New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: 3 boats length
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

3 boats length

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
Rupert View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 11 Aug 04
Location: Whitefriars sc
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 7708
Post Options Post Options   Quote Rupert Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jan 16 at 3:27pm
The 20 footer has to give room to both 70 footers if the overlap is gained in time, as the 2nd 70 footer is overlapped, and therefore has rights, even though not in the zone. No different to 3 20 footers, except on a practical level for the poor b**tard in the 20 footer. That the 2nd 70 footer already had rights on the 1st one doesn't make a difference, as far as I can see, whether the 20 footer is overlapped or not. Either both or neither have rights.
Firefly 2324, Lightning 130, Puffin 229, Leader, Topper 44496, yellow Minisail
Back to Top
andymck View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 15 Dec 06
Location: Stamford
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 324
Post Options Post Options   Quote andymck Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jan 16 at 6:50pm
What if at 210 feet no one is overlapped. But by 60 feet they are all overlapped.
Does the new zone reset rule 18? Or are there in fact still 2 hypothetical zones?
Andy Mck
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5476
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jan 16 at 7:08pm
The zone operates between any two boats, So there is a zone for the 20 footer and the 70 footer, and a zone for the two 70 footers.

Seems to me that an overlap that changed between 210 and 60 feet would most most likely fall foul of the last point of certainty rule anyway.
Back to Top
Rupert View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 11 Aug 04
Location: Whitefriars sc
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 7708
Post Options Post Options   Quote Rupert Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jan 16 at 7:34pm
Originally posted by andymck

What if at 210 feet no one is overlapped. But by 60 feet they are all overlapped.
Does the new zone reset rule 18? Or are there in fact still 2 hypothetical zones?


The 2nd 70 footer would have rights as overlapped boat when the 1st 70 footer gains the overlap, just as 3 boats the same length would work.
Firefly 2324, Lightning 130, Puffin 229, Leader, Topper 44496, yellow Minisail
Back to Top
Presuming Ed View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 26 Feb 05
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 610
Post Options Post Options   Quote Presuming Ed Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jan 16 at 9:31pm
Has anybody actually read the Q&A?
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 834
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jan 16 at 10:15pm
Originally posted by Rupert

I was trying to figure that out last night. The rule must be the same as for finishing ( you can't pull the pole out specially) but when the pole breaks the 3 non-pole boat lengths circle, you are in the zone.

Originally posted by JimC

The rule is normal position, so if you routinely set the pole before the mark it may count. But it may be less of an issue now, because there are fewer boats where the pole both extends significantly beyond the bow and is set separately from the kite. I also have a feeling that whereas two boat lengths felt about right to get the pole out early for a fast hoist, three boat lengths kinda feels a bit soon.

There is no reason why 'The rule must be the same as for finishing'.  Rule 18 and the Definition of Finish are absolutely different.

Rule 18.2 Giving Mark-Room
...
(b) If boats are overlapped when the first of them reaches the zone,


Finish A boat finishes when any part of her hull, or crew or equipment in normal position, crosses the finishing line from the course side.
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5476
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jan 16 at 11:20pm
I got a opinion on retractable bowsprits normal position and overlaps from the RYA a few years ago when it was a bit more of a live issue.
Back to Top
fudheid View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work
Avatar

Joined: 21 Apr 11
Location: 51.53 N 01.28 E
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 205
Post Options Post Options   Quote fudheid Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Feb 16 at 1:28pm
this happened at a classic reggata last year we sailed a tumalare (smallest boat in the fleet) and at the leeward mark the largest and quickest barged the mark after we clearly stated they had no water.. we were at inside our 3 boat length, but the team of pro sailors shouted us down and with boats of significant value they don't get too close.
They helicoptered off before we could have a friendly chat in the bar.....so they didn't get any friendly advice from the victors  Wink
Moral of the story is that in boats of vastly differing lengths (i think the difference we had was 40ft) and vastly different speeds, it is very hard to distinguish a boat at 60ft when they hit their 3 boat zone).
Cheers you

only me from over the sea......
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz