was their prerogative?

And then there is the question of what should happen at marks, should a starboard tacker give room for a 49er coming in on port - it could get confusing?

Back to Top
Stefan Lloyd View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 03 Aug 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1599
Post Options Post Options   Quote Stefan Lloyd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jan 05 at 8:19pm

22 INTERFERING WITH ANOTHER BOAT

22.1 If reasonably possible, a boat not racing shall not interfere with a boat

that is racing.

22.2 A boat shall not change course if her only purpose is to interfere

with a boat making a penalty turn or one on another leg or lap of the course.

 

There is, however, no definition of what "interfere" means. Is luffing an overtaking boat to keep clear air "interference" or is it normal tactics? I can't imagine calling starboard (between boats racing) is "interference". So what is and is not "interference"? I'm not at all sure what this change means. I suspect we will have to wait for some cases.



Edited by Stefan Lloyd
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz