New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Nail the finish
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Nail the finish

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Mark R View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Dec 06
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 8
Post Options Post Options   Quote Mark R Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Nail the finish
    Posted: 01 Mar 07 at 1:02pm
So dr mark is back in the UK and I have to say despite the weather, and the
expensive unreliable petrol I am glad to be back.

Anyone have any recurring quandries on the finish line?

Here is one for starters: how can I tell which is the favoured end of the line?
Particularly important in handicap racing when you have no idea just how
close the race is.

BTW I'll be at the dinghy show this weekend giving a strategy talk at 12 and
chatting (and hopefully selling books...) at 1 pm each day, near the RYA
stand. See you there?
Mark
Back to Top
MRJP BUZZ 585 View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 05 Mar 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1496
Post Options Post Options   Quote MRJP BUZZ 585 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Mar 07 at 1:19pm
Yea hopefully will get to see the talk on saturday  
Josh Preater

BUZZING IS FUN

Back to Top
radixon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 27 Oct 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2407
Post Options Post Options   Quote radixon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Mar 07 at 3:54pm
Will look forward to it.
Back to Top
ChrisJ View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 07 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 330
Post Options Post Options   Quote ChrisJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Mar 07 at 10:03pm

What are the rules and typical usage on the finish line?

If I get my nose across first, but I am on port - can I tack late and end up in the way of the starboard tacker (I have already "finished")?

Or, can I get the bow across the line, and then bear away hard to dive below the starboard boat and still retain my finish position? My bow first, but his stern / whole of the boat first?

What about the spinaker pole sticking out the front? If the previous lap I had pulled the pole out before the mark (ready for a quick launch), am I allowed to do the same thing at the finsh?

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz