New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Extreme 40s in Cardiff
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Extreme 40s in Cardiff

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
craiggo View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 01 Apr 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1729
Post Options Post Options   Quote craiggo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Extreme 40s in Cardiff
    Posted: 25 Aug 14 at 10:15pm
Decided not to bother spectating in person in Cardiff this weekend (They ruined it when they shrank the course area such that spectating from the nice grassy area on the barrage wasn't an option) but watched a few of the races on the live stream.

One question I have is, in the last race did anyone see Alinghi take her penalty?

I noted The Wave and BAR taking their penalties but Alinghi merely unwound herself around the windward mark and then sailed on by as the others took their penalties, and yet Alinghi caused the carnage!

I've replayed the race on the GPS tracker which doesn't show Alinghi taking a penalty, and yet they have been given the result. Very odd!!!

Clearly Ben had an issue with the reefed mainsail, as he had no boatspeed and tactically dropped the ball a couple of times.
Back to Top
ellistine View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 08
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 762
Post Options Post Options   Quote ellistine Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Aug 14 at 11:29am
I think the took it down in amongst the wooden pylons where they nearly had a head on with The Wave.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz